Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Pizzeria

Reviews - Sorrento Restaurant a Taste of Italy

9.7/10
530
7-8 Ely Street, CV37 6LW Stratford-upon-AvonSee map

Average price £18

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Already 10 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 10 bookings today 🔥
Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.7/10
Excellent530 reviews
9.8/10

Food

9.8/10

Service

9.5/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Nigel W.
    Nigel W.

    October 5, 20221 review

    10/10

    Splendid Italian restaurant. Great service, good value set menu. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Rob G.
    Rob G.

    October 4, 20221 review

    10/10

    We were so pleased to find this place, perfect for a great meal before the theatre, prompt but unrushed service and great food. Would definitely recommend

  • Maggie E.
    Maggie E.

    October 1, 20221 review

    10/10

    Lovely authentic Italian in the heart of Stratford. The food was fantastic - great selection available. Every dish we had was excellent. We had all fish - anchovies, scallops, crab linguine and the most enormous giant prawns. Beautifully cooked and presented. A really good pre-theatre supper. Good value for the quality of the food we received.

  • Ian L.
    Ian L.

    September 9, 20221 review

    10/10

    This restaurant is very welcoming and friendly and has a menu with a wide range of choices, plus several specials. The menu included a meat and fish dishes. Service was excellent and our food was perfectly cooked. Our party thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

  • Sarah B.
    Sarah B.

    September 2, 20221 review

    10/10

    Fresh quality seafood beautifully cooked. Great service. Do not be put off by the slightly dated retro dècor ( white figurines etc) lovely evening had by all. Would highly recommend

  • Steve H.
    Steve H.

    September 2, 20221 review

    10/10

    The food was fantastic and the service was exemplary. We will definitely be back! 10/10

  • Kevin M.
    Kevin M.

    August 31, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent and authentic Italian food in an ideal setting. Lovely garden and good ambience. Good range and options on menu. Excellent service.

  • Angela H.
    Angela H.

    August 31, 20221 review

    10/10

    Been a few times and food and service always excellent. To sit outside on warm Wednesday afternoon was a joy and best Bellini since Italy according to my wife.

  • Stephen S.
    Stephen S.

    August 27, 20221 review

    10/10

    Best restaurant in Stratford upon Avon! Make a point of eating there every time we visit, which quite a lot!

  • Alison S.
    Alison S.

    August 26, 20221 review

    10/10

    This is a seriously good restaurant - a little gem in the heart of Stratford. We ate there last night and had one of the best meals we've had in a long, long time. I won't go into detail as it would spoil the surprise. But there's fab seafood, delicious desserts and sensational cocktails, plus the best, softest mozzarella ever. Just go, and you'll know what I'm talking about!

  • Stacie T.
    Stacie T.

    August 26, 20221 review

    10/10

    We celebrated our anniversary here and the food was brilliant. Fast service, delicious food, nice drinks and a lovely atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

  • Steve M.
    Steve M.

    August 25, 202213 reviews

    10/10

    Great Italian restaurant - have visited numerous times and never fails to impress - with food quality, choice and excellent and personable staff. Captures the atmosphere of being in Italy itself, Would highly recommend.

  • Kay F.
    Kay F.

    July 29, 20221 review

    10/10

    We have dined at many Italian restaurants over the years but Sorrentos beats them all. The food was delicious, the staff so helpful and the service was perfect. We're definitely going back for more!

  • Helen K.
    Helen K.

    July 27, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    Have been to this restaurant many times over the years and am never disappointed. The food and service is excellent. A delightful experience every time.

  • Thomas W.
    Thomas W.

    July 27, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    The food at Sorrento was wonderful and very generous. If we ever return to Stratford we would only dine there. The owner/chef really cares the customers and is a very kind man.

  • Richard F.
    Richard F.

    July 27, 20221 review

    10/10

    This family-run restaurant has a great menu and every dish we have tried is really good. The staff are super efficient and speedy, but very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble for them. A roomy dining room, with outdoor tables for the better weather, and Italian music on the background, but never too loud. It all makes for a really good dining experience!

  • Alice M.
    Alice M.

    July 23, 20221 review

    10/10

    Absolutely amazing food and the staff were very accommodating and friendly, highly recommend a visit

  • Shushana G.
    Shushana G.

    July 22, 20221 review

    10/10

    A lovely meal and great service from friendly and knowledgeable staff.

  • Pam S.
    Pam S.

    July 22, 20221 review

    10/10

    A beautiful family-run, Italian restaurant. We received a warm welcome; the menu is varied, and excellent, and includes some fabulous fish dishes. The service was excellent too. A good find, and we would highly recommend Sorrento to anyone.

  • Lidovina V.
    Lidovina V.

    July 13, 20221 review

    6.5/10

    I had spaghetti (alle) vongole, pasta was slightly overcooked, it should have been "al dente"; torta sette veli as a dessert but the texture was firmer than it should have been, probably kept at wrong temperature in the fridge. As an Italian, not too bad but it could have been much better.

