Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Japanese With friends

Reviews - Sushi By Gavinas

9.1/10
291
Rampa Do Lido | Nascente da, Promenade do Lido, 9000-106 FunchalSee map

Average price €15

30% off the 'a la carte' menu

Reservation

Find a table

Up to -30%

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Already 5 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 5 bookings today 🔥
Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent291 reviews
9.2/10

Food

9.2/10

Service

9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Vanessa M.
    Vanessa M.

    October 5, 20221 review

    10/10

    Ótimo atendimento ,rápido e de qualidade , comida fresca e deliciosa , diversificada !!!! Vista incrível !!! Fácil acesso . Super recomendo! Iremos voltar !!!

  • Janet W.
    Janet W.

    October 4, 20222 reviews

    8/10

    This was our second visit to this restaurant. The food was good especially the chocolate mousse which is the best I’ve had for years! The service was friendly and attentive despite being busy.

  • Lubélio F.
    Lubélio F.

    October 2, 20223 reviews

    9/10

    Nice view over the sea! Great food!

  • Luis P.
    Luis P.

    October 1, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Muito bom

  • Sandy C.
    Sandy C.

    September 27, 20222 reviews

    9/10

    We had our dinner at Terrace which has seaside view. Waiter was very nice who smiled a lot. We ordered 26 piece of sushi and Sashimi combination, Tekka maki, vegetable tempura ????, yakitori. For dessert, we had passion fruit cheesecake. Everything was yummy but size of sushi was too small. We enjoyed our dinner

  • Catia M.
    Catia M.

    September 25, 20228 reviews

    9.5/10

    Sushi ótimo. Original.

  • Susana F.
    Susana F.

    September 24, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    Ambiente maravilhoso. Comida deliciosa e super fresca. O melhor sushi da Madeira!

  • Marianne P.
    Marianne P.

    September 20, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    We have never tried Japanese food before and this, our first attempt, did not disappoint. We forgot to ask the guys name who looked after us all night. He was superb. Nothing was a big deal. Such a lovely friendly professional waiter. I hope he is paid well for his fabulous personality and enthusiasm. Food was YUMMY

  • Louise C.
    Louise C.

    September 13, 20227 reviews

    10/10

    We came here last year and loved it, it didn't disappoint, I'm vegetarian and my husband isn't we both were spoilt for choice, lots of variety and everything delious we will be back.

  • Andrei K.
    Andrei K.

    September 11, 20221 review

    10/10

    this is one of my favorite places on the island????????????????

  • Ana A
    Ana A

    September 11, 202211 reviews

    10/10

    Serviço simpático e ambiente agradável. Sushi de qualidade, recomendo!!!

  • Irene M.
    Irene M.

    September 4, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    Food was amazing! You should definitely visit! Everything was perfect we booked and table with a request and it was done for us. The service was amazing friendly and quick. And the FOOD is AMAZING. Definitely recommend ❤️

  • Ilja Z.
    Ilja Z.

    August 1, 202231 reviews

    10/10

    We were here for our anniversary and everything was perfect. Seating outside with a nice view of the ocean and cliff are really worth it. Sushi are delicious and staff is very attentive.

  • Keith P.
    Keith P.

    July 31, 20221 review

    10/10

    Great sushi one of our best meals in Madeira comes with a fantastic view!

  • Sarah C.
    Sarah C.

    July 19, 20225 reviews

    9.5/10

    Lovely, creative menu with lots of choice and everything was delicious. Very friendly staff, well worth a visit.

  • Marisela P.
    Marisela P.

    July 9, 202219 reviews

    10/10

    Melhor sushi da Madeira sem dúvida

  • Ian p.
    Ian p.

    July 3, 20221 review

    10/10

    Highly recommended amazing food and service . Amazing location

  • Ana A
    Ana A

    April 21, 202211 reviews

    9.5/10

    Sushi de qualidade num ambiente muito agradável. Recomendo

  • David W.

    April 3, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    The food and service was excellent. We went with our family and everyone left very happy. Excellent service too. The seafood was very fresh and the deep fried teriyaki prawns are a must.

  • Sónia R.
    Sónia R.

    March 31, 20221 review

    10/10

    Recomendo! Sushi muito fresco e delicioso. Uma excelente experiência, ambiente muito agradável, serviço rápido. Obrigada a Funcionária Susana. Um dos melhores sushi’s da ilha

  • José M.
    José M.

    March 24, 202242 reviews

    8/10

    Correu tudo dentro do expectável.. Espaço agradável junto ao mar, staf simpático eficiente. Em termos de refeição a comida é excelente dos melhores Japoneses na região.

  • Philip P.

    January 10, 20222 reviews

    9/10

    First time for japenese food but really enjoyed it

  • Simon B.

    October 22, 20211 review

    9/10

    Incredible. Sushi and sushimi were just amazing, beautifully presented, and great variety in the combination platter. The tempura was fantastic too. Sushi is never cheap, but for what you get and the quality of food, this was good value. I would definitely eat there again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Martim S.
    Martim S.

    October 2, 20217 reviews

    10/10

    Nada a apontar. Recomendo vivamente, desde o staff até ao sushi bem confecionado! Simplesmente fantástico.

  • Darren S.

    September 27, 20214 reviews

    9.5/10

    Good fresh sushi/sashimi, nice varied menu,, not sure about some of the fusion combinations of fruit and fish, staff accommodating and very friendly, a good meal and worth a visit.

  • Louise C.
    Louise C.

    September 9, 20217 reviews

    10/10

    Never been to a sushi restaurant and concerned as I am veggie but my husband isn't, but I couldn't of been more wrong the choice and food was superb, we had great advice from the waitress and her recommendation was spot on, will definitely be going again.

  • Catarina M.
    Catarina M.

    August 29, 202133 reviews

    7.5/10

    Bom sushi, boa vista da esplanada . Recomendo.

  • Emilie B.

    July 4, 20213 reviews

    5/10

    Nice location and service. Very friendly staff. However, the combination of the ingrediens in the sushirolls was not to my liking and not traditional. I acctually found the combinations quite wierd. The fish was in general fresh and the shashimi was nice.

  • Joana N.
    Joana N.

    June 14, 20214 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing environment and one of the best sushi restaurants around Madeira Island.

  • Ron v.
    Ron v.

    June 10, 202123 reviews

    9.5/10

    Again, wonderfull!

  • Ana M.
    Ana M.

    June 5, 202119 reviews

    8/10

    Ambiente agradável e sossegado de esplanada, próximo ao mar. Atendimento pelo profissional acolhedor e muito simpático. Pedi um menu de sushi e sashimi freestyle de 16 peças que, na minha opinião, as diferentes peças tinham tamanho adequado para sushi e estavam bem feitas e boa diversidade de ingredientes. Porém, achei que havia muito frito e podiam optar mais por braseado, colocar uma ou mais peças de sushi tradicional e uma peça gunkan. Recomendo a experiência.

  • Ron v.
    Ron v.

    June 4, 202123 reviews

    10/10

    Again, it was a very very good experience

  • Ron v.
    Ron v.

    June 1, 202123 reviews

    9/10

    Very good food and friendly service!

  • Marta L.

    May 21, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Pena só ter ido agora pela primeira vez! Recomendo! Serviço excelente complementado com a excelente qualidade de comida!

  • Sonia S.
    Sonia S.

    April 22, 202164 reviews

    8/10

    Nunca desilude

Tripadvisor reviews

21 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation