Register my restaurant
Help


Portuguese Traditional

Reviews - Solar da Ajuda

9.5/10
691
Rua da Casa Branca, 102, 9000-113 Funchal
Portuguese
Average price €23

Featured on this month's Top 50 Funchal

Solar da Ajuda

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.5/10
Excellent691 reviews
9.7/10

Food

9.8/10

Service

9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Very short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Ann H.2 reviews

    June 12, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent food well cooked & served by really nice staff. One of our favourite places to eat in Funchal. We will be back👍

  • A W.26 reviews

    May 23, 2024

    9.5/10

    As always the service was prompt and each of the staff seemed to know the right moment to move - menus, the order, drinks as fast as a wink, fifteen minutes and the steaks-on-stone were humming before our eyes. A delicious meal. Happy.

  • Paul H.6 reviews

    May 18, 2024

    10/10

    Yet again this restaurant provides consistently high quality food at a very good price. Portions are large, choice of menu extensive and the quality of service is first rate. I highly recommend those restaurant and urge all to give it a try.

  • Beverley L.4 reviews

    May 17, 2024

    10/10

    The restaurant is excellent, food, staff and ambience, it’s one to visit definitely

  • Richard W.4 reviews

    May 16, 2024

    9.5/10

    Very friendly and attentive staff. Food was excellent and it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Paul H.6 reviews

    May 13, 2024

    10/10

    This was our third visit. Please don’t under estimate this restaurant. Tucked away, you could easily dismiss it…..DONT. You will be greeted by friendly and professional staff. The food is great, good portion size and excellent value for money. I highly recommend this place. Once you’ve been I guarantee you’ll be back

  • Sue M.1 review

    May 4, 2024

    10/10

    We were recommended to try Solar da Adjuda by a friend at home in the UK and we were not disappointed - I fact we ate here twice in the week we were in Funchal

  • Clare W.5 reviews

    April 10, 2024

    9.5/10

    What a great experience cooking your own steak on the hot stone, we loved it and the owner is a great guy. Good food and great service, we will be returning.

  • John C.5 reviews

    April 10, 2024

    10/10

    Very friendly atmosphere. Good quality is spot on. Everything seems no problem and the staff seem to want to help you enjoy your evening rather than put the food down in front of you and walk away. Makes all the difference. This is our favourite restaurant every time we come to Madeira. Give it a try…….you will not be disappointed.

  • Shaun S.5 reviews

    April 2, 2024

    10/10

    Absolutely the best place to eat. Staff so obliging . Food is just the best. Steak on a stone is so lovely to eat.my wife had tuna and she said the best she has had. Please give it a try when you in the area. You will not be disappointed.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Joshua T.

    Joshua T.1 review

    March 25, 2024

    10/10

    Amazing food & atmosphere. A really enjoyable meal. 😁

  • Simon B.9 reviews

    March 20, 2024

    7.5/10

    Enjoyed our meal here. We booked the table for 8.30 pm, which in hindsight was a mistake. The meal was rather rushed and as we were the last people to leave the restaurant, we felt rather under pressure. Hence just the 4 star review, not 5. We did share the 300g sirloin steak on a stone. Excellent quality, tenderness and taste and you cook it how you prefer. I would still recommend folk to give it a try for the food. However not great ambience and not a relaxed atmosphere.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Phil C.4 reviews

    March 20, 2024

    10/10

    Steak on a stone- here, the quality is excellent and service good. We were last here 20 years ago & will return. Wrote we head home!

  • Brian N.16 reviews

    March 16, 2024

    9.5/10

    A first for us at this restaurant which we very efficiently booked through ‘Fork’. We booked because of recommendation from previous customers about the quality of the steaks. Their specialty is ‘Steak on a Stone’, however, we opted for other steak options on this occasion. The steaks were cooked to perfection as per our requests and were sublime. My fillet steak (rare cooked) was ‘melt in your mouth’. The staff were very efficient and speedy. My only slight negative is, depending where you are seated, you are literally sharing a table with strangers. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Mark H.5 reviews

    February 14, 2024

    10/10

    Valentines night. Chicken and sirloin esparada. V good as always. We always try and go here 1 night when we are in Funchal

  • Susie D.26 reviews

    February 13, 2024

    9.5/10

    Very speedy service - had to ask for more time as had barely sat down with menu. Ordered the fillets on stones - again very quickly served with chips and salad. Staff pleasant and the manager helped us with getting steaks cooked to our liking. The steaks were so tender and delicious. Enjoyed the complimentary liqueur. Nothing to complain about here.

  • Gunilla K.

    Gunilla K.6 reviews

    February 8, 2024

    9/10

    It was wonderful!

