Register my restaurant
Help
Chef's suggestion - Sorrento Restaurant a Taste of Italy, Stratford-upon-Avon
86 photos

Reviews - Sorrento Restaurant a Taste of Italy

9.6/10
901
7-8 Ely Street, CV37 6LW Stratford-upon-Avon
Average price £18

Reservation

Sorrento Restaurant a Taste of Italy

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.6/10
Excellent901 reviews
9.6/10

Food

9.7/10

Service

9.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersOnly people who have booked with TheFork or paid with TheFork PAY can leave a rating and review.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
  • Val Z.2 reviews

    November 30, 2023

    9.5/10

    Really loved this romantic Italian restaurant . Couldn’t fault it - red house wine so smooth and velvety . All courses flavorful and authentic and beautifully presented . Staff very pleasant and attentive . Highly recommend and will definitely return when next visiting the area .

  • Paul M.6 reviews

    November 24, 2023

    9.5/10

    expensive but beautiful food, though they really should include more vegtables

  • John L.1 review

    November 3, 2023

    10/10

    A real treat to have excellent food, service and ambiance in one place.

  • Denise M.1 review

    October 27, 2023

    10/10

    We are in Stratford-Upon-Avon for the weekend and were so glad we booked this restaurant. The food was amazing and the staff and restaurant were lovely. Would recommend it to anyone

  • Jane S.1 review

    October 27, 2023

    10/10

    First time visit whilst on weekend break with friends. Fabulous restaurant. We’ll definitely be back next year. Food service ambiance all exceptional.

  • Allan C.2 reviews

    October 26, 2023

    10/10

    GREAT FOOD, STAFF FIRST CLASS SERVICE. GREAT VALUE FOR COST OF DINNER. THE SETTING GIVES YOU THE GENUINE TASTE OF SORRENTO ITS SELF. REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR NEXT VISIT

  • sharon l.1 review

    October 14, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant , staff were really accommodating & friendly, great atmosphere, delicious food & great value for money . Would highly recommend

  • Miranda G.1 review

    October 4, 2023

    10/10

    We have been coming to the Sorrento Restaurant for over 10 years. We simply love it there for its great food, service & ambience. The staff are always efficient & friendly. We will return again as soon as we can. Highly recommend it????????

  • Deborah F.12 reviews

    September 30, 2023

    10/10

    Just a wonderful family run restaurant serving proper Italian food - the only one I have come across that does proper gnocchi like my Italian neighbour from my childhood, although it's rarely on the menu so tonight it was a must choose. Love coming here!

  • Julie C.1 review

    September 29, 2023

    10/10

    This restaurant is true to it's claim of being a taste of Italy. The food was divine the service faultless, the decor and ambience were so Italian it reminded me of a holiday at Lake Como. Loved it. Pure chance we found it on Tripadvisor whilst visiting Stratford upon Avon. Don't miss this special and memorable restaurant. The owners and staff obviously care and it shows.

  • James C.1 review

    September 21, 2023

    9.5/10

    A lovely restaurant with excellent food and service. Would recommend

  • Kenneth S.1 review

    September 13, 2023

    10/10

    First time here and it won't be the last. Great service, excellent food, a very pleasant experience.

  • Andrew C.9 reviews

    September 12, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent food and service

  • Paul H.1 review

    September 7, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely food great service, what can you ask, would recommend

  • Sara F.1 review

    September 5, 2023

    10/10

    Great traditional Italian restaurant, Food is always excellent, An Italian restaurant like they used to be with tablecloths, candlelit, elegant and romantic with beautiful food, you can't ask for more! Always eat there when we visit Stratford, for many years now and never not enjoyed it! Make sure you order the fried zucchini if appropriate with your main as a side dish, delicious, can also recommend the Chicken masala beautiful!

  • Steve K.1 review

    September 2, 2023

    9.5/10

    This was our first visit to this restaurant and we were looking forward to the meal, l have to say we were not disappointed the food was excellent. The restaurant has a relaxed atmosphere and was very welcoming. We will certainly be making another visit very soon.

  • Geoffrey K.1 review

    August 25, 2023

    10/10

    Our best meal in Stratford during our three day stay.

  • Graham M.1 review

    July 18, 2023

    10/10

    Our favourite restaurant in Stratford Upon Avon for very many years now. Great service from lovely staff and very good food. We look forward to our next visit later in the year.

  • Ferina M.1 review

    July 18, 2023

    10/10

    Second trip back to Stratford and we had to visit again. Food was beautiful can't wait for our next visit

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • David K.1 review

    July 14, 2023

    8/10

    We looked forward to eating here and it didn't disappoint. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was hot and tasty. Would certainly recommend.

  • William B.1 review

    July 13, 2023

    10/10

    Very good classic italian food from a very friendly and competent team. Would visit again

  • Jennifer B.1 review

    July 1, 2023

    9.5/10

    My husband and I really enjoyed our meals. Excellent seafood dishes with a half or full lobster on offer, fabulous deserts...very highly recommend the Profiteroles. Three different takes on pistachio cream, just wonderful. A proper Tiramisu. Service was efficient and cheerful. We will definitely return!

  • Paul M.1 review

    June 29, 2023

    10/10

    We took the kids and sat in the garden area food and drink order was quick and the food was unreal if we visit again we will be back for more great food

  • Nicholas W.1 review

    June 27, 2023

    10/10

    Found the restaurant and was very impressed with the ambiance service and quality of both the food and service.Staff were very friendly and helpful.It was my wife’s birthday so it had to be impressive and it exceeded my expectations.We will return very soon.

  • PHILIP T.1 review

    June 24, 2023

    10/10

    Amazing service Amazing food Amazing .... Great place to spend an evening. Had our anniversary there and it was nothing short of perfect. Will definitely be going again..

    review_preview

    See photo

  • david l.1 review

    June 23, 2023

    10/10

    We were pleased and surprised to have a table in the garden which was a bonus it gave a Mediterranean feel to the evening the food and service were superb

  • Deborah F.12 reviews

    June 17, 2023

    10/10

    I love this place: I am always made welcome as a member of the family, and the food is just like I remember my Italian neighbour making when I was a little girl. If you contact them in advance, they will cater for things like gluten intolerances. I usually go for something involving fish, but started with the aubergine parmigiano last night - perfect. Fish stew was packed with fish and flavour. They don't overcomplicate things. They welcome families and quietly ensure that restive children don't get in the way of staff.

  • Agnes A.2 reviews

    June 17, 2023

    9.5/10

    We love Sorrento! Always delivers the best and freshest Italian food everytime we visit Stratford Upon Avon. Staff attentive and friendly. Tip: try book garden table when the weather is good.

  • Sue A.2 reviews

    June 15, 2023

    10/10

    A warm welcome, a lovely sheltered spot in the garden , tasty food and excellent staff. Everything you could want ! It had a real Italian ambience

  • Valerie D.5 reviews

    June 14, 2023

    10/10

    Fast efficient service and super food! Even though it was very warm we had a pleasant evening. seated on the patio...............................

  • Jenny W.1 review

    June 10, 2023

    10/10

    We were elated to find this little gem of an Italian restaurant. The house made lasagna with some of the best we've ever had, as well as the caprese salad, pea soup and the over the moon tiramisu! This meal has been a highlight of our trip! We will be back!

    review_preview

    See 5 photos

  • James K.1 review

    June 9, 2023

    7/10

    A lovely evening with excellent food Slightly disappointed with slightly sloppy service we had a starter and only just finished when main course came out without clearing stuff from starter, one meal had enormous hair in it, you kindly knocked off the bill even so quite poor sorry

  • Phillip W.1 review

    June 9, 2023

    4.5/10

    Disappointing since a previous visit found it excellent. It’s slow inattentive and now and and has a as long as you pay attitude it’s fine . A comment not complaint was treated wit argument not eve n discussion

  • David R.1 review

    June 3, 2023

    10/10

    One of the best restaurants in Stratford-upon-Avon. Very good homemade classic Italian dishes - everything is good here - booking essential - steady stream of people with no booking turned away - usually a good sign in a restaurant ;)

  • Peter H.1 review

    May 27, 2023

    10/10

    Absolutely superb from start to finish. Delicious veal. The only restaurant away from Italy that serves Limoncello correctly!

  • Karl T.1 review

    May 26, 2023

    10/10

    Beautiful little place and the food / staff were amazing. Thank you for a really lovely meal.

  • Rob H.1 review

    May 25, 2023

    10/10

    Great restaurant. We have been many times in the past and will be returning many time, hopefully. Food, service and ambiance all very good. Keep it up, Sorrento’s.

  • Jane C.1 review

    May 18, 2023

    10/10

    We were just visiting Stratford in order to go to the theatre. We needed an evening meal which could serve early. What a delightful experience! The food was delicious and staff really helpful. Thank you.

  • Roger M.1 review

    May 16, 2023

    8/10

    Lovely restaurant if pricey. My meal was fine but partner could not chew her veal, teeth not up to it . Broccoli was, as per the modern trend, under cooked, almost raw again the teeth could not cope but the staff arranged for it to be improved and it was fine. Very good service at table and welcoming staff.

  • David h.2 reviews

    May 13, 2023

    10/10

    When we get the chance we make for this fantastic little gem, the welcome ambience service and amazing food who could want for more ! Dave & Margaret (York)

Tripadvisor reviews

1356 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.