Back

Reviews - Taste of Bollywood - Hindmarsh

9/10

Excellent

based on 73 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Courtney M.
    Courtney M.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Extensive vegetarian options. All meals were really delicious. Service was slow but the restaurant was really busy and staff were apologetic for the long wait. Will return in the future.

  2. Kerri Y.
    Kerri Y.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    One of the best Indian joints in town. Garlic Tikka was delicious, so is the Fish Fry. Both were very flavourfull with distinctive flavours. We had the Lamb Rara Punjabi and complemented the meal with a Tandoori Naan topped with Cheese. Both these had just the right level of heat without it being overpowering. Will definitely return to try their other dishes.

  3. Victor O.
    Victor O.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Finally a vegetarian vindaloo that brings the heat, we’ll be back!

  4. Matt c.
    Matt c.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful food, great service & a pleasant atmosphere.

  5. Bhavna A.
    Bhavna A.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    We had a very nice experience at the restaurant. Everything we ordered was made to taste and absolutely loved the paneer butter masala. Service was excellent as well. I highly recommend Taste of Bollywood!

  6. Amy C.
    Amy C.
    • 21 reviews
    8.5/10

    Dined here for the first time last night. Mixed non vegetarian platter was delicious! Hubby’s goat dish was tasty but we were surprised that the meat was still attached to the bone... bit odd. My dish was Fish Malabar, the fish was cooked perfectly but I feel a bit of warning could be given to how spicy it is... seriously hot! Background music would have been nice too :)

  7. Kate N.
    Kate N.
    • 9 reviews
    7.5/10

    Thomas restaurant seemed very popular, especially with Uber Eats. THE food was tasty - the prawns were large and the best dish. Salad was OK - had a lot of pepper on it. Took away a butter chicken which was nice

  8. Kim B.
    Kim B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    great food, attentive efficient service, very comfortable atmosphere

  9. Mary N.
    Mary N.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Service was great. We were running late and it wasn't an issue. Food was good too, I really liked the lamb korma. I also recommend the mango lassi! Not too sour.

  10. Kerri Y.
    Kerri Y.
    • 12 reviews
    7.5/10

    We had to wait a bit for someone to seat us, althought the restaurant was only occupied by one table, however food was quick to be served and what arrived at our table was fresh and delicious. Will be back to try their other dishes.

  11. Peter K.
    Peter K.
    • 46 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent Indian at good prices. Friendly service and nice decor. Wine list very reasonably priced

  12. Robert H.
    Robert H.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Been here before & the food is always good. Great service, authentic Indian atmosphere & great tasting food. Will definitely be going back. Highly recommended!

  13. Claire R.
    Claire R.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Really enjoyed our first experience with the Taste of Bollywood, extensive menu list to choose from and our choices did not disappoint. Service was extremely good and we were not left waiting for service. The restuarant was very clean and COVID sanitiseing was completed properly when client s left.

  14. Alyssa H.
    Alyssa H.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Friendly service, great portion sizes and delicious too for both kids and adults. Thank you!

  15. Louise H.
    Louise H.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    The food and service were great, unfortunately the migi flies that lingered around our food and table detracted from our overall experience.

  16. Steve C.
    Steve C.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Been here many times. Never dissapointed. Great food. Will continue to eat here when we are in the area. Vindaloo spot on with the heat. Tried lots of dishes. All been great.

  17. WK W.
    WK W.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great service on top of excellent food, one of the best places for Indian cuisine in Adelaide.

  18. Caroline D.
    Caroline D.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Friendly staff who were happy to provide food suggestions. The food was delicious and take home leftovers is always a bonus. Keep up the good work guys

  19. Rita P.
    Rita P.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Taste of Bollywood is a local treasure. Good food, kind, authentic people and great value. I’ll certainly be visiting more often.

  20. Michelle S.
    Michelle S.
    • 24 reviews
    9/10

    Good was really tasty. Great Indian flavours. Service friendly and nice. Would recommend and will be coming back. Prices good value .

  21. Shane K.
    Shane K.
    • 14 reviews
    8/10

    Nice friendly staff, great servings and very clean. We went early so not many diners but also no background music so was very quiet. Will visit again!

  22. Tanya Z.
    Tanya Z.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The food was fantastic, although limited variety spice wise for children. The service was great, they knew exactly what to recommend and portion size to suit our family. However it is very quiet, a bit of music in the background would have made our dining experience perfect. Will definitely go back though, the food....wow!!!

  23. Martin Z.
    Martin Z.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Food was awesome, good size meals and service was good but there was only one waitress attending to table and she was run off her feet. Needs music

  24. Penny s.
    Penny s.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice food, beautiful gravy but poor quality fish. Service could be quicker.

  25. Deana B.
    Deana B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Smell as I walked in the door was amazing. Hungry immediately. Food was tasty and fresh. Staff are friendly.

  26. Helena H.
    Helena H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had a great meal and excellent service. Have been before and the staff remembered us and we had a great conversation with the owner. We were able to taste the wine as he recommended a New Zealand wine in preference to the Adelaide Hills bottle and he was SO right! They checked that we were happy with our meals. We love Indian and the quality of the meals was excellent. Will return!

  27. Robert H.
    Robert H.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Great venue for food before a show. Excellent food & service. Will be going back.

  28. Velma B.
    Velma B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Taste of Bollywood is a great place to go if you enjoy curries, Naam bread etc. Lots of choices of curries - lamb, chicken, beef, vegetarian. The service is friendly and non-intrusive. They use linen table cloths and serviettes. It is a great dining out experience (forget those uncomfortable fast food places). And it is very affordable. I can’t wait to go there again! They also do a very reasonable price for lunch. Go on! Give your palette a treat.

  29. Kymberly W.
    Kymberly W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and no skipping on portion size great atmosphere. Staff was superb very polite. 9 people in a banquet and we still had to take multiple doogie bags home. Great value for money.

  30. Chris K.
    Chris K.
    • 9 reviews
    9.75/10

    Delicious food, good service and great location a very short walk to the Entertainment Centre.

  31. Katherine H.
    Katherine H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    It was a pre show dinner so an event menu, food was very nice and served in a timely manner. Very close to the venu would recommend

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    5.75/10

    Very average food - mediums were so mild, there was no heat, whatsoever. The vegetable curry was bland & disappointing. They were booked out due to an event close by so told us that the items on the Specials board were not available. Note on menu also says they do not accept discount vouchers on 'event nights' which given their proximity to the Entertainment Centre suggests that is the case, more often than not.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8.5/10

    Didn't have my booking which is always annoying. But food and service were great. Generous portion sizes. Would happily return

  34. Amy M.
    Amy M.
    • 4 reviews
    8.75/10

    Local gem, one of the best Indian restaurants in Adelaide!

  35. Robert H.
    Robert H.
    • 12 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent Indian food and a great dinner stop before the entertainment centre.

  36. Danielle D.
    Danielle D.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    great food at very good prices. Lovely atmosphere

  37. Richard J.
    Richard J.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good service and friendly staff.

  38. Samela H.
    Samela H.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Very willing, hospitable restaurant. Decent curries albeit a tendency to cream.

  39. Aldo L.
    Aldo L.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    We booked here before seeing a show at the Entertainment Centre. Not only is it next door to tne Ent Cent, they are fully prepared for pre-show diners, including a pre-show special consisting of an entree, a main, rice and naan which was excellent value for money. There for four of us, so we had four of the pre-show specials and couldnt finish it all. Excellent value for money and the food was fantastic. Will definitely book again for the next concert!

  40. Peter L.
    Peter L.
    • 22 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent Indian cuisine