  • ANNE-MARIE A.2 reviews

    January 19, 2024

    10/10

    Great varied menu. Great food and fantastic service.

  • George S.14 reviews

    January 17, 2024

    10/10

    We have been coming to Madeira since 2005, and have visited many restaurants in that time. Solar da Ajuda, however, is right at the top of our list of favourite restaurants. The cuisine is absolutely superb, as is the service, kindness, and friendliness of all the staff and the Boss too. I would recommend Solar da Adjuda to anyone who loves good food. Unbeatable.

  • Rebecca R.4 reviews

    January 5, 2024

    10/10

    We have been here 4 nights out of 5 because the food and service are so reliable and consistent. We met lovely people around us too. I had steak on the stone...fantastic! So tender, flavourful and cooked to perfection. My husband had scabbard for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. We finished with apple pie which was full of fruit and had the lightest and crumbliest of pastry. It is a lovely dining experience from start to finish...which is why we keep returning!

  • Rebecca R.4 reviews

    January 4, 2024

    10/10

    We have been here 3 times in 4 days! They are so welcoming. The food is of very good quality, plentiful and properly cooked. There is such an atmosphere of hospitality and enjoyment by all. It's like a room full of friends that don't know each other! There are many, many restaurants here, but we keep choosing this one!

  • Rebecca R.4 reviews

    January 1, 2024

    9.5/10

    Real,homemade, quality food with quality ingredients. The chicken kiev was wonderful, surpassing the garlic butter 'ooze' test. Best garlic mushrooms ever! Wonderful service and a lovely white tablecloth...turns eating into dining.

  • Susan P.2 reviews

    December 31, 2023

    9/10

    Excellent food, friendly staff with great service

  • Marion R.3 reviews

    January 1, 2024

    7.5/10

    Good food but restaurant is one large room and tables are very close and when busy also crowded and noisy. More of a functional than special place.

  • Sami W.23 reviews

    December 11, 2023

    10/10

    Fab Sirloin & Chips as always!

  • Paul J.45 reviews

    December 6, 2023

    10/10

    Superb food as always. Highly recommended

  • Ann H.2 reviews

    November 26, 2023

    9.5/10

    Really nice staff, great service & the food is excellent & very good value. A must visit when in this part of Funchal. The only criticism is that the tables are very close together which gives the diners no privacy when the restaurant is busy which it generally is.

  • Aaron K.3 reviews

    November 25, 2023

    10/10

    Very friendly staff. It seemed like a local place, so for a tourist, that’s where I know I can find good local food.

  • Susan P.2 reviews

    November 18, 2023

    9.5/10

    We have been to this restaurant a number of times and it is always great food, great service from friendly staff and the owner. We will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stuart W.13 reviews

    November 14, 2023

    10/10

    Everything you read on reviews is spot on. The most unassuming venue creates such lovely cuisine. Folk queuing to get a table on a Tuesday evening says it all!

  • Kathryn N.9 reviews

    November 13, 2023

    10/10

    Great food & service staff very friendly& portion sizes really generous . We come back at least twice whilst on holiday here .

  • Stuart W.13 reviews

    November 13, 2023

    10/10

    Just fab - u - lous!! ????

  • Lynne F.5 reviews

    November 12, 2023

    10/10

    We had an amazing evening, the food was fabulous and the staff were outstanding. We would highly recommend this venue.

  • Steve W.26 reviews

    November 4, 2023

    10/10

    Have been returning to The Solar for many years due to wonderful food and service. This time my wife and I both had the sizzling fajitas - fantastic flavours and a substantial main meal.

  • Maureen M.14 reviews

    November 8, 2023

    9.5/10

    As usual, a wonderful meal. Very large portions

  • Maureen M.14 reviews

    November 2, 2023

    9/10

    Wonderful food and the staff are excellent. We first found this restaurant when we were here last year and it is as good as ever. If you have never been here make sure you give it a go.

  • John L.24 reviews

    October 28, 2023

    10/10

    Always a favourite spot, great food and service

  • Wendy P.11 reviews

    October 24, 2023

    9.5/10

    We have coming here for many years and it never disappoints. The steak on the stone is we think the best. We are greeted as friends by the owner and staff who have remained loyal just as we will continue to do so.

  • A W.26 reviews

    October 22, 2023

    10/10

    Previous customers were right. An enjoyable experience from the moment one entered the door - a surprisingly unprepossessing facade. Service could not be improved: the food and portions were great: the ambiance warm and inviting, cheery-chat and pleasure in abundance. Steaks were delicious. More please!

  • Ross F.7 reviews

    October 13, 2023

    10/10

    Fabulous ... you must go

Load more reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.