Back

Reviews Sa Tanca Crostaceria

9.2/10
Excellent
based on 4320 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Lindsay S.
    Lindsay S.
    • one review
    9/10

    The staff were very attentive providing great service just as we would hope for. We had three courses and wine which were all tasty! Especially the tiramisu which was full of coffee but not soggy! The crab pasta dish had a large amount of fresh crab but sadly a lot of shell which let it down, but can’t fault the fresh quality of the seafood! It was also nice to be welcome with free Prosecco and a mini appetiser! The tempura veg was also great some of the best I’ve had! If you love seafood I would recommend this little restaurant with a peaceful romantic atmosphere

  2. Flavia B.
    Flavia B.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Sempre eccellente!

  3. Henriette M.
    Henriette M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A very good experience from reservation to leaving the restaurant after a very good and tasty meal and excellent waitors with no hurry in their service.

  4. Alessia S.
    Alessia S.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Sempre ottimo

  5. Carol R.
    Carol R.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great pasta and wonderful fish. We loved our meal. This is a place where Italians in Rome eat. Great find. Good service, good house wine. Loved everything.

  6. Georgiana B.
    Georgiana B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Always good and always a pleasure to dine here

  7. Gene G.
    Gene G.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant is a classic example of a proper Italian cuisine. From friendly staff to masterfully crafted dishes, fro freshest seafood to perfect pasta and risotto. The whine recommended by our waiter was perfectly matched to our meal. Thank you for a joyous experience.

  8. Teri O.
    Teri O.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    The staff was very kind,if the service was a bit slow. The food was okay, but my fish was over cooked. I felt the atmosphere was odd.

  9. Osvaldo F.
    Osvaldo F.
    • 64 reviews
    10/10

    Ótima. Nota 10

  10. Pietro D.
    Pietro D.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Really good food and well presented. The fish is fresh and tasty. Unfortunately I didn’t have a chance to try the “menu degustazione” because it is served for at least 2 person but it definitely worth the visit. Price is reasonable and low if compared to the high quality of the food. Definitely recommended!

  11. Mickey q.
    Mickey q.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    perfect oyster and dessert;a little salty for main course

  12. Kong l.
    Kong l.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very fresh for the seafood

  13. Imma r.
    Imma r.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Una scoperta.... complimenti!!!!!

  14. Massimo M.
    Massimo M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Miticoooooo!!!

  15. Jurien G.
    Jurien G.
    • 13 reviews
    9/10

    Honest good food, nice atmosphere

  16. Alexander L.
    Alexander L.
    • one review
    8/10

    too fancy, too small, too hot inside

  17. Elena L.
    Elena L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    It was very nice and tasty.

  18. Tonino s.
    Tonino s.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Eccellente da provare .

  19. Brad B.
    Brad B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant with ultra fresh seafood, innovative but still classic dishes and great service. The decor is also very unique. We loved it and would go back.

  20. Gil G.
    Gil G.
    • 98 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent Cuisine. Nothing to complain on the tuna tartar, the swordfish and the miglefolle! Nice dinner!

  21. William L.
    William L.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    A local’s favorite. Seafood house à la Italiana! From oysters to lobster.

  22. ROSA C.
    ROSA C.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    pesce fresco

  23. Veronica Q.
    Veronica Q.
    • 39 reviews
    9.5/10

    1000 volte Sa tanca...1000 volte soddisfatta

  24. Richard T.
    Richard T.
    • 166 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent restaurant où l’on se régale

  25. Keith C.
    Keith C.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent attentive service, great food (we had the taster meal and struggled to finish so I recommend that you go very hungry !). Very busy with people being turned away, so also recommend you book in advance Will be returning

  26. Scott R.
    Scott R.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    The very freshest of raw fish paired with sweet fruit; delicious and reasonable Sardinian wine, well prepared tempura fish and vegetables were the highlights.

  27. Espen K.
    Espen K.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fantastic food and really good recommendations from our waiter. Really a good gem to visit in Rome.

  28. Adriana E.
    Adriana E.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent fresh seafood and really great service!

  29. Theresa H.
    Theresa H.
    • one review
    10/10

    High level service and the food was delicious!

  30. Nicolas B.
    Nicolas B.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    Highly reccomended!

  31. Helge m.
    Helge m.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    we liked everything very much, an unusual evening, a beautiful interior, very good quality fresh seafood, and a very attentive but not intrusive team, thank you very much !!!

  32. David m.
    David m.
    • 25 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent quality Italian seafood. Good ambience in an elegant setting. Pasta dishes quite large. A good selection of reasonably priced wine. A bit slow in refilling wine and water. Highly recommend.

  33. Maria K.
    Maria K.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The dinner was very nice with complimentary prosecco and dish from the chef. The shrimps was very fresh and grilled perfectly. Good options of wine. My evening at your place was really nice. Thanks

  34. Stephan N.
    Stephan N.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful and memorable dining experience.

  35. Gustavo N.
    Gustavo N.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    personale attento e premuroso

  36. Donna h.
    Donna h.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant is really good, the staff are excellent and explain each dish, we have been in Rome for a week and this is the best food we have had by a mile, even though the restaurant was full it didn’t seem crowded, if you like fish then you must try this restaurant

  37. Luca E.
    Luca E.
    • 9 reviews
    3/10

    Disappointing is the word that comes to mind first. The location next to Via Nazionale (full city center) had me captured in a feeling of elation and anticipation, especially seeing all the high scores from the foreigners who visited the place. Here’s the story: it is Good Friday, just before Easter, and my wife and I want to treat us according to our belief, without eating meat, this is why I use The Fork to find a seafood place instead. Entering the place is already an experience: the atmosphere is heavy, the walls all covered in Pompeian red and the light is dull and faint so they immediately light a candle at our table. The place is almost desert when we arrive at 8:20 pm and we are welcomed by a glory of waiters that are all in all very well mannered, if anything a tad too obsequious. So many waiters (no woman except the owner) clash with a rather empty ambiance. We notice it and the atmosphere is not great, but we are there for the food and enthusiastically go through the menu; a very long list of items that are difficult to really combine in a uniform offering although it is all fish and seafood indeed. We go for the petit plateau a mix of raw fish starters to share (40€) a ‘tempura’ of shrimps and veggies and then spaghetti con le vongole for my wife and the very Sardinian ‘fregola’ that I love, with lobster, and a glass of wine. The raw fish arrives super fast served on a very ample metal course dish, full of ice, fruit and in between some ‘crudité’. The raw shrimps and the scampi were very good, but the rest (canocchie, fasolari, noci di mare) was honestly not and further to the taste some of them were so covered in ice that they were almost frozen: not a good experience and a very expensive fruit salad. At any rate let’s get on... we are finished in 15 minutes and just after 5 minutes the bring in the rest of our order... fast; too fast. My fregola with lobster is a joke: despite the fregola itself being cooked well, that’s pretty much the only good thing I can say about that: half a lobster (cooked when? It was all rubbery and bland) just covered in a ridiculously small quantity of fregola, which was bland itself and not a joy to eat (at 25€ a plate I’m rather disappointed). Then the easiest thing in the world: spaghetti con le vongole; come on, they couldn’t possibly have made this wrong... right?! Wrong!! Not only were they bland, but super dry and a tad over cooked. It almost felt like all that food was prepared hastily, with several parts of it revived from previous cooking. At this point, my wife and I don’t feel anymore like spending any more of our hard earned money there and simply offer an espresso to close the disappointment and get out. In summary: food experience was very poor, in a gloomy and dim atmosphere. Food should be life and joy; this place just isn’t. Regrettably, i then understand an adage that I should have listened to this time as well: restaurants in the city center are (if not all, very many of them) a tourist trap. People feel so inebriated by the rich Pompeian red tapestry, the candle light and the fact that they are in Rome, that they simply overlook how good the food is and its quality, especially when they get so easily distracted by other things (ie the old fashioned ambiance and the obsequiously mannered service). We then went on to eat a dessert on a nice place on via Nazionale itself. THAT was good.

  38. Dana d.
    Dana d.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    I read it was good, but the food is amazing. Will return for sure????

  39. Fabio T.
    Fabio T.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Good place good fellings and good food

  40. Angelo G.
    Angelo G.
    • 22 reviews
    10/10

    Ottimo