Back

Reviews Rosso rubino

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 318 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. David R.
    David R.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a really enjoyable meal here. We were made to feel very welcome and this extended to some complementary limoncello! The standard of the food was excellent - especially the special (a grilled steak - contrafiletto I think) and the Pici a la Toscana. Deserts were a real treat. A fabulous little restaurant and well worth its TripAdvisor rating!

  2. Ken S.
    Ken S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great family owned and run restaurant in historic olde town Montepulciano. Make sure you make a reservation if you want to eat there!!! Highly recommended!!!

  3. Sharon O.
    Sharon O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant find in Montepulciano! Delicious homemade food served in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Best food we have had on our trip so far. In fact, we are returning tonight to try more of their wonderful dishes!

  4. Rodney H.
    Rodney H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great restaurant with excellent food & service. We booked a couple of months in advance & on the night of our reservation the whole restaurant, except our table had been booked for a birthday party by a group of locals. They were so worried about disturbing/ upsetting us, they had the staff serve us a glass of prosecco & also had a beautiful bottle of red wine served at our table. These people were all very friendly & took turns coming to our table to s\introduce themselves & apologize (there was NO need). The jovial atmosphere of the merrymakers enhanced the evening for us & it turned out to be one of the best experiences of our whole European trip!

  5. Jacob S.
    Jacob S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Always amazing. The hosts are very hospitable. No matter what you will have, it will be good. And always leave room for dessert! It is all made in house.

  6. Jacob S.
    Jacob S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Lunch was wonderful! The homemade pasta was of an exceptional quality and nothing disappointed. Their desserts are also amazing.

  7. Deanna E.
    Deanna E.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We’ve been in Italy for 12 days so far and just had our best meal so far at this delightful restaurant. What a perfect cozy spot to settle in on a cool evening to enjoy a wonderful meal. We felt like guests in the home of the proprietors with lovely and attentive service and incredible food. Every dish was simply presented and absolutely delicious. The duck leg was cooked perfectly, the wild boar stew was beautifully spiced and tender, the zucchini soufflé melted in your mouth and the ricotta and cherry tart was the perfect, not-too-sweet ending to a delightful meal. Highly recommended!

  8. John F.
    John F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fantastic meal and warm hospitality. We tried the specials and they were delicious. Crostini with melted pecorino was so delicious. Pasta was fantastic. White boar stew was so tender and flavorful. Their homemade olive oil was also wonderful. Highly recommend!

  9. Anouk P.
    Anouk P.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    The atmosphere was great, the people working there were really friendly. The food was ok, a bit salty and the meat was a bit chewy (for both the duck and the wild boar stew). I have no idea why people rave about the chocolate cake. It tastes like any cake you can buy at the supermarket. Not bad, but definitely nothing special.

  10. George F.
    George F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely restaurant in Montepulciano. The owners were very welcoming and generous. The food, beer, and wine delicious and a great value. Very highly recommend.

  11. Edward m.
    Edward m.
    • one review
    9/10

    Many good things from start to finish. The greeting was great once they found our reservation. A little hard to find since we didn’t know the area. Great wine advice, a local fairly priced bottle. Appetizer was amazing with cheese and bacon. Pasta course was excellent, pick. Steak was good, filet was great but rest of t-bone was tough. Needed more salt. Desserts and cafe were amazing. Overall, great location and better than average food for a fair price. Small local restaurant that locals go to. I didn’t speak Italian but still managed.

  12. HANS K.
    HANS K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We ate at Rossi Rubino twice while in Tuscany. We had to go back there for our last evening here. Their pasta with meat, cream sauce and truffles was so fresh, light and delicious. We were in Montepulciano for two weeks and this was one of the best restaurants we experienced.

  13. Shannon M.
    Shannon M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Definitely one of our favorite restaurants in Tuscany. Husband and wife team working their behinds off and delivering fresh delicious authentic Tuscan meals. We had the pici ragu, boar stew, magtagliati with wild boar ragu and pici pomodoro with garlic. Loved all, my favorite was the so very fresh pici pomodoro garlic. The panecota with fresh strawberries was dreamy the chocolate cake was gone before I could try. Order the limoncello they serve it cold in a frosted glass.

  14. HANS K.
    HANS K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The food was so fresh and delicious. they make you feel like you are a part of the family for the evening!!

  15. Davide B.
    Davide B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Tipico locale toscano con una fantastica fiorentina!!!

  16. Nancy K.
    Nancy K.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a wonderful lunch while visiting Montepulciano in June. We ordered the daily specials....everything was fresh, local and delicious. The service was outstanding....so friendly. Highly recommend you visit.

  17. Craig I.
    Craig I.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was tasty and well prepared. Dishes arrived promptly and with minimum waiting in between.

  18. Katharina B.
    Katharina B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Perfect evening

  19. Galya R.
    Galya R.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is incredible place...

  20. Donna A.
    Donna A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The soup was delicious and so was the custard with caramel sauce.

  21. Will C.
    Will C.
    • one review
    10/10

    A very intimate setting with extraordinarily high-quality food. Best restaurant we visited on our Tuscan holiday.

  22. Mike R.
    Mike R.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    So good we went for dinner and back for lunch a few days later. Very happy we made reservations for dinner as many arrived looking for a table only to find out it was fully booked. Pasta is delicious. Wild boar as well. Husband and wife are a very friendly and helpful with the menu for non-Italian speakers. Four great meals over two days. Highly recommend.

  23. Vincent D.
    Vincent D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Knowing that this restaurant is basically run by just a team of a husband and wife, it's amazing that they are able to produce such a high level of quality in what they serve and how they serve it. We had a couple of pasta dishes including one with a cinghiale sauce and a few sides and everything was delicious. Our server, the wife part of the team, was very hospitable and even chatted with us a little bit. She was very patient with our broken Italian but spoke fine English as well. Even when the restaurant became busy, they seemed like they were able to keep up. It's did take a while for us to get their attention to get our bill but several tables had just come in. Overall it was a great experience. I would recommend it if you're in town.

  24. Ian J.
    Ian J.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Family run restaurant, very welcoming and good traditional italian food and good but not too expensive wine list. Enjoyed very much.

  25. Mela S.
    Mela S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food is excellent

  26. Chris D.
    Chris D.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Good Tuscan food in a charming setting, service was attentive but not over baring would recommend highly, good value for money.

  27. Sandy S.
    Sandy S.
    • 34 reviews
    9.5/10

    A most wonderful place to appreciate traditional and dignified Tuscan cuisine and enjoy welcoming hospitality. It is evident that the owners place a high value on the customer's experience. Highly recommended. Reservations essential.

  28. Monica m.
    Monica m.
    • one review
    10/10

    Un ottima cucina ,personale e atmosfera

  29. Randy W.
    Randy W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food, people, etc. One of the best dinners we had in Tuscany. Very nice couple who own the restaurant, made you feel like home. Food is exceptionally good and fresh. It was our anniversary and this was a great place to celebrate. Could eat there everyday.

  30. Justine A.
    Justine A.
    • 6 reviews
    7.5/10

    This was a lovely restaurant but was just a little let down by the service. I think this was largely due to about 8 couples all turning up at the same time but it meant we were left with our empty plates in front of us for some time with nothing to drink. The food was nice enough and if you’re looking for traditional Tuscany fare then this definitely ticks the box but we didn’t find the meal overly memorable.

  31. Alison T.
    Alison T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food service was very good and the ambience was incredible

  32. Mark P.
    Mark P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    So good that I’m going back.

  33. Sally C.
    Sally C.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Small friendly restaurant in the heart of Montepulciano

  34. Christina W.
    Christina W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had an amazing meal here on our last night in Italy - went based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Incredible food, kind and helpful staff -- don't miss the gnocchi in saffron, the pici was to die for our and the traditional Tuscan meat dishes were perfection. Such a treat, don't miss this place in Montepulciano.

  35. Fabio M.
    Fabio M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Eccellente

  36. Manfred W.
    Manfred W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Quiet and friendly place where you can expect more than the average - i.e. homemade pasta with exceptionally tasting boar ragu. Friendly and helpful staff and to round it all up: a delicious cappuccino. It was a perfect dinner for us.

  37. Thanasis S.
    Thanasis S.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    The best

  38. Alisa B.
    Alisa B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This was just delicious Tuscan food. The gnocchi was fantastic!

  39. Ken D.
    Ken D.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Nice to be away from the tourist crowds. Very nice people, food was very good home cooked dishes, dessert and wine were great and all at a reasonable price.

  40. Greg H.
    Greg H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best meal we had in Tuscany.