Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

This restaurant is not bookable on TheFork.

Here are some alternatives you might enjoy:

Loading interface...
Loading interface...
Loading interface...
Loading interface...

German Good for groups

Reviews - The Bavarian Macarthur

200 Gilchrist Drive, 2560 Campbelltown (NSW)See map

Average price A$45

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Cannot be reserved on TheFork

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Clare D.

    March 5, 20211 review

    10/10

    The staff were prompt, the food delicious and the ambience was great! Not too loud to talk but not too quiet either We had Jagerschnitzel, share platter and mac and cheese balls with mango beer - really fantastic would go again

  • Skye C.
    Skye C.

    February 26, 20218 reviews

    10/10

    Tasty food, great service and cold beers. A great place to eat in the Macarthur area.

  • Greg T.

    February 21, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Great service, friendly staff. Food was delicious and plentiful. I thought the price of some items was a bit excessive e.g. $2 for a tiny extra scoop of ice cream. would go back again though.

  • Gavin R.

    December 31, 20201 review

    10/10

    The service was exceptional and we had our dinner served very promptly which is great when you have three kids at the table. They didn’t even have time to ask how long until the food came as it was served within 20minutes and they were kept occupied with the colouring in offered by the waitress. They had a designated COViD 19 Marshall which helped us to feel more confident about dining out at a restaurant. Overall wonderful experience

  • Debbie P.

    December 27, 20201 review

    4/10

    The food was substandard, I was disappointed with the menu and will not be returning. No veal schnitzel, no potato salad no gravy . The menu belonged in a cheap pub and was not German at all

  • Yovita W.

    November 25, 20201 review

    5.5/10

    The food is over priced. The food taste is not good, either too salty or too sweet. The salt and paper squids is ok. I don't think I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Alicia Garcia A.

    November 14, 20201 review

    9/10

    Food is good but bit salty. The staff are helpful and courteous but too long to wait for orders. Covid safe, had to register and contactless ordering and paying.

  • Paul V.

    November 8, 20201 review

    8/10

    Good staff and ordering was easy with the QR code at the table. Food was received in good time. I'm glad we booked as the restaurant filled up quickly.

  • Donna S.

    November 7, 20201 review

    10/10

    Absolutely wonderful the staff are awesome helpful attentive, the food was great really great, the service too notch. Highly recommend the place

  • Paula s.

    October 31, 20201 review

    10/10

    Our favourite restaurant is the Bavarian Service is impeccable & a very good choice offered on menu , something for everyone.A very safe covid restaurant taking all precautions.

  • Chinelle w.

    October 24, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Good service and food. Welcome atmosphere and staff were really helpful given current pandemic. Reasonably priced and good quality and portions.

  • Daniela A.
    Daniela A.

    October 21, 20204 reviews

    10/10

    Great place to have dinner and drinks with friends. Staff were very friendly and super helpful. The food was very flavourful and well presented.

  • Heather M.

    October 4, 20201 review

    10/10

    Food is always delicious, well priced and great portions. Trendy, clean atmosphere. Service is fantastic even for a group booking. Staff is friendly and accommodating.

  • Andrew D.
    Andrew D.

    September 27, 20201 review

    5.5/10

    Tried The Bavarian for somewhere new for our wedding anniversary. Staff were friendly, welcomed & seated very quickly (thanks Covid). Ordered & food arrived quickly (restaurant was less than 1/4 full). Food was mediocre at best, kids cheeseburgers weren't cooked through & meals weren't finished as a result. Chicken Parmigiana tasted like it had been microwaved to melt the cheese on top, couldn't bring myself to finish it off. Wife had the pork knuckle, it looked OK, but again wasn't finished, Eldest daughter had the 1/2 rack of ribs, she seemed to enjoy them, only complaint about them is they seemed a small serving.

  • Sarah F.
    Sarah F.

    July 12, 20201 review

    6/10

    The staff in entry were great, ordering proved a little tricky as the new tap and order wasn't working. The wings were super small, albeit tasty. The salad was at beat disappointing!!! In fact it was mainly leaves.....if I had wanted that I could have bought a bag of leaves..........rippes off

  • Beate T.
    Beate T.

    July 11, 20202 reviews

    7/10

    The Bavarian as we know it has changed in authenticity of the food. Service was excellent just the food was fairly disappointing. The Sauerkraut and Rotkohl where to soft tinned, or out of a jar. Same with the mash I think it was Powdered mash and the Schnitzel was fried very greasy. Me as a German I know my food so I may be a little more harsh but food was nothing we are use too from the Bavarian.

  • Ann P.
    Ann P.

    June 28, 20209 reviews

    7.5/10

    I thought the quality of the food was not as good as usual. Smaller servings, pork knuckle a little old and dry. The Sunday loading was also unexpected and disappointing.

  • Lucy D.
    Lucy D.

    June 7, 20203 reviews

    10/10

    This restaurant is a great addition to Macarthur. The staff always provide prompt and friendly service and the food never disappoints. Highly recommend if looking for a place to dine that offers a variety of beverages and food.

  • Kate S.

    March 20, 20201 review

    10/10

    We throughly enjoyed our food, the service was fine and the beer was great. The Germans amongst us was lavis with praise. We’ll be returning when we can

  • Stephen K.

    March 13, 20201 review

    5.5/10

    Very noisey, we werent offered a place to sit when their was plenty of quieter spots to eat. Weird combination of flavours in mains. When you Go out to eat and are disappointed it’s puts ya off especially when you can cook better bolder taster dishes at home. Sorry- just being honest. We won’t be back! Service was great tho Well done staff!

    The Bavarian Macarthur (Owner)

    Hi Stephen, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience. If you would like to discuss your visit with us in more detail please feel free to contact me on the email address below. We would love to have you back here so we can make your experience a memorable one. Thank you The Manager Bavarian Macarthur Square jgreenwood@thebavarian.com.au

  • James W.

    February 27, 20201 review

    8.5/10

    The food was really good, and the atmosphere exactly how you would find a bustling bier hall in Austria or Germany. The kids were entertained with colouring in sheets and crayons, so the restaurant is definitely child-friendly.

  • Ink B.
    Ink B.

    February 26, 20201 review

    8/10

    Nice foods plus awesome 50% discount

  • Socheatta K.

    February 21, 202014 reviews

    10/10

    Big servings which makes it's a bit more worth it for the price and also considering it's all meat. Beers are always good and service was great! Would recommend coming here.

  • Jeff S.
    Jeff S.

    February 19, 202012 reviews

    6.5/10

    Ok it’s our 3rd visit and only because of the 50% deal. This time the food was actually good. The first two times was close to rubbish. The place is almost empty, I think due to its poor quality food, but it still took ages for someone to offer us a drink. Might I add some of the dearest alcohol in Campbelltown. $25 for a 1ltr beer is nuts. We need this place to be good, mustangs failed, this place is going the same way. This is part of a large chain, surely they can do it right and not just try and milk the locals for all it’s worth

  • Beverley M.

    February 16, 20201 review

    8/10

    The food was delicious. Huge servings. We feel it was very expensive and getting an $18 Sunday surcharge was a nasty surprise. Staff were friendly and efficient

  • Anne f.

    February 6, 20201 review

    8/10

    Excellent food and reasonable prices. No table service if you sit outside - disappointing as it was quieter outside. Bench seats uncomfortable and heavy to move in and out.

  • James W.

    February 6, 20201 review

    9/10

    The food was as hearty and tasty as you would expect from bavarian cuisine. Service staff were lovely and nothing was to much hassle. The Bavarian made my daughter's 21st a night to remember.

  • David M.

    February 1, 20201 review

    7.5/10

    Nice atmosphere and the food and drinks were great. Food was brought to the table surprisingly quick. Live music was too loud making it difficult to hear the others at the table.

  • Socheatta K.

    January 31, 202014 reviews

    10/10

    Great atmosphere, good for families, beer was amazing and food was spectacular! Service was also very good. Staff were very friendly and attentive and the person playing the accordion was very friendly and funny. Was definitely recommend coming here!

  • Ann P.
    Ann P.

    January 27, 20209 reviews

    6/10

    We have been here many times and always happy with the food and service, but tonight the service could have been better. The waiting staff needed to be more attentive and at least appear that they happy to be there.

  • Josephine C.

    January 10, 20201 review

    10/10

    Great atmosphere , waitress was very friendly ‘and was very patient with us explaining what was on the menu as it was our first time. Plenty of food with lots left over !We will definitely be back some other time!

  • Stephanie N.

    January 2, 20201 review

    10/10

    Amazing food and amazing service. Food was hot, fresh and very tasty. We had a share plate and could not fault anything on the plate. The staff were all so wonderful. Very lovely and welcoming.

    The Bavarian Macarthur (Owner)

    Hi Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Petra

  • Srishti M.

    December 28, 20191 review

    9.5/10

    Everything was great. Service was fast. Food was great. Even the man playing the accordion was great. Seats were slightly uncomfortable but otherwise it was a great experience

    The Bavarian Macarthur (Owner)

    Hi Srishti, Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards, Petra

  • Clare M.

    December 27, 20191 review

    10/10

    Excellent meal. Great pork knuckle and massive platter, maybe a little too much salt... . Wies beer sooo good. Waitress Jennifer very friendly and quick. Great night.

    The Bavarian Macarthur (Owner)

    Hi Clare, Thank you for your great feedback. We love Jennifer too :-) Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards, Petra

  • Debbie G.
    Debbie G.

    December 21, 20191 review

    6.5/10

    Small meals, not what we expected compared to other German restaurants. Very expensive for what we got. A bit disappointed. Staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Daniel F.

    December 13, 20191 review

    10/10

    Great vibe, quick service, attentive staff, and a live musician! The platter for two was well ample for us, we didn’t think it would be enough but it turned out to be a generous platter for two hungry blokes! Good selection of German beers too! We’ll be back!

  • Cheryl C.

    November 30, 20194 reviews

    10/10

    Great service our meals arrived quickly, the staff were friendly. Our server Jasmine was excellent.

  • Amy J.
    Amy J.

    November 29, 20194 reviews

    7.5/10

    Service was great, the staff were welcoming and efficient. There was someone playing the accordion, so between this and the general noise it was quite loud so was hard to have a conversation across the table.

  • Moana S.
    Moana S.

    November 23, 20191 review

    8/10

    Service and atmosphere was great, the food was good, ???? was outstanding!

  • Joanne B.

    November 19, 20191 review

    8/10

    We came here for dinner before a movie it was fairly busy but staff were very helpful and friendly. The meals were a great size and tasty. Would definitely come back again.

Tripadvisor reviews

28 Tripadvisor Reviews

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.