Register my restaurant
Help


European Contemporary cuisine

Reviews - Solus Kitchen & Bar

9.5/10
254
73 Grays Inn Road, WC1X 8TP London
European
Average price £30
#57 in the Top100 London

Get up to 20% off

Conditions may apply

Solus Kitchen & Bar

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.5/10
Excellent254 reviews
9.5/10

Food

9.4/10

Service

9.4/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Scarlett Yu1 review

    July 20, 2024

    7.5/10

    food was delicious

  • Ulrike G.15 reviews

    July 16, 2024

    10/10

    We liked - the French music - the ambience - choice of aperitifs - wine - over all the food - tasty (Crayfish/quail, halibut/ribeye) The service was very attentive. We will come back.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • James D.1 review

    July 10, 2024

    10/10

    Delightful entrance and perfect interior design greeted us on arrival. Excellent, attentive service throughout the meal. Simple but delicious lunch menu - all in all a great experience!

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Debbie G.1 review

    June 28, 2024

    10/10

    Nice atmosphere, very good food

  • Louis S.1 review

    July 1, 2024

    10/10

    Perfect ! I have no other Word, we came from France, we booked this restaurant to celebrate our engagement. ( July the 1st) Everything was so good (starters, main courses and desserts) The waitress was so kind and Nice with us. I hightly recommend this one ! Thank you for the service.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing our restaurant to celebrate such a special occasion! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal and had a wonderful experience. It was a pleasure serving you, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Congratulations on your engagement!

  • aydın ö.1 review

    June 14, 2024

    8/10

    Very concerned owner. Good atmosphere. Food is ok.

  • Jonathan R.5 reviews

    June 17, 2024

    9/10

    Really tasty food in a central location. Music was quite loud and service felt a bit cold but the food was amazing. Would definitely recommend the pork belly.

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, especially the pork belly. We apologize for the loud music and the service not meeting your expectations. We'll work on these aspects to improve the overall experience. We hope to see you again soon!

  • PAULINE R.2 reviews

    June 13, 2024

    7/10

    The decor is very inviting and relaxed, if a little lacking in light which makes the reading of the small font on the menus more difficult for us oldies. Also the management feels it is critical that every word of every song is audibly heard at a volume above that of the dinner conversation which is the reason for meeting people at a restaurant - again not preferred by the oldies. It's great to see lobster on the menu and the wine list is good, although there did not seem to be a sommelier or similar who could discuss the finer points of which wines to choose for the plates. Would go again if the priorities about the amplified music volume were reconsidered,

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you for your detailed feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our inviting decor, lobster, and wine list. We apologize for the lighting and music volume, and we appreciate your suggestion. We'll look into making adjustments to enhance the dining experience for everyone. We hope to welcome you back soon for an even better visit.

  • Richard K.1 review

    June 8, 2024

    10/10

    A hidden gem in Holborn, Central London. My Lamb Cannon was delicate and delicious. The pork belly was also excellent. Honestly we are very fussy when it comes to dining out and Solus was by far the best dining experience we had in the past 12 months. You simply have to try it!

    review_preview

    See 4 photos

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Lamb Cannon and pork belly. It means a lot to us that you had such a great dining experience at Solus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

  • Frida C.1 review

    June 4, 2024

    10/10

    Have our birthday dinner here and everything is so great that far more than our expectation! We had ribeye, pork belly, crispy quail with two sides. Like the other comment for the restaurant earlier the ribeye is hella juicy and the had so tender as the way we would like to cook. I have to say IT IS WAY BETTER than most of the so call good steak houses in the city!!!!!! Pork belly, super crunchy, juicy and the sauce just comes perfect with it, brings more flavors . Hate to mention the quail last but it is just full of flavor and crispy as it says on the name! It’s a perfect choice as appetizer. The staff is super friendly and they will allows you to enjoy the dinner experience much more. Definitely a hidden gem in grey’s road!!! Had a very satisfied dining experience with Solus. Will absolutely coming back!!

    review_preview

    See 6 photos

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us and for your fantastic review! We're delighted to hear that our ribeye, pork belly, and crispy quail exceeded your expectations. Your kind words about our staff and overall dining experience mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solus soon!

