Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Spanish Romantic

Reviews - Tapas y Copas Funchal

9.1/10
159
Estrada Monumental 258, 9000-126 FunchalSee map

Average price €15

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent159 reviews
9.1/10

Food

9.1/10

Service

9.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Erica M.
    Erica M.

    October 4, 20221 review

    7.5/10

    Sítio acolhedor, bom ambiente

  • Sue K.
    Sue K.

    October 2, 20226 reviews

    10/10

    Great food and brilliant ambience with live music. Loved it.

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Sue, Thank you so much for the visit, the great review and for appreciating good music 😉 Hope to see you soon again!

  • Carolina R.
    Carolina R.

    September 28, 20224 reviews

    9.5/10

    Gostámos imenso! Muito agradável

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Súper gratos pela visita e avaliação 😉🙌🏼

  • Chris R.
    Chris R.

    September 20, 202210 reviews

    8/10

    A very pleasant meal with a difference. The plates are bigger than typical Tapas so much better for sharing, which allows for a wider variety of choice

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Chris, We are grateful for your visit and the review! ☺️

  • Marie S.
    Marie S.

    September 14, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    I really liked everything. The service was fast and professional, the food was delicious. Highly recommend ????

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Marie, we appreciate your comments, the mean so much to our team!

  • Steve R.
    Steve R.

    September 13, 202218 reviews

    7.5/10

    Traffic noise more than expected (even tho we were on the somewhat quieter 1st floor). Some of the items we had hoped to eat were unavailable.

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Steve. Thank you for your visit, we are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience, as far as traffic noise is an issue for us especially in early hours, but not much we can do abou it. As for the unavailable items, we have been so full that sometimes the do run out, we are preparing to have for quantity in the near future.

  • Tammie C.
    Tammie C.

    September 9, 202215 reviews

    10/10

    Perfect!

  • Harry F.
    Harry F.

    August 20, 20226 reviews

    9.5/10

    Great Tapas bar and relaxed vibe to it. Food is excellent and staff very attentive throughout.

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Harry, thank you so much for the visit and the great review. It means so much to us😉

  • Ann r.
    Ann r.

    August 12, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    Fabulous. No other words

  • Lukas C.
    Lukas C.

    August 9, 20221 review

    10/10

    Exceptional food and service

  • Sharon G.
    Sharon G.

    July 15, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    Faultless, one of our favourite restaurants ???? in Funchal

  • Cheryl P.
    Cheryl P.

    July 10, 20222 reviews

    8/10

    Food was lovely, Band that was playing was good. Will come back when back in madeira.

  • PETER M.
    PETER M.

    July 9, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Typical Tapas with friendly staff

  • Frank M.
    Frank M.

    July 8, 20221 review

    10/10

    Very good service and food but we made the mistake of ordering too much not realising one tapas portion could feed two people. Our mistake not theirs.

  • Jan K.
    Jan K.

    June 15, 20229 reviews

    10/10

    God mad,super service.

  • Pauline W.

    April 2, 20222 reviews

    9.5/10

    Lovely food, very tasty. Crispy shrimp and the ham croquettes were delicious. Staff were friendly and the restaurant comfortable. Will definitely return.

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Pauline, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. Hope to see you soon!

  • Bryn B.

    February 10, 20226 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely evening and food that offered something different from other places. Service was attentive. Would recommend ????????

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Bryn, The would like to thank you for your visit and kind review. Hope you keep enjoying Funchal.

  • Anne G.

    January 20, 20227 reviews

    10/10

    Love.y selection of tapas dishes to suit all tastes. We couldn’t fault any of the dishes we had. Especially recommend the chicken tacos and the veg parcel with goats cheese and honey as well as the bolo de caco garlic bread. The wine was divine too. We had 5 plates between two plus a bottle of wine and water for less than 50 euros. We will be back here before we go home

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Anne Green, Thank you so much for your visit and for the nice detailed review. T his is what we put our hearts into, and to see satisfied customers means the world to us. Thank you!

  • Susan T.
    Susan T.

    January 7, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    One of our usual restaurants when we stay in Funchal. The food is lovely but the menu has not changed since the restaurant first opened about 5 years ago. The wine on offer is excellent and reasonably priced. Our waitress was efficient but could have been a bit friendlier, as I don’t think she smiled once.

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Susan, We appreciate your visit and the fact that you come back when you ar in town. We love to see your nice review. Sorry for the non smiling waitress, she has also being with us since the beginning, we will talk to her and point your review! See you soon!

  • Phil H.
    Phil H.