  • Paul P.
    Paul P.

    July 9, 20221 review

    10/10

    What a lovely place to dine. Excellent food and service. Well worth a visit. Good menu and not costly, will definately visit again and would highly reccomend.

  • Nancy M.
    Nancy M.

    July 9, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Beautiful restaurant, bright and airy with outside dining area. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Excellent menu. Food was superb. Will definitely return .

  • Frank And Sue W.
    Frank And Sue W.

    July 8, 20221 review

    10/10

    The quality of food was outstanding with a very extensive menu, wine list and wonderful service. One of the best meals we have had in a long time. It is a shame it not closer to home so we could go more often

  • Cathy a.
    Cathy a.

    July 8, 20221 review

    10/10

    Absolutely delicious and wonderful ...ask to sit in the garden! Its a private walled and pretty area. The salad was fresh, and the cream sauce was tasty and not heavy.

  • Lizzie H.
    Lizzie H.

    July 7, 20221 review

    10/10

    The food was delicious and there was a lovely atmosphere. We enjoyed sitting outside in the sunshine! Thank you very much, would definitely recommend.

  • Paul S.
    Paul S.

    July 6, 20221 review

    10/10

    A little gem--tucked away off the main streets. Pleasant surroundings--food very good & service very efficient & pleasant. Realistically priced--would definitely revisit when back in Stratford-upon-Avon.

  • Stuart B.
    Stuart B.

    July 5, 20221 review

    10/10

    The whole experience was excellent. The staff were great and food was delicious. We will be back next time we’re in the area! The hake from the set menu and lobster tail linguini were highlights of ours.

  • Pauline T.
    Pauline T.

    July 2, 20222 reviews

    9.5/10

    Authentic Italian restaurant with excellent choices & good quality food. Staff friendly & attentive. Good choice Italian wine. Enjoyed the meal & felt good vat for money.

  • Imelda C.
    Imelda C.

    June 28, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Very nice meal. First visit and will go again.

  • Kathy H.
    Kathy H.

    June 22, 20221 review

    10/10

    Every time we visit Stratford-upon-Avon we look forward to eating at Sorrentos after discovering it many years ago. It is still run by the same family and is very friendly and efficient. The decor is very attractive and interesting and it has a pretty terrace for outside eating too on warm days. The food is always excellent so we know we will enjoy the evening.

  • Ian C.
    Ian C.

    June 21, 20221 review

    9/10

    Really nice Restaurant and the food is excellent. Varied menu and the service is good. Has some scruumy deserts! Would definitely go again when in the area.

  • David B.
    David B.

    June 17, 20221 review

    10/10

    Great food and service

  • Terence C.
    Terence C.

    June 14, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Wonderful calm experience on our anniversary. Not many people in but service top class and gentle italian music in the background. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Jane B.
    Jane B.

    June 9, 20221 review

    10/10

    Haven’t been since before lockdown, tried to walk in a few days earlier but fully booked so I was determined to get in tonight we did I booked a table and was not disappointed. You brought Italy back again & if you don’t eat deserts like me you will at Sorrento!! Excellent a fabulous experience & meal ????

  • Graham R.
    Graham R.

    June 8, 20221 review

    10/10

    Really great authentic family Italian restaurant very good menu choices and a very comprehensive large selection of interesting Italian wines

  • Anne H.
    Anne H.

    June 7, 20221 review

    10/10

    We were in Stratford for a few days holiday and ate here on our second night - a real little gem with excellent food, service amd attractive surroundings. The fact that there was a choice of grappa to round the evening off was a major plus for most of the party! Definitley on the list if we visit again

  • Paul R.
    Paul R.

    June 2, 20221 review

    10/10

    2nd time in 2 years we have eaten here 1st time towards end of covid restrictions both times great food and service

  • Nas R.
    Nas R.

    June 2, 20221 review

    10/10

    Lovely evening. Food was excellent generous portions as well. Very hot food when serviced so that was good. Good menu choices Very prompt service good wine selection. Highly recommend.

  • Suzanne A.
    Suzanne A.

    May 31, 20221 review

    10/10

    Sorrento’s is one of our favourite restaurants and we time our visits to Stratford for when they are open for lunch. Our most recent meal was once again superb, and the staff as always friendly and professional.

  • John T.
    John T.

    May 28, 20221 review

    10/10

    Sorrento screams ‘Italian’ from the outside and the interior matches that. It promised a great experience, reminiscent of some of the lovely Italian restaurants we have visited during the last 40+ years. These establishments are sadly disappearing but Sorrento matched the best we have found both at home and in Italy. Lovely fresh food, and a reasonable price. We enjoyed our lunch and will definitely return.

Tripadvisor reviews

1276 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation