9/10
Excellent
based on 335 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Jan H.
    Jan H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Prima

  2. Ferry H.
    Ferry H.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Top culinair, verrassend vinologisch en bovenal personal touch in attente bediening

  3. David M.
    David M.
    • 7 reviews
    7.5/10

    The food was great, the wine selection too. Sadly we will never come back, what a surprise on out bill at the end of our diner. 20€ supplement for black truffle that we never ordered ... but present on our 7 courses menu, this kind of “tricks” makes the difference between a one star restaurant and the others.. that’s how you can brake all the work your staff do in the kitchen I one moment. However with the 50% réduction it was an amazing value for money

  4. Olga  B.
    Olga B.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    We taste the 4 courses menu and it was brilliant! We recommended without doubt!

  5. Saida O.
    Saida O.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Great good, great service!!. Top location. This is a hidden gem in Amsterdam

  6. Myrna V.
    Myrna V.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Such a fabulous find. We loved the service, the mystery (of the menu), the ambiance, and the food. It was on another level. We are so keen to try this again soon, as it's the type of restaurant that makes any evening very special. We liked the chef arriving at the table and providing an overview of the ingredients and the flavours. Great wine list, and wonderful diverse menu.

  7. Sophie T.
    Sophie T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Went above and beyond to meet my dietary requirements, really delicious and innovative dishes!

  8. Tahia S.
    Tahia S.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    What an amazing evening! Highly recommend! Best meal we’ve had in Amsterdam and we’ve lived here for over 2 years & been to many places!

  9. Granl S.
    Granl S.
    • one review
    9/10

    awesome. Can't be any better

  10. Mike E.
    Mike E.
    • one review
    10/10

    A really fantastic and wonderful at Restaurant Johannes! We will definitely come back for the 7 course menu.

  11. Renate S.
    Renate S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    It could not be better. Thanks for a great evening!

  12. Josip i.
    Josip i.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We had tasting 5 course menu. The food was really good. It is obvious that young team is trying hard... I like their efforts... The wine was good accompanied with food... there was a sympathetic misunderstanding about one dish, but nothing important... Price always could be better :) but I have found it fair... Would come againe

  13. Julia Valentina O.
    Julia Valentina O.
    • 11 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food was very good.

  14. Lucia A.
    Lucia A.
    • 32 reviews
    10/10

    We had the whole restaurant for us. It was the most romantic dinner ever! We were pampered by the waiter and the chef, with 2 entrees offered. The food was delicious and spectacularly displayed. We ordered the smoked salmon and it was served under a glass bell full of smoke. The view on the canals was lovely. What else? We will come back for sure! Thanks to the Johannes staff for the wonderful experience.

  15. Hamlin L.
    Hamlin L.
    • 69 reviews
    9.5/10

    Light nouvelle cuisine style dishes with some fusion touches

  16. Leonor G.
    Leonor G.
    • 37 reviews
    10/10

    Perfect. Good food, good wine, great staff!

  17. Pat m.
    Pat m.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great food but lacking a bit of ambience.

  18. Marat K.
    Marat K.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice food! Go for the surprise menu ????????

  19. Stephanie I.
    Stephanie I.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great Evening! Amazing Food accompanied by fantastic wines.

  20. Irene S.
    Irene S.
    • 17 reviews
    9.5/10

    The 6 course chef's menu was amazingly great. Every dish was tasteful and delicious! We enjoyed it so much. Full attention from the waiters and a wide range of wines to choose from. Thank you all!

  21. Richard H.
    Richard H.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Our second visit to Johannes - and it didn't disappoint. Although just round the corner from where we live, we tend to save for special occasions and then go for the full 7 course tasting menu with wine matching. A lovely evening with great food, service, and wine which lasted a full 5 hours and at no point did we feel under any pressure from the restaurant to hurry along. Perfect evening. Its not cheap -but then neither should it be which is why we reserve for special occasions. Highly recommended.

  22. Richard  m.
    Richard m.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    We had the surprise menu. The food was innovative and delicious. However the waiters shirts were stained and dirty. The toilets were also dirty. It is a shame as the cleanliness of the restaurant undermined what could have been a perfect evening.

  23. Barbara A.
    Barbara A.
    • one review
    9/10

    It was a great visit again with great service !

  24. Vlad R.
    Vlad R.
    • 11 reviews
    8/10

    Atmosphere is really nice, but service is usual. Some of the dishes are perfect, but some are so-so. Vegetables in dishes are not enough prepared. Tournedos is excellent.

  25. Jeroen P.
    Jeroen P.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely amazing dishes. With surprise menu there is always a chance that one dish is not 100% to your liking, however at Johannes every single bite of the five course menu was an explosion of joy. Wow. So good! We will definitely come back here.

  26. Ekaterina V.
    Ekaterina V.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    thank you so much, everything was perfect! )

  27. Elaira T.
    Elaira T.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Super experience. And we had those amazing dishes coming one after another... We had 5 course meal. Representation, quality of food and great service. What a treat!

  28. Daniela F.
    Daniela F.
    • 28 reviews
    9.5/10

    High level restaurant! All plates were very good with different preparations inside the same dish. The atmosphere was a little cold.

  29. Valentina B.
    Valentina B.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    The atmosphere is elegant and yet makes you feel very comfortable and relaxed. The staff is kind and very well trained. The food is amazing: very good combination of tastes, textures, temperatures. Strongly recommended!

  30. Nelleke B.
    Nelleke B.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Special place with excellent food. Everything was so tasty and special. Nice ambiance and great service! 10 plus! We can recommend this place.

  31. Nick S.
    Nick S.
    • one review
    2/10

    A previous visit in June was fantastic, but after yesterday's visit, we won't return. We were nervous when we heard the whole restaurant team had changed recently, and sadly this was fully justified. We ordered the 7-course tasting menu. Service started inattentive - we had to ask for menus, then the wine list, then cutlery - but went seriously bad. First, I told a staff member that the bouillabaisse tasted bitter and unpleasant, and was told that if I had informed them before that I didn't like bouillabaisse, they would have served something else. That really wasn't the problem: the food was not good. But then my partner was served steak, despite the restaurant knowing she did not eat meat. Overall, the food was nowhere near the level of 3 months before, lacking flavour, balance, and being served lukewarm. We were unhappy at this point and debating whether to stay, when we realised our umbrellas had been given away to other diners by staff! We decided to abandon the meal at that point, at the 5th course. To its credit, the restaurant waived the price of the food, but we still ended up paying for the wine we had. The couple dining next to us also made complaints about their food and left saying that it had not been good enough. I would not recommend Johannes to anyone now, which is very sad because it was a wonderful experience before. I hope to find out where the old team have gone to work however, because that will probably be a fantastic restaurant!

  32. Neha S.
    Neha S.
    • 22 reviews
    9/10

    A bit more upmarket restaurant, lovely setting and attentive service. Went for the 4 course menu and they were accommodating for dietary requirements. The food is tasty, cooked well and doesn't push the flavour range too obscure. Definitely recommend!

  33. Heidi  B.
    Heidi B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Nice place, friendly Service and excellent food. The restaurant is perfect for a dinner with friends or a romantic dinner. The surprise menu was great

  34. Howard P.
    Howard P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful inventive cuisine

  35. Tarik G.
    Tarik G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service. Wonderful food and ambiance. Will definitely be returning.

  36. Gail P.
    Gail P.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious cooking! Great attention to detail and refined flavours. presenation excellent.

  37. Karen K.
    Karen K.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great hospitality and excellent presentation. Went for 5 courses but should have go for six instead. Highly recommended and probably the best restaurant in Amsterdam :)

  38. Liza M.
    Liza M.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    The restaurant is well decorated with warm atmosphere. The waiter serving our table is very energetic, showing great enthusiasm with his job. All dishes are well designed and presented as an art piece. It sums up to be a very enjoyable evening.

  39. Elsa B.
    Elsa B.
    • 44 reviews
    10/10

    It was our first dinner ever at Johannes and it lived up to our expectations. Every dish five-course menu plus the amuses and extra dessert were exquisite and delicious. Service was friendly and efficient with appropriate wait-times between courses. The setting was smart and conducive to quiet conversation. A top-notch restaurant that we’ll definitely return to. Only minus point is that we had to ask for our bread rolls to be served. Afterwards, however, we were approached twice to be offered additional rolls.

  40. Frank v.
    Frank v.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    The service and food were really good, with some unexpected but great flavor combinations. Some dishes (sauces) were a little too salty for our taste. Since well prepared fresh vegetables are used, it would be nice if some dishes would have these more in spotlight instead of meat/fish as the center of each course. All in all a very enjoyable meal, thanks!