Back

Reviews Taj Mahal Authentic Indian Restaurant

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 61 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Liz F.
    Liz F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The service and food were fantastic. - great flavours and sizeable portions.. reassuringly, They had strict COVID practices in place. The atmosphere unfortunately was compromised by few numbers of diners, but this was not their fault. Overall an excellent night.

  2. Mandy L.
    Mandy L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious!! Great management of covid safety measures. Food and service was great!

    Taj Mahal Authentic Indian Restaurant

    Dear Mandy, Thanks a lot for your precious feedback. We would love to see you again. Kind Regards, Taj Mahal Team.

  3. Neil B.
    Neil B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious food and very responsive service. The wait staff was very nice and attentive and the god was among the best we have eaten. Would highly recommend and will be back when we visit again

    Taj Mahal Authentic Indian Restaurant

    Dear Neil, Thanks a lot for your precious feedback. We would love to see you again. Kind Regards, Taj Mahal Team.

  4. Peter J.
    Peter J.
    • one review
    5/10

    Ordered 2 completely different dishes. One vegetarian (Channa Masala) and one meat (chicken jalfrazie). Both had exactly the same base sauce with onions red and green capsicum. Not at all authentic.

  5. Ian W.
    Ian W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very authentic food, lovely staff! They were happy to vary the level of spiciness. good sized portions, lamb with spinach was excellent. Nice wines too.

  6. Rachel C.
    Rachel C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Very surprised to see what was hiding inside what looked to be an ordinary house. Beautiful food and service with a smile. Great value for money - no complaints here!

  7. Steve F.
    Steve F.
    • 21 reviews
    6.5/10

    The food was very good but the service was slow and a little haphazard. The waiter did tell us they were swamped with take away orders, so maybe it was a once off. The staff were friendly though, just not enough of them. The onion bhaji were fab as was the Rogan Josh .

  8. Ben G.
    Ben G.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Best Indian that we have ever eaten - highly recommend. The butter chicken and lamb korma were the standouts. Very reasonably priced and high quality and tasty food. Will definitely be back!

  9. Lisa P.
    Lisa P.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    We loved our meal. We were welcomed as soon as we entered the restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious - we had the tikka masala and Rogan josh and found them both delicious. We will definitely visit again the next time we are in Daylesford.

  10. Liz W.
    Liz W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wow. The food here is delicious. The staff are super friendly and the setting is in a converted house - very welcoming. I could've sat and ate a bucket of the beef samoosas, yum!

  11. Ruchi S.
    Ruchi S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Food, ambience, service ...everything was excellent. My kids were not very happy eating Indian food but once they went in and ate food there , we returned the next night again ????. We all just loved the food !!!

  12. Darren M.
    Darren M.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Delicious food and very reasonably priced. We had a chicken dish, lamb and beef dish, plus an èntree, large saffron rice and two garlic naan for $70. This was more than enough for two blokes.

  13. John G.
    John G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food. Best Indian I’ve ever had. Butter chicken and garlic cheese naan were so amazing. Vege samosas were very tasty, easy to cut and delicious.

  14. David W.
    David W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great Indian restaurant that I would highly recommend

  15. Steve C.
    Steve C.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Great food, will definitely return

  16. Sam D.
    Sam D.
    • 9 reviews
    6.75/10

    This is a BYO place-no alcohol served at all

  17. Tony P.
    Tony P.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food however it took 15mins before we got a menu

  18. Samantha F.
    Samantha F.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was absolutely delicious and would highly recommend people to come here

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great food, authentic and tasty. A very good find in Daylesford.

  20. Carol B.
    Carol B.
    • one review
    8/10

    From the outside it didn’t look much as it is an old home made into a restaurant but inside done out nicely and very clean . Fantastic value for money

  21. Joyee C.
    Joyee C.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    With not many options in Daylesford, the Taj Mahal is a great cheap eat. Service was great and the food was delicious.

  22. Mohan M.
    Mohan M.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent place to have tasty Indian food with good sized portions

  23. Tricia H.
    Tricia H.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    The food was excellent and service was great

  24. Thelma F.
    Thelma F.
    • one review
    7/10

    Beautiful meal in restful restaurant good service .

  25. Chris N.
    Chris N.
    • 29 reviews
    8.25/10

    Excellent service and tasty dishes in quaint surroundings. Loved it and will go back.

  26. Sharon Y.
    Sharon Y.
    • 89 reviews
    8/10

    Great goat curry and chicken vindaloo!

  27. Snezhana D.
    Snezhana D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful dining experience!

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great mango lassi

  29. Fira S.
    Fira S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great value and food throughout a diverse menu offering many proteins and vegetarian well catered for. The mix platter entree (meat) was a gem! Staff were also lovely and if I lived locally, I would be eating in very often.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    8.5/10

    One of the best Indian meals I've ever had. Great service to go with it!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8.75/10

    Very good local Indian restaurant, value for money and nice service

  32. David W.
    David W.
    • 14 reviews
    6.25/10

    The is a good find in the local area

  33. Lily K.
    Lily K.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was our anniversary so we were in the area...we had the best time..it was value for the money & the food was delicious..the service was wonderful...we will be back..

  34. Marion E.
    Marion E.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    Amazing service and genuinely interested to see if you have ordered things such as naan or forgotten which we had. We'll be back.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.25/10

    food was nice, service was very good. would definitely recommend if you are looking for this type of food in the area

  36. Mahsa H.
    Mahsa H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Delicious food, great customer service. The staff were so friendly and I had the best vegeterian curry. Loved Shahi paneer! Generally ee were very happy with the food and we are definitely going back.

  37. Vladimir N.
    Vladimir N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very satisfying experience

  38. Leigh D.
    Leigh D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Wonderful place. Great food, very clean, well laid out and welcoming environment. Service was teriffic, very friendly staff. We will come back for sure when next in town.

  39. Paul F.
    Paul F.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Great tasting food

  40. Sharon Y.
    Sharon Y.
    • 89 reviews
    7.75/10

    Very good goat masala and chicken vindaloo!