Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Portuguese With friends

Reviews - Restaurante Gamboa

9.4/10
166
R. Manuel dos Santos Vaquinhas 21 loja a, 8135-117 AlmancilSee map

Average price €14

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.4/10
Excellent166 reviews
9.4/10

Food

9.5/10

Service

9.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • John S.
    John S.

    August 1, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    This is now our second visit. We will continue to visit when we are in the area. Great food, great price and excellent service. Great authentic honest Portuguese restaurant. We love it!

  • Fiona H.
    Fiona H.

    July 29, 20221 review

    10/10
  • Karsten S.
    Karsten S.

    July 28, 20221 review

    9/10
  • Lisa T.
    Lisa T.

    July 25, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Wonderful food with a very warm welcome

  • Mairi R.
    Mairi R.

    July 21, 202213 reviews

    10/10

    Gamboa is a gem ! Rui and his team work incredibly hard to give their guests a great dinner for a reasonable price . The fish is fresh the meat is fabulous and truly worth a visit .

  • Glen A.
    Glen A.

    June 3, 20227 reviews

    8/10
  • Patrick S.
    Patrick S.

    May 26, 20229 reviews

    10/10

    Very good menu with realistic prices.

  • Miriam W.
    Miriam W.

    May 13, 202219 reviews

    8/10
  • Sue S.
    Sue S.

    May 3, 20221 review

    10/10

    The food was of good quality & expertly cooked. The Restaurant team were very friendly & have lots of returning clients. It’s good to see a local restaurant so busy on a Tuesday night.

  • Gail H.
    Gail H.

    May 2, 20221 review

    10/10
  • Nicky B.

    April 28, 20221 review

    10/10

    Warm friendly staff - great food.

  • Paul B.

    April 26, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    We have been to Gamboa many times and th e food is always excellent - and yesterday it was too. You always get a great welcome and nothing is too much trouble. A great restaurant in Almancil.

  • Simon p.

    April 13, 20221 review

    10/10

    Great steak in a busy little restaurant. We will definitely be back. Brilliant service, the owner is definitely in the right job, he and his staff serve their customers with passion and a smile.

  • Claire H.

    March 18, 20222 reviews

    10/10
  • Mandy B.

    March 2, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant, not huge portions, but great food and choice of food. Extremely friendly owners and staff

  • Kerry V.

    February 25, 20225 reviews

    10/10

    Great food and service in a fun atmosphere.

  • Tushar P.

    February 18, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Consistently good over many years of coming to the restaurant. Very helpful staff and delicious food

  • Sally H.
    Sally H.

    February 16, 20225 reviews

    9/10

    Despite being very busy, the restaurant gave friendly and efficient service, and managed to provide food in good time for our party of nine people.

  • Dianne S.

    February 12, 20223 reviews

    8/10

    We visited again as we enjoyed it so much last time,…the staff are great and the food is very good - loved the seafood Cataplana. I would highly recommend it as so tasty and great value.

  • Nigel D.
    Nigel D.

    January 27, 202241 reviews

    10/10

    Great value and food really good

  • Garry M.
    Garry M.

    January 27, 20227 reviews

    10/10

    Never fails to deliver on every front …. Brilliant place

  • Helen F.

    January 17, 20221 review

    10/10

    Excellent recommendation. Did not disappoint, we thoroughly enjoyed both ambiance & fish. Staff could not have been more helpful & friendly.

  • Rute G.
    Rute G.

    January 12, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    A equipa super acolhedora, serviço fantástico, comida bem confeccionada. De certeza que vou voltar, Recomendo vivamente. Obrigada pela dedicação.

  • Rebecca H.
    Rebecca H.

    November 2, 20211 review

    10/10

    The food was amazing, some of the best I’ve had in the algarve. Punches well above its weight, a must. 3 of us, we had the hake, tuna and the rib eye. Cooked perfectly, seasoned well I can’t fault

  • Kris K.

    October 8, 20211 review

    10/10

    The food was amazing and cannot to return Thanks

  • Tracie T.

    October 5, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    This traditional little restaurant provides great service, delicious fresh local food and is very reasonable. Would recommend. Excellent

  • Pam T.

    September 23, 20214 reviews

    10/10

    Already been to Gamboa many times, always made to feel welcome, food and service excellent. Enjoy listening to (and joining in) the singing and guitar playing.

  • Bernie P.

    September 21, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Hamish S.

    September 11, 20212 reviews

    9.5/10

    As good as ever! Genuine welcome on arrival, good menu choice, well prepared and presented. Great staff, excellent value. Will return without doubt

  • David A.

    September 3, 202113 reviews

    10/10

    Good food great atmosphere,friendly staff

  • Paul W.
    Paul W.

    August 27, 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Jan V.

    August 26, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Andrew F.
    Andrew F.

    August 21, 20217 reviews

    7/10
  • Adriano G.

    August 3, 20214 reviews

    9.5/10

    Très bien, service au top ????

  • Siobhan M.

    July 31, 20214 reviews

    4/10
  • Jessica B.

    July 15, 20214 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing Portuguese culinary experience ! Great food, great service ! I recommend

  • Nigel D.
    Nigel D.

    May 6, 202141 reviews

    10/10

    Best value for food entertainment and hospitality

    Restaurante Gamboa (Owner)

    Thank you so much.... We appreciate your evaluation. Thanks for your choice and we wait for you when you want! BEST REGARDS RESTAURANTE GAMBOA

  • Nigel D.
    Nigel D.

    November 20, 202041 reviews

    10/10

    So nice local and personal service

  • Alexander W.

    November 6, 20206 reviews

    10/10

    always a warm welcome from rui at gamboas a great selection of dishes, freindly staff, great atmosphere, great value for money, the tuna steak with onions is fantastic.

  • Garry M.
    Garry M.

    November 3, 20207 reviews

    10/10

    Always a great meal in Gamboa, the staff can’t do enough for you

Tripadvisor reviews

286 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation