Back

Reviews - Solar do Bacalhau

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 1410 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Ana G.
    Ana G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great attention from the staff, very dedicated to the customer desires and preferences. Diverse menu and wine list. Clean place and kind romantic atmosphere.

  2. Nuno Xavier N.
    Nuno Xavier N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Muito bom

  3. Tracey W.
    Tracey W.
    • 15 reviews
    7/10

    Decent food in a large restaurant. Service attentive.

  4. Paul R.
    Paul R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Best restaurant during our ten day stay .wide menu well cooked and served and excellent choice of wines.waiters were anxious to please and good value bearing in mind its in Michelin guide.

  5. Alba L.
    Alba L.
    • 18 reviews
    7/10

    Buen restaurante para comer Bacalao en Coimbra.

  6. Carlos L.
    Carlos L.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Recomendo

  7. Jose Carlos L.
    Jose Carlos L.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Nice spot, nice staff

  8. Ana T.
    Ana T.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Best costumer service, always very kind! We will definitely come back

  9. Paulo S.
    Paulo S.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    Excelente como habitualmente!

  10. Alex P.
    Alex P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Muito bom. Recomendo

  11. Kyle N.
    Kyle N.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Nice night we really enjoyed. We had a large plate for two and chocolate cake.

  12. Carlos M.
    Carlos M.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent. Will return soon.

  13. Marta V.
    Marta V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Foi tudo nota 10

  14. Dale  m.
    Dale m.
    • one review
    7/10

    Service was very good. We enjoyed our friendly waiter who spoke excellent English. We tried the cod and potatoes in a bread bowl. It was a novelty but too salty for my palate. The restaurant was very busy with locals and I must presume we just ordered the wrong meal.

  15. ANDY L.
    ANDY L.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Good price. Cod fish is house specialty

  16. Shirley L.
    Shirley L.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    The cutlery was so dirty. The service was also bad when we kindly asked them to exchange for clean ones. The food was okay. Some items were good while others were mediocre. It depends on what you order.

  17. Frans v.
    Frans v.
    • 6 reviews
    4.5/10

    We had to wait one hour for our main course. When it was finally served the side dish (hot potatoes) was cold. My wife ordered roasted salmon which was burned. The waiter solved the issue by offering a new fish which was much better but by that time my wife had been waiting for more than 1.5 hours! For the rest it was a noisy venue with several groups making a lot of noise. Clearly this restaurant did not have enough staff to serve an almost full house.

  18. Luis D.
    Luis D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Muito bom.

  19. Evandro C.
    Evandro C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excelente! Recomendo.

  20. Eloy G.
    Eloy G.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Buenos lomos de bacalao y raciones generosas

  21. Francesco M.
    Francesco M.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Posto stupendo cena divina personale meraviglioso

  22. Cristian G.
    Cristian G.
    • 37 reviews
    6.5/10

    Good restaurant, good tipical Portuguese food. Negative it's that is food cooked before and, in my opinion, is frozen fish. In 30 minutes U can be out.

  23. Valentina D.
    Valentina D.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Elegant, good and really busy restaurant.

  24. Derek L.
    Derek L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great introduction to all the possibilities with salt cod! The gambas starter(fried with olive oil. Garlic and herbs and served with toast to soak up the oil) was really delicious too. Friendly helpful service. Came to 25 euros per head with a bottle of wine for four people.

  25. Marc G.
    Marc G.
    • 5 reviews
    6/10

    This was highly recommended by our hotel, and on-line reviews are good, but.......I found the food to be bland an uninteresting. Maybe I've just had too much cod in Portugal?

  26. Ross P.
    Ross P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Food nicely presented.

  27. Heiko M.
    Heiko M.
    • 4 reviews
    6/10

    A typical tourist restaurant with an uninspired lame kitchen. Enough to be fed up with food but nothing more.

  28. Sergio B.
    Sergio B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and amazing server

  29. Daniele S.
    Daniele S.
    • one review
    10/10

    very good experience, good food and atmosphere

  30. Frances W.
    Frances W.
    • 4 reviews
    6/10

    The food was okay, just okay. My husband liked his grilled fish so that might be a good bet. I found that for the atmosphere, food, and service, we have had better meals in Coimbra.

  31. Christina T.
    Christina T.
    • one review
    7/10

    Nice people working there. Friendly and helpful. The food is only average. Place is nice. Wine and drinks are good.

  32. Jennifer Y.
    Jennifer Y.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Service was outstanding. Wine was great. Food was good.

  33. Andrew p.
    Andrew p.
    • one review
    10/10

    good introduction to Portuguese cuisine. sorta like the favorite restaurant in you home town. Exemplary waiter service!

  34. Frederico R.
    Frederico R.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    Muito bom serviço!

  35. Breno R.
    Breno R.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Muito bom, Recomendo !!!

  36. Maria João G.
    Maria João G.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Adorei!

  37. Duarte G.
    Duarte G.
    • 66 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food quality is very good, all dishes was very well prepared and tasteful. Very good quality, despite the fact that there were not a single starter/entrance, like bread, butter or a simple cheese. I really wanted some. The fish (Bacalhau) is very very good though! The service is very fast, the staff is helpful and served us always with a great smile, which is always a plus!

  38. Melania c.
    Melania c.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Eccellente!

  39. Liyang W.
    Liyang W.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    Muito bom!

  40. Ana Cristina C.
    Ana Cristina C.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Codfish is amazing, very tasty meal.