Back

Reviews - Solar da Ajuda

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 317 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Mala B.
    Mala B.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Beautiful sirloin steak. Must experience place :)

  2. Oliver H.
    Oliver H.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food at this restaurant was amazing, there's simply nothing else to say in regards that. I chose the steak which was easily one of the finest I have tasted and the garlic prawns for starters was to die for. Unfortunately due to current events with covid we were the only persons there throughout our booking. This didn't stop the staff from being extremely helpful and friendly. I would like to see the restaurant full to judge the atmosphere and maybe give it full marks.

  3. Maureen G.
    Maureen G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had a fabulous meal, the best steak on the stone and a real bay tree for the fillet skewer. A delicious red wine which they recommended. A hidden gem.

  4. Neil Z.
    Neil Z.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    My family have been coming here for nearly 20 years. Yet Again fantastic food, the quality of the filet steak was excellent. Thank you! We have three nights left and I’m sure we will be back. Definitely worth a visit!!!

  5. Rob F.
    Rob F.
    • 7 reviews
    7/10

    Ok food with zero atmosphere

  6. John B.
    John B.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    The staff are always welcoming and super efficient and the food is consistently very good. There is a pleasant buzz and a lively atmosphere. Have recommended this restaurant to many visitors to Funchal.

  7. Lydia C.
    Lydia C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    We return to Solar d’Ajuda every time we visit Madeira. We love the garlic prawns and we consider it the best steak on the stone. Service.is always welcoming and excellent choice of wine recommended. Can’t wait till our next visit.

  8. Paul J.
    Paul J.
    • 33 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food as always. Great service and highly recommended.

  9. Jorge T.
    Jorge T.
    • 5 reviews
    4.5/10

    Very run of the mill food, noisy restaurant. Big generous portions.

  10. Bob S.
    Bob S.
    • 21 reviews
    9.5/10

    Friendly attentive service and faultless food. It would be difficult to find better hot stone steaks - anywhere.. Tables are a little bit cheek by jowl so you would go here for the excellent food and service rather than for an intimate evening.

  11. Ian m.
    Ian m.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent as usual staff friendly & remember you from one year to the next

  12. Stephen K.
    Stephen K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A recommendation from a friend that was exceeded by the event. A busy venue even at 7pm... glad we booked. Steak on a stone was fun and delicious. Tuition by the owner came free and

  13. Ian m.
    Ian m.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent as always. Very friendly staff lovely food. Best steak on the stone I've had.

  14. Isabel R.
    Isabel R.
    • one review
    10/10

    We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, made to feel extra welcome, and enjoyed THE best 'steak on the stone'

  15. Lassi P.
    Lassi P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very tasteful and smooth stone beef and exellent service. Big recommendation!!

  16. Kenneth C.
    Kenneth C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Was our third visit in as many years. Key word is consistency in food and service.

  17. Christine L.
    Christine L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent food and service once again . Friendly welcome . Staff remembered us and our preferences

  18. Sue k.
    Sue k.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Another enjoyable New Years Eve meal. Super service from Moyses and the staff. See you next year.

  19. Eva S.
    Eva S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Mycket god mat????????????xxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxcccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccvvvvvcccccvvvvvvvvvvvvvccccvvvvvvvvcccvccc

  20. Brian S.
    Brian S.
    • 30 reviews
    8/10

    Consistently good and as popular as ever.

  21. Sami W.
    Sami W.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Great food, great service and great experience.

  22. Tom B.
    Tom B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent as usual!

  23. David G.
    David G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Been coming to Madeira for 20+ years always visit Solar at least once per trip, and standards have never fallen, the food and service are excellent

  24. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food and service as usual first class. Very busy last night but still the food and the service were excellent. Nice touch also, as you get a brandy or other liquor for both with the bill.

  25. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The meal was truly fantastic. I had the steak fillet on the stone and my wife had the scabbard fish. We both agreed it was the best meal we have had in Madeira. Also the salad bar was excellent as was the garlic bread we loved it. Followed by apple pie nome made with lovely ice cream. The owner was always very attentive helping with advice on choosing. We will be back soon

  26. Sheila S.
    Sheila S.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We were delighted with everything about this restaurant. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. They also took time to help us with our choice of food and wine which were both 1st class. Altogether we had an excellent experience.

  27. Lorraine R.
    Lorraine R.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Sol da Ajuda was absolutely brilliant, the food was great and the service was fantastic

  28. Paul J.
    Paul J.
    • 33 reviews
    10/10

    Outstanding food and service again. Highly recommended

  29. Paul J.
    Paul J.
    • 33 reviews
    10/10

    Outstanding food and service once again. Nice touch that Moses remembered us and our daughter who wasn’t there this time. A true pointer that he was not just making up that he remembered us. Steak on the stone and combo fajitas were superb. We will return.

  30. Keith G.
    Keith G.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    From the exterior the restaurant looks unappealing but once inside it is clean, well presented, nice atmosphere, attentive staff and a meal to be compared with any that we have had in a 4 star plus restaurant.

  31. Viv S.
    Viv S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Steak on a stone did not disappoint, very glad we made the visit. Other dishes also looked appetising

  32. Shirley p.
    Shirley p.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Our first time at this restaurant having been recommended by friends and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent the staff very friendly and to top it all the steak was wonderful. A great concept with the steak arriving on a hot stone and you cooking the meat to how you like it. Great value for money and the wine was also very good quality. This is one place you must visit whenever you are in Madeira but remember to book early as it is very popular.

  33. Ian W.
    Ian W.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always visit here, quality steak on the stone. Staff never force you into ordering extras that you don't really want. Once ordered they leave you to enjoy your meal. Polite and efficient.

  34. David K.
    David K.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Been to this restaurant on several occasions in the past and as before the visit this time was as Good. Food excellent, my wife had the tuna steak and I had the fillet steak. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

  35. Alan I.
    Alan I.
    • 22 reviews
    10/10

    Thoroughly enjoyable second visit. Food was excellent as was the service. Staff always friendly and attentive, food delicious with a wide range of menu items.

  36. Murray B.
    Murray B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Always a pleasure to visit. Steak on the stone is sublime every time and we are greeted as friends. Good value quality food. It is a go to place every time we visit Madeira. Obrigado

  37. Julia C.
    Julia C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    As always excellent

  38. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Very welcoming, we were shown to our table and given enough time to choose our meal without having to wait too long. The food was wonderful, and at the end of our meal when we asked for the bill we were given complimentary spirits to finish off

  39. VANESSA P.
    VANESSA P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Have been here before and never disappoints! Service is excellent, friendly and attentive but most of all the food is fresh and delicious and plentiful

  40. Ruth G.
    Ruth G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Love being able to cook my steak on the stone the way I like it. Excellent food quality, a huge range of dishes to suit all tastes. Staff are always very friendly and helpful. If you choose to cook your own steak they will help and advise you on how to achieve the perfect result