    October 27, 20218 reviews

    8/10

    Tasty Tapas

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Phil, Thank you for your visit and nice review.

  • Arlene E.

    October 6, 20214 reviews

    8/10

    The restaurant was busy so the service was very slow. The portion size of each dish was more than ample for two but the quality was average. Would probably not go back again

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Dear Arlene, Thank you for your visit. We are sorry to read you probably wont come back. If you do, we guarantee you´ll have a nicer experience. Just please look for our manager João or Grecia.

  • Louise C.
    Louise C.

    September 5, 20217 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent choice we were one veggie and meat eater plenty for both of us to choose from. Great food and service. Really loved the Atlantic Rose wine!

  • André Mendes F.
    André Mendes F.

    September 3, 20211 review

    10/10

    Excelente atendimento, tapas perfeitamente bem servidas e com um sabor delicioso. Recomendo vivamente e felicidades para toda a estrutura Tapas Y Copas Funchal

  • David W.

    September 1, 20215 reviews

    4/10

    The service was poor, the staff seemed disengaged and the food was mediocre at best. It is a shame they don't have the right formula as it seems a good location for a tapas restaurant.

  • Natalie F.

    August 28, 20215 reviews

    2/10

    Food was substandard. No atmosphere at all. Very disappointed at the quality. Felt like was was eating frozen food. Definitely would NOT recommend

  • Beth C.

    August 26, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing tapas! Every dish we had we enjoyed- we really liked the crispy prawns and stuffed mushrooms. Great food and lovely staff.

  • Lauren D.

    August 10, 20211 review

    10/10

    Thank you!

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Thank you :)

  • Holly H.
    Holly H.

    July 21, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Very authentic Spanish food and very friendly employees. The gazpacho especially was delicious. Well worth the visit. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

    Tapas y Copas Funchal (Owner)

    Thank you 😉

  • Marta G.
    Marta G.

    June 26, 20216 reviews

    7.5/10

    Local bem agradável ótimo para estar com amigos ou até mesmo só. Boa selecção de vinhos e queijos. Cumpre com todas as regras de higiene e segurança.

  • Stephen A.

    October 29, 20201 review

    10/10

    Great find . Handy location for the hotels we stay in . Very clean and fresh. All the food Was great.Very flavoursome The best Garlic mushrooms I’ve had. Great value for money

  • Sally B.

    October 28, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    We both really enjoyed our meal... ordered too much thou. Prices are very reasonable, decent tapas selection. Very quick service, restaurant was clean.

  • Gemma D.

    March 10, 20203 reviews

    6/10

    Food was a little disappointing, calamari was dry and overcooked and the rest was just pretty average. Service was ok but some dishes took ages to come.

  • Nigel M.

    January 29, 20204 reviews

    9.5/10

    This is the third visit over 3 years and the food is always excellent and well presented. The service is always very efficient but just seems to lack a little bit of warmth and friendliness . Would still go back on our next visit though

  • Paul B.
    Paul B.

    September 18, 201929 reviews

    5.5/10

    All a little rushed for our liking with very little atmosphere and rather bland and stark decor. Not somewhere we would return too as there are many better places to eat in the area.

  • Charlotte B.

    August 6, 20194 reviews

    7/10

    The first time we visited was on the off chance and we were served by the gentleman with the headset, he was very attentive and the food was amazing. So we booked to go back reserving a table, however, on returning the service was much poorer, we had dishes forgotten and the food wasn’t of as good as when we had gone there the Friday before. We mentioned that we were unhappy with one if the dishes and the waiter did nothing, they then completely forgot a dish. Think it’s nice, but one of those hit and miss places.

  • Jochen H.
    Jochen H.

    July 13, 20195 reviews

    10/10

    A rally very good Tapas restaurant at Funchal. We enjoy the great meal and the service realy. TOP Restaurant at Funchal. Special the chicken with sesam *****

  • - -

    May 5, 20191 review

    10/10

    Muito bom!

  • Alan S.

    February 28, 201914 reviews

    9.5/10

    Lovely food in a road side location. We ate outside and the road noise did not bother us. There is a very nice indoor seating area. All the dishes we had were cooked to perfection. The chicken skewers and potatoes with Ali oil stood out. We booked via Tripadvisor and got a nice discount on the billl.

  • - -

    January 6, 20198 reviews

    10/10

    Super food!! And service! We really enjoyed our evening, I can recomend the iberico ham with chees and nuts! And the churros was to die for!!! :-)

  • - -

    October 7, 20181 review

    10/10

    Excellent staff, setting and food. A five star service. Would highly recommend.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation