Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Castell Mynach

8.8/10
109
Llantrisant Road, CF72 Pontyclun
Pizzeria
Average price £25

The Castell Mynach

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.8/10
Fabulous109 reviews
9/10

Food

8.8/10

Service

8.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Valerie L.1 review

    November 4, 2023

    6.5/10

    Previously been here which was great but I had the fish and chips and found the chips were soggy and the fish although nice had an enormous amount of batter. Disappointed with the food which I found very expensive as well. I wouldn’t recommend at this time.

  • Linda S.1 review

    September 30, 2023

    5/10

    Found a long strand of hair in the pie. Brocolli stems were soggy & cold. Crème brûlée was like cold runny custard. Very disappointing. Ve

  • Jenna W.1 review

    September 13, 2023

    9.5/10

    The staff were so kind and welcoming. Lovely food. Can't wait to go back

  • William S.1 review

    August 12, 2023

    9/10

    The food is nothing short of magnificent. The tastiest, yummiest meals in the whole of the Cardiff area. Usually, the staff are all very warm, friendly and helpful. We, for some reason had a waitress today that was a bit below par in not being warm or friendly. Service takes a long time. It was an hour between the appetiser and the main meal. But most of the staff are fabulous, and the food is far beyond excellent. It was also a tad too noisy, but it isn't always like that. It is the luck of when you are there, I guess.

  • neil a.1 review

    July 23, 2023

    9.5/10

    The service along with the meal was superb. I would highly recommend . The only slight downside to our visit was that the dogs were allowed in around our table. I would like to think that a certain area be reserved for people attending with animals as not everyone is an animal lover.

  • Vikki T.1 review

    February 17, 2023

    5/10

    Booked through the website but my booking wasn’t there when I arrived - apparently they’re having problems with Fork booking system since before Christmas… yet it’s still available to use this booking system through their website. Waitress was stressed, a table and chairs had to be found for us and was put in a little corner. Starters were awful - soggy breadcrumbs around the Camembert, and really bad tasting. Mains were nice. Apologetic for everything but we won’t go back.

  • Gillian M.1 review

    February 12, 2023

    6/10

    Very expensive for what we had

  • John H.5 reviews

    July 20, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent greeting on arrival and first class service. The meal was delicious too. Would definitely book again.

  • Gerald J.1 review

    November 22, 2021

    10/10

    Very happy with the quality and service. ...................................................................................................................................

  • Andrea J.

    Andrea J.1 review

    November 14, 2021

    10/10

    Have visited this restaurant previously and always found the food to be top quality. Always fresh and hot! Reasonably priced as well. Would recommend.

  • Sarah O.1 review

    November 11, 2021

    10/10

    We attended for my sons birthday as a party of 5. We were seated quickly although we arrived a little early. The waitress was more than helpful and the food was lovely, all 5 of us thoroughly enjoyed our mains and deserts. Priced very reasonably and worth every penny. We will be back again.

  • Kathryn B.1 review

    November 9, 2021

    4/10

    Only 2 vegetarian options & one wasn’t available which was a burger that was very disappointing wouldn’t recommend this restaurant or revisit

  • Carol B.1 review

    November 4, 2021

    7/10

    My husband and I booked a table for 18.00hrs but arrived early and, pleasingly, were shown to our table immediately. A decent menu offered plenty of choice. We had onion rings and the garlic cheese mushrooms tonstart. The latter were delicious but the onion rings were a little pale for our liking. For mains, I opted for the puy lentil lasagne and hubby went for the belly pork. Mine was served with salad and was perfectly acceptable. My husband's meal was very tasty but the mashed potato was only tepid at the outer edge. The waitress happily change the potato - all good. We rounded the meal off with some liquer coffees. All good. Will return, soon.

  • Angharad D.1 review

    October 31, 2021

    10/10

    The food was delicious and well presented, the staff and service was fantastic and my friends and I had a lovely time. Will definitely be returning here very soon.

  • Ron M.4 reviews

    October 28, 2021

    7/10

    Hi it may not be the right place to mention but I asked the Manager about “Yums” She had no idea what I was talking about. I also stated that I book through the fork but cannot access any deals. As I stated before I live near Cardiff . The capital of Wales. Yet there is nowhere within 50 miles where I can access the deals which you keep advertising .What is the point in being able to book through you but cannot access the deals. Regards Ron Murphy

  • Elaine G.1 review

    October 25, 2021

    8/10

    Very nice food service a little slow but that was no problem as we were not in a hurry

  • Ron M.4 reviews

    October 14, 2021

    7.5/10

    Considering we had early booking so restaurant was quiet the service was slow and food not very hot

  • Margaret H.1 review

    October 22, 2021

    9.5/10

    We enjoyed a relaxed meal with friends here. The food was very good quality and very nicely presented. The service was efficient but unrushed and friendly.

  • Ron M.4 reviews

    October 5, 2021

    6.5/10

    Considering we had a booking at 5pm when it was very quiet, the service was very slow

  • Mike S.1 review

    October 11, 2021

    10/10

    Always friendly staff. Menu was very varied. Prices are everyday acceptable. All round a great dining experience. Highly recommended to everyone

  • Deborah J.1 review

    October 6, 2021

    10/10

    My sister in law and I went to this restaurant for lunch. Booking was easy, the welcome was great, environment was lovely, comfortable and welcoming. Food was really good and prices were fair, we will definitely be back, thank you

  • John H.5 reviews

    September 28, 2021

    8.5/10

    Really pleasant visit and good food. Excellent ambiance too….

  • Jolene A.1 review

    September 21, 2021

    5.5/10

    Lovley place but wasn't overly impressed with the food or service. The starter (soup) was warm on top but cold at the bottom. The wrong food order was brought to our table so 1 person had food while the other 2 had to wait. The side orders had to be asked for and when they came they were very grease and on the soggy side. I was almost finished my food before the 2 other plates were brought. By this time we were rather dissatisfied so didn't bother to have dessert. I've not been here for a while and if I'm honest I won't be in a rush to go back.

  • Wendy D.1 review

    September 16, 2021

    10/10

    Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful choice on the menu and the food did not disapoint, ????.

  • Linda W.1 review

    September 9, 2021

    9.5/10

    We had a very tasty meal here, all 4 of us finding our dishes delicious for both courses. Service was very friendly too. The decor is very calming. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Rebecca G.1 review

    September 9, 2021

    10/10

    Wonderful food, great staff, good value for money. Would defiantly re-visit. Fishcakes were delicious!!

  • Hayley J.1 review

    September 8, 2021

    10/10

    Amazing service, amazing food and amazing atmosphere. Will be returning! The staff are very helpful and polite. Everything was clean and tidy. It was a really nice meal for my family.

  • Rosemary E.1 review

    September 6, 2021

    10/10

    Nice to see happy friendly faces on the staff the service was excellent and the food delicious surroundings clean and very pleasing

  • Alex O.1 review

    August 27, 2021

    7.5/10

    We have been wanting to visit for months and I am glad we did. The food was lovely. Chicken and Mushroom pie was huge, the hand made fish cakes were cooked to perfection. Starters were ok nothing to write home about. Sticky toffee pudding could have been a little bigger. All in all lovely meal and evening. Surprised it was not busier on a Friday at 1900. Will be going again for Sunday Lunch.

  • Janet E.1 review

    August 28, 2021

    5.5/10

    Simple menu but Nice food Staff friendly Prompt service Toilets not the most hygienic- dirty tissues on the floor and around the sink Pleasant outside seating area

  • Peter J.2 reviews

    August 13, 2021

    10/10

    Stunning Food Lovely Staff. We will be back.

  • Wendy W.1 review

    August 13, 2021

    9.5/10

    Service was good and had everything that we ordered without any issues and quite quickly. Good local place to eat with reasonable prices and varied menu.

  • Karen S.1 review

    August 11, 2021

    10/10

    Amazing food great price, lovely atmosphere x

  • Angela S.1 review

    August 11, 2021

    9.5/10

    Interesting and varied seasonal menu. Delicious food. Excellent value. Attentive & pleasant staff.....................................

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Rhian J.1 review

    July 30, 2021

    8.5/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Food was great and service was excellent. Have been to the Castell Mynach several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Fay F.1 review

    July 28, 2021

    10/10

    Lovely afternoon, with friends, nicely presented, tasty food.. Staff very friendly and helpful. Menu list limited in relation to diet restrictions so staff kindly checked out alternative options with the chef. This was very much appreciated.

  • Chris W.1 review

    July 25, 2021

    10/10

    Great pub, excellent service, friendly staff. Would definitely return, will try the food too as we only had a couple of drinks. Had a lovely evening there. Thank you very much

  • Peter J.2 reviews

    July 14, 2021

    9/10

    Not been to the Castell Mynach for quite a while. Food was absolutely stunning. Staff were fantastic. Can’t wait to go back. Real value for money

  • TRACY-JANE B.1 review

    July 10, 2021

    10/10

    Lovely food. Very helpful and friendly staff. They were extremely accommodating as we had a disabled family member. Will definitely visit again

  • Susan T.2 reviews

    July 8, 2021

    10/10

    We had a most enjoyable meal. There was a varied menu, plenty of choice. Service was friendly and very efficient. A good atmosphere. We will most certainly be returning again soon.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

730 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.