Back

Reviews - Stendhal Milano

9/10

Excellent

based on 661 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Heinrich S.
    Heinrich S.
    • one review
    5/10

    The rules for social distancing were not followed with the tables arrangement and the occupancy. The drinks, Martini on ice and Aperol Spritz, were served in not typycal heavy water glasses The waiters were friendly but not trained to be considerate, by taking away empty plates before people are ready. The food is not worth the money. The fish dishes were neither good flavored nor cooked properly (salmon tartar, octopus salad, sea bass). We can't understand the rating for this restaurant. We explained the owner the situation during the dinner and he was not motivated to do something.

  2. Victoria M.
    Victoria M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great place to eat with wonderful waiting staff! Had the risotto Milanese and the gnocchi, some of the best Italian food we’ve had. Would recommend

  3. Markus H.
    Markus H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Being there frequently. Super again

    Stendhal MilanoStendhal Milano

    Thanks a lot Markus! See you soon! :)

  4. Gabriele g.
    Gabriele g.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great quality of the food (mondeghili, the real risotto alla milanese, cotoletta, etc...) in a magical atmosphere suspended in time in the heart of Milan (Piazza San Marco - Brera).

  5. Валентин Л.
    Валентин Л.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff was very professional. The english gentleman the host (probably the owner) and at the same time the sommelier was in the finest traditions of english humor has added to the great mood to the atmosphere. Delicious food! Recommend to try dishes with truffles.

  6. Nancy G.
    Nancy G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful restaurant, the waitress was very polite and service was excellent! The food was awesome! I had the best pasta from spinach with veal!! And very good wine!!

  7. Katherine K.
    Katherine K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Stendahl was absolutely fantastic. The wait staff and food were outstanding and the ambiance was second to none. I was celebrating my birthday on my own and the restaurant made the evening very special. I highly recommend a visit here if you're visiting Milan. The neighborhood was a great glimpse into more local Milan and it was quaint, filled with lovely shops & cafes. I will definitely return to this restaurant.

  8. Nadine L.
    Nadine L.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Lovely restaurant with a great environment. Great food and nice staff.

  9. MICHELE C.
    MICHELE C.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Eccellente osteria moderna. Si mangia bene, si vive Milano. Mi è piaciuta. Tanto.

  10. Roger T.
    Roger T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Attractive restaurant in a great area. The food was quite good and the service staff and owner very friendly. I highly recommend!!!

  11. Lisa L.
    Lisa L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Good food , Nice setting, a little chaotic but worth it for food . I would eat there again. We had a selection of dishes and all good quality and wine was also great.

  12. Mark-Victoria A.
    Mark-Victoria A.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food was sooo delicious!! We are plant based and it was great finding dishes already on the menu that suited our needs. Plus they made us a wonderful risotto, and the chocolate cake was delicious!! Best on Italy that we’ve had!

  13. Alexia H.
    Alexia H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Incredible atmosphere, beautifully presented and delicious classic Italian dishes, and most importantly extremely welcoming and nice staff. Highly recommend when visiting or living in Milano to take a dinner here with family and friends.

  14. Nikki W.
    Nikki W.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    We had dinner with a group (14) and the service and food were appreciated by all. Excellent cuisine, owner is charming, service friendly and accommodating.

  15. Bibissara Z.
    Bibissara Z.
    • one review
    10/10

    Super nice staff and welcoming atmosphere. Quality of food was also high. We tried different types of pasta, liked all of them. We really enjoyed the evening.

  16. Jeffry G.
    Jeffry G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The waiter was very attentive and knew the menu well, including wines. It was pricey but that was what I was looking for. :)

  17. Cora M.
    Cora M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant. The quality of the food and service is just excellent. Not super touristy. It was our best meal we had during our stay in Milan. Thank you!!

  18. Roxane B.
    Roxane B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely amazing food and lovely service. Worth booking in advance as it gets really busy on the week ends. We went on the Monday at lunch time and it was perfect.

  19. Jason s.
    Jason s.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great traditional Italian food with a touch of France. Attention to flavour details with a flair that was otherwise hard to find in Milan at this price. We went twice we were so impressed. Enjoyed talking with the manager. Attentive and friendly waiters.

  20. Dominique E.
    Dominique E.
    • one review
    10/10

    A Very welcoming place to eat. By far this has The best service around and food is fantastic! The owner has a very clear passion for food and was so helpful

  21. Hannah B.
    Hannah B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Stendhal! The food was delicious, the location very convenient and the setting worked well for couples, families or friends. Henry, the owner, was incredibly charming, made you feel right at home, and you could feel his hospitality in every detail. Loved it!

  22. Kimball F.
    Kimball F.
    • one review
    10/10

    A truly hidden gem in Milan. The maitre d’ was a perfect host for our family and teenage kids. We felt overwhelmingly welcome, and the service and food was in one single word ‘perfect’. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a non-tourist dinner and an evening of royal service.

  23. Henrik J.
    Henrik J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best pasta in town, maybe country!!! Nice staff, Good Price, best service. Would really recommend people going there and eat! Paul is the nicest guy

  24. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Classic brasserie setting and cuisine. Owner is quite attentive, professional and charming.

  25. Irwan H.
    Irwan H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food

  26. Yiqing t.
    Yiqing t.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very delicious, we had a really great time there!!

  27. Giorgio C.
    Giorgio C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Da provare

  28. Lora M.
    Lora M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    A lovely place but I expected the food to be more flavorful. My veal milanese was somewhat boring. Ratatouille appetizer was strange...had lots of carrots which are not typically an ingredient. But wait staff was attentive.

  29. Mariana M.
    Mariana M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Superb risotto Milanese and trufflepasta!

  30. Emilie M.
    Emilie M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfect evening !!!

  31. Joyce C.
    Joyce C.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Incredible!!! It was even better than 3 years ago! The owner, Henry, made everyone feel like an old friend whether a party of one or ten. The food was authentic Milanese but also offered modern choices and seasonal menus. All was of top top quality and the pacing was just right. Henry speaks English, Italian, French and Spanish fluently which helps. This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world but I’m only in Milan once every few years. Hope it just stays the way it is forever!

  32. Gioia g.
    Gioia g.
    • 39 reviews
    8/10

    Non è mai una delusione...

  33. Eric R.
    Eric R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    A great place

  34. Christopher B.
    Christopher B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful ambience, just perfect for the family celebration we planned. The food was excellent, the wine delicious and the staff very friendly

  35. Sam C.
    Sam C.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was incredible. A true Milan institution.

  36. Stephanie M.
    Stephanie M.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    My favorite restaurant in Milano.

  37. Ewa U.
    Ewa U.
    • one review
    10/10

    The beat truffle pasta ever. Be there when they open for the evening because later on it is too crowded and too much for the server to keep track .of

  38. David n.
    David n.
    • one review
    4/10

    sadly after all efforts of the owner ( think english man), very disappointing meal last night...slow inadequate service, missed several points, bread, water, warm beer. only vermentino on list was 60 euros. we ordered 3 bottles. but so expensive...pasta below average. mains average. dessterts good.

  39. Claudia v.
    Claudia v.
    • 6 reviews
    6/10

    Senza infamia senza lode

  40. Catalina C.
    Catalina C.
    • 38 reviews
    8.5/10

    The seabass wasn’t good