Register my restaurant
Help

Reviews - Restaurant at Deddington Arms Hotel

8.3/10
213
Horse Fair, OX15 0SH Banbury
British
Average price £30

Restaurant at Deddington Arms Hotel

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 4 bookings today

Reviews

8.3/10
Very good213 reviews
8.2/10

Food

8.7/10

Service

8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Ann R.1 review

    July 15, 2023

    6/10

    The service was good. Vegetables were overcooked. Belly pork was good and cooked nicely The jus was a lumpy thin gravy Although we were ok to pay a gratuity for the food, disappointed to find the drinks were also subject to tge 12.5% service charge...and we fetched them from the bar ourselves!

  • Joseph C.1 review

    June 24, 2023

    10/10

    Great food Great staff happy to help . Would go there again.

  • Rachael S.1 review

    June 18, 2023

    8/10

    We went for Father’s Day lunch… 3 had pizzas and said they were really good (took some home as so much!) Fish & chips a bit disappointing as batter was soggy but made up by the crushed peas which were delicious!!

  • Wendy P.6 reviews

    June 11, 2023

    6.5/10

    The quality of the roast pork really poor - tasteless and tough. Vegetables tasteless and not their usual standard. Plate swamped in a thick gravy.

  • Michelle S.1 review

    June 11, 2023

    10/10

    Always good friendly service and excellent sunday lunch, beef is cooked to your liking. Desserts were very tasty too. Overall and excellent place for sunday lunch

  • Christopher G.1 review

    June 5, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent food the lamb rump was sublime all four of us had an extremely enjoyable meal. The puddings were also very good.

  • Keith D.4 reviews

    May 30, 2023

    9/10

    Restaurant is well furbished but without being at odds with the age of the building. For older style surroundings, you can dine in the large bar area. Gentle, suitable, back ground music and service is by very pleasant staff, although some are a little inexperienced. All the dishes that we had were very competently made and presented, even the soup of the day, an accomplished kitchen. Ambience difficult as they had few other covers that night, but maybe better later in the week or at weekends. Very enjoyable meal, in fact we dined there the subsequent night as well

  • Katie P.1 review

    May 21, 2023

    5/10

    We have eaten at the Deddington Arms many times before, but will think twice before returning again. The menu was very limited, the service was poor with wrong orders, slow to clear and no offer of second drinks, much less teas and coffees to conclude the lunch. Is there something going on behind the scenes to result in such lack of concern for the customers?

  • Jayne W.1 review

    May 18, 2023

    10/10

    A really lovely evening with very good food and the service was spot on - thank you Deddington Arms

  • Osei M.1 review

    May 2, 2023

    10/10

    I wanted to take Family over from Australia to a nice location with great food and service! The Deddington Arms Hotel did not disappoint and a great time was had by all.

  • Wendy P.6 reviews

    April 30, 2023

    8/10

    We found the Yorkshire puddings really excellent this week (better than usual) and with the inclusion of thinly fried sweet potato inside them - lovely and unusual.

  • Peter T.1 review

    April 30, 2023

    8/10

    Easy access from the car park as we both have mobility issues. Shown quickly to our table & order taken after a short while. Both our roasts arrived on lovely hot plates the food was well presented, plentiful and tasty ,no room for dessert

  • Jo A.1 review

    April 29, 2023

    9.5/10

    Lovely welcoming pub & Hotel, food was lovely. I had the pasta & hubby had the piri chicken burger. Food was served quickly & piping hot. Friendly service & attentive. Not happy that a service charge is added to bills nowadays but it seems the norm. Its not easy to ask for the bill without service charge though.

  • David M.1 review

    April 21, 2023

    5.5/10

    My dinner arrived luke warm and had to go looking for a member of staff to complain. My husbands was also warm but he ate his as didn’t want to wait. My dinner arrived hot the second time. Pudding menu was a little disappointing so we never had one. The staff were very nice and apologised about my meal. We won’t return unfortunately.

  • Wendy P.6 reviews

    April 16, 2023

    5/10

    Unfortunately, the Sunday roast lunch was served almost cold and we had to ask for roast potatoes which were missing from the plate. The roast pork was carved very thickly although had a good flavour. Not the usual standard we have come to expect.

  • Angie W.1 review

    March 30, 2023

    8.5/10

    Staff helpful. Polite. Food was good except the lambs liver came up burnt when it had been requested pink. The chef cooked another batch which was fine.

  • John S.1 review

    March 20, 2023

    8/10

    Admirably met our requirements for a quick quiet lunch.

  • Kat D.1 review

    March 18, 2023

    9.5/10

    The staff are always really kind and accommodating. It’s a nice location, the food is delicious and obviously all freshly prepared, including the bread and the cookies that are served with coffee. We’re lucky to have this so near to us.

  • Peter B.2 reviews

    March 15, 2023

    7/10

    This place is normally fine however when we arrived we were shown to a table in the bar as the main restaurant was going to be given over to a wake. Nothing wrong with the food or initial service but once the wake party arrived it was non existent and incredibly noisy. In my humble opinion they would have been better off not accepting bookings for that period.

  • Rebekah S.1 review

    February 24, 2023

    10/10

    The food was delicious and the staff were wonderful and patient with us. It was the perfect set up for a catch up. We had a great evening, thank you ????

  • Louise K.1 review

    February 19, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent friendly service. Food was amazing!! Quality food and friendly staff. Didn’t have a long wait. Lovely restaurant, clean and inviting

  • Ruth P.1 review

    February 12, 2023

    7/10

    Excellent food...a pity that the staff were setting up Breakfast service for the hotel in front of us before we even ordered our sweets. Apart from that it was very good.

  • Darren G.2 reviews

    February 3, 2023

    10/10

    What a fabulous little village pub with lovely warm fire to welcome us. Friday lunch with friends and we weren’t too hungry so shared a couple of pizzas. Best pizzas we’ve had in a long time. Not sloppy. Very tasty and great value for money. We will definitely return.

  • Peter H.1 review

    January 26, 2023

    8.5/10

    An ideal halfway house to meet up with friends for lunch. Pleasant surroundings and friendly helpful staff serving well cooked and tasty food.

  • Ian D.1 review

    January 25, 2023

    8.5/10

    We have dined there before and will again. Just one minor point, we prefer main course meals served on a plate rather than in a bowl! That way you can see what you are eating!

  • Stephenie S.1 review

    January 22, 2023

    5.5/10

    Looking forward to a lovely roast dinner and was disappointed. The beef was dry and tough and the roast potatoes were the worst I have ever had. They tasted like the potatoes were cooked days before and then shown a fryer rather than being roasted. They were neither fluffy on the inside not crispy on the outside. Other veg was very nice. Pity because the decor etc was good. However, based on that meal I will not return

  • John J.1 review

    January 22, 2023

    10/10

    This restaurant although busy was fantastic, we had a large party and the whole experience was smooth The food is fantastic the service is excellent, and the prices very reasonable for the quality produce you receive

  • Rita H.1 review

    January 14, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent breakfast. Locally-sourced ingredients, cooked well, and really friendly and welcoming service. We'd definitely go again if we return to Deddington.

  • Liz P.1 review

    January 13, 2023

    7/10

    I visited the restaurant on 10th of January and had a very good vegetarian wellington with all the trimmings. Visited again three days later and the menu had changed, leaving only pizza, a pasta dish and a "Halloumi burger" which was just a slab of halloumi fried in batter. Very uninteresting dishes to offer vegetarians and really dull compared to the Vegetarian Wellington I had had there earlier in the week. If the Deddington Arms wants to be a fine dining destination for vegetarians, it is going to have to up its game to match other pubs/restaurants.

  • Patricia F.1 review

    January 8, 2023

    8.5/10

    The food was good although I have had better. The wait was unacceptable and I had to remind staff that we had been waiting almost one hour. I appreciate the restaurant was busy with other big parties but thought the waiting time unacceptable. However, the staff were helpful and courteous.

  • Christine K.1 review

    January 8, 2023

    8.5/10

    There was a limited choice of Sunday lunch. According to the web site there was much more choice available so we were a little disappointed.

  • Sandra A.1 review

    December 30, 2022

    10/10

    Lovely meal, served by friendly staff in a lovely restaurant

  • Lewis G.1 review

    December 17, 2022

    9.5/10

    Everything the party had was delicious. The pork belly and noodles in particular was excellent and my companion spooned up the broth with enthusiasm. A shortish menu but enough choice to suit most people. Worth returning to.

  • Heather D.1 review

    December 8, 2022

    10/10

    We live 50 miles away but have been using this restaurant a couple of times of year for about 20 years and love it. The staff always do everything they can to make your meal perfect, the food is excellent and the portions large enough for the hungriest person.

  • Deborah C.1 review

    December 9, 2022

    9/10

    Four of us were staying at the Deddington Arms over two nights. Booked first night as we knew we would be out all day. Three of us had the monkfish dish and my husband a steak dish. The starters, mains and dessert all delicious. We booked again for the following evening due to the England Football match. This time we all had their beefburgers with coleslaw and fries. All really lovely. I was so full could not order desert. Would definitely recommend this pub for their food and will return there again if in the area

  • Wendy P.6 reviews

    December 4, 2022

    8.5/10

    Our Sunday roasts were really excellent apart from the roast potatoes which appeared to be old with black blemishes in places. Not edible! One other slight negative was our table was positioned under a window which unfortunately leaked very cold air in from outside (it was an extremely cold day). Suggest the windows could be weather-proofed perhaps for winter and then it be removed for summer? We appreciate it is a very old building.

  • Amanda M.1 review

    November 13, 2022

    10/10

    We eat here often and always have great service and food and today was no exception a delicious Sunday roast cooked perfectly. Would highly recommend.

  • Brian H.2 reviews

    November 10, 2022

    6.5/10

    Our reunion lunch was fine. Good food and service. We stayed over and our disappointment was in the evening when we tried to get a sandwich and were told that you couldn't do sandwiches in the evening ?! We had to resort to a pizza between the 2 of us. Had we known beforehand we would have gone elsewhere. Breakfast was fine albeit the service a bit slow. There was only 1 satchet of brown sauce between about a dozen tables and similary only a few breakfast menus to share around ! Not what we would have expected. I'm not sure whether we will be back.

  • Pam S.1 review

    October 26, 2022

    10/10

    Been there before. Food was up to its usually good standard.

  • Dianne G.1 review

    October 20, 2022

    7.5/10

    The service was very good. Generally the food was tasty but the steak was over cooked, asked for medium rare and came medium to well done. Upon checking the bill, sadly after leaving the restaurant, we found that they had added 15% service charge when we had already given them a very large cash tip to make sure the staff received it as they said they did not always get the tips. Please be aware.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

269 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.