  • Giancarlo T.45 reviews

    May 31, 2024

    8.5/10

    Fine food with well balanced and interesting flavours. Good service. We will go back.

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you for your kind words! We're glad you enjoyed our fine food with its balanced and interesting flavors. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solus in Holborn, Central London, soon!

  • Gothy R.1 review

    May 23, 2024

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant. Such a nice cozy place that feels really elegant. I went with a close friend and we stayed until closing time it was do nice. The staff is lovely, and the drinks were very fun and not too heavy. The meals were great (quail was delicious!) I would definitely go again for any occasion!

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you for your lovely review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our cozy and elegant atmosphere, delicious quail, and fun drinks. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solus in Holborn, Central London, for any occasion!

  • Baihan H.1 review

    April 26, 2024

    9.5/10

    The location of this restaurant is very good. At first I was worried about it would be crowed as it's friday night. But it turns out that it's very close to Russel Square station and quite. Although the restaurant is small, the atmosphere is good. The decoration is fancy, a good place for dating. They don't many food choices, that's sad. The price is considerable, 3 adults and 1 kid, we spend about 100 pounds.

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear you found our restaurant's location convenient and the atmosphere pleasant for a quiet evening near Russell Square station. We appreciate your compliments on our fancy decor, suitable for a date night. We apologize for the limited food choices; we are always looking to improve and expand our menu. Your consideration of our pricing is valued, and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Solus again soon!

  • Ayesha w.3 reviews

    May 22, 2024

    9.5/10

    Very well presented and tasty dishes. Attentive service.

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you for your feedback! We're delighted that you enjoyed our well-presented and tasty dishes, as well as our attentive service. We hope to welcome you back to Solus soon!

  • Sofy K.1 review

    May 3, 2024

    10/10

    Had a lovely dinner at this hidden gem in Farringdon. The staff were very attentive and all of the food was super delicious. They had great variety of fish within the starters and the main and all was cooked beautifully. Would def come again!

    review_preview

    See photo

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you had a lovely dinner at our hidden gem in Farringdon. It's fantastic that you enjoyed the attentive service and found all the food super delicious, especially the variety of fish in the starters and mains. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solus soon!

  • linda R.2 reviews

    April 20, 2024

    10/10

    We loved the restaurant from start to finish. Welcoming staff, nice drinks, delicious food great ambience. Thank you

    Solus Kitchen & BarOwner

    Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you loved every aspect of your experience at our restaurant, from the welcoming staff to the delicious food and great ambiance. It means a lot to us that you had such a fantastic time at Solus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

  • Maria Eduarda M.

    Maria Eduarda M.3 reviews

    April 13, 2024

    10/10

    The restaurant is a hidden gem - food is amazing, service is impeccable and the place is beautiful. I went to celebrate my birthday and absolutely loved it. Try the Maldon Oysters - they’re a must!

  • Stewart M.6 reviews

    April 6, 2024

    10/10

    Fantastic food, beautifuly decorated, great service, drinks brilliant - we had a brilliant time

  • Aneta B.2 reviews

    April 6, 2024

    10/10

    The restaurant was great, nice music, food was excellent and service amazing. Had a birthday dinner. Great cocktails.

    review_preview

    See 5 photos

  • Alexia Z.86 reviews

    March 25, 2024

    8.5/10

    Cute place with great food! With the discount it is a good deal. Just keep in mind that the dessert is not part of the discounted menu. It would have been nice to be alerted in advance. Good staff; just felt like they were a tiny bit pushy for us to order drinks etc… (part of the game I guess but there are better ways to do so😛)

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Moises d.26 reviews

    March 25, 2024

    9.5/10

    Classy place with beautiful decor and wonderful background music. The food is high quality ingredients beautifully cooked and presented and the service is excellent. I loved it and I will certainly be back.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Anita P.1 review

    March 25, 2024

    10/10

    Absolutely fantastic meal - tasty nibbles, lamb and tuna mains cooked to perfection, duck, cod and pork mains delicious. Really couldn’t fault the standard of cooking, the flavours of the sauces or the food combinations. The desserts were to die for - traditional yet with a unique and original twist. Service was friendly and attentive without being overpowering and the background music complemented the ambience beautifully. An excellent evening.

  • Megan S.6 reviews

    March 22, 2024

    10/10

    Ticked boxes on every level. The service was fantastic, food was beautiful and cocktails were expertly made. Would highly recommend for a classy evening! Will defiantly come again 🤩🍸

  • Nuella D.18 reviews

    March 21, 2024

    10/10

    Honestly some of the best food and cocktails I've had in London in a while. I ordered the quail and the duck. Best decision of my life lol. They were expertly cooked and flavoured. The cocktails were made beautifully and one could actually taste the alcohol in them. I can't wait to make this place a regular spot .

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Anh H.18 reviews

    March 20, 2024

    10/10

    Great food as always. Love the decor and the service is very good. Excellent quality ingredients cooked to perfection. Highly recommend the lamb main. Would visit even at full price for a special meal.

  • Kasia S.

    Kasia S.16 reviews

    March 20, 2024

    10/10

    I love this place, the food is delicious, really good quality steak. The ambience is great and all the staff is incredible! I’ve been there multiple times and will come back!

  • Adrian R.39 reviews

    March 13, 2024

    8.5/10

    Food was amazing but the lady serving us was very moody and we did not feel welcomed.

  • Louise A.2 reviews

    March 13, 2024

    10/10

    This restaurant was an absolute goldmine of a find and I'll be going back again. I utilised the 50% off deal, but the food was more than worth it. Myself and my friend got the duck leg confit, with dauphinoise gratin potatoes and then I got the cauliflower gratin on the side. The portion size was great, and the food was extremely tasty, we were both surprised at the quality of the meal for the price we paid. Absolutely delicious meal! Staff were great, pleasant and attentive, they checked if everything was ok with our meals, didn't badger us to leave and were happy to chat to us about the venue when we asked. Highly, highly recommend for a date night, catch up, dinner - it's my new favourite place!

  • Lena D.

    Lena D.4 reviews

    March 8, 2024

    9.5/10

    Food was good, service was amazing

  • Veronika S11 reviews

    March 8, 2024

    10/10

    Lively place and atmosphere, we liked everything!!service was great and food was delicious, it was nice and quiet in a good way no noise around and pleasant music. We will be back!

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Erika C.2 reviews

    March 5, 2024

    9.5/10

    Brilliant tasting food

  • Kate S.

    Kate S.2 reviews

    March 2, 2024

    10/10

    This is great new restaurant with an ambient atmosphere and beautiful decor. The atmosphere was very welcoming and helpful. Food was nicely presented, tasty and portions were very generous. We had a lovely time and will be definitely back.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Jamie N.

    Jamie N.1 review

    March 1, 2024

    6.5/10

    Very delicious food and well served, but a bit unpleasant that we experienced obviously different uneven service attitude with another table- their jackets were taken back to the table, but we were implied to go fetch our own when leaving, also found my coat on the floor without an apology.

  • Dan C.

    Dan C.1 review

    February 16, 2024

    10/10

    This place is a hidden gem, very good food, great service and even enjoyed the background music

  • Chrystal O.6 reviews

    February 14, 2024

    10/10

    Absolutely beautiful restaurant with a wonderful atmosphere. Perfect for a date night! Good portion sizes and food was top tier. Staff were welcoming and attentive. We will be coming back to try some different dishes!

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Gloria P.2 reviews

    February 3, 2024

    9.5/10

    We waited a little bit for the food but it was amazing. Really recommend the lamb and the duck, sides are really good too!

  • Connor F.22 reviews

    January 30, 2024

    10/10

    Really, really great experience. Food was divine and service was great. Would absolutely come back.

  • Henry M.

    Henry M.1 review

    January 23, 2024

    10/10

    We attended on a Tuesday night in a large group (8 of us). We wee one of the few diners in the restaurant on this quiet night. The food was all lovely, the service friendly and knowledgeable, and the wine well chosen. It was also very fairly priced. This little gem would certainly be worth visiting again.

  • Tristan F.6 reviews

    January 26, 2024

    10/10

    This restaurant is a real surprise. We felt like we were eating somewhere vastly superior to you would be led to believe before entering. The quality of the food is not at all reflected in the prices and the service is fantastic. Eat here before it gets fully discovered.

  • Harry B.3 reviews

    January 19, 2024

    10/10

    Really impressed with Solus. The interior, atmosphere and service was excellent. Food was also very good.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

23 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.