Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Cuckoo

8.7/10
130
20 Oundle Road, PE7 Peterborough
Pizzeria
Average price £27

The Cuckoo

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.7/10
Fabulous129 reviews
8.9/10

Food

8.6/10

Service

8.6/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Mary F.1 review

    May 17, 2024

    8/10

    Having read reviews and not having been for a meal for a long time, we were uncertain about the quality of evening ahead. Thankfully we had a nice evening with good food and attentive service. sadly the vegan curry wasn't available and we took the last vegan burger as an alternative - so attention to supply and demand would be an area for improvement. But the sea bass was delicious as was the mini pudding - but again, sadly no decaff coffee available. Will certainly visit again.

  • Karen T.3 reviews

    March 22, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent food and service, would highly recommend you to anyone See you again soon

  • Barbara M.1 review

    January 19, 2024

    7.5/10

    Warm welcome and lovely decor. The menu looked good. The prawn cocktail was disappointing, lettuce leaves not cut up, very little sauce and the butter for bread was so cold it was unspreadable. The skin on the sea bass had no crispiness at all. The pie is not a pie, stew with filo pastry lid. The torte dessert was lovely but the crumble looked to be jam with a crunchy top. On the plus side, the brie and the chips were great as was the coffee, even the decaf.

  • Sue B.1 review

    January 17, 2024

    9.5/10

    We sat in the dining room where the atmosphere was a little cold, it would have been more cosy in the other areas. Everything else about our visit was lovely.

  • Colin O.2 reviews

    December 9, 2023

    4/10

    We have been to The Cuckoo several times, but todays visit was a disaster! Service was so slow. The food was at best warm when it did arrive. The bill had a 10% service charge added, however I didn't get the bill until after I had paid via the card terminal, so I ended up paying a tip and a service charge for a mediocre meal. Overall not a great experience.

  • DAPHNE MAY R.2 reviews

    November 3, 2023

    10/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed the evening with my family. good food, comfortable table, good ambiance have booked two more visits in the near future but cannot find the money off vouchers I should have received.

  • Tanya M.1 review

    October 28, 2023

    6.5/10

    Nice ambience. Lovely waitress. Food was nice quality but not anything out of this world. Chicken pie was massive. Haddock felt like a thin, half fillet which was disappointing. We were never asked for drinks top up.

  • Neil S.1 review

    September 2, 2023

    5/10

    The service was poor and very slow, we had to ask for table water twice and empty glasses and bottles were not taken away until we asked for them to be removed

  • DAPHNE MAY R.2 reviews

    August 17, 2023

    10/10

    We really enjoyed our meal and the setting with all the small areas was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome, our waitress was superb everything lead to a super evening with our friends. I only have one gripe and that is there was only one disabled parking space and that was taken. I had to park in the furthest most part of the car park and walk into the Inn, not easy when you find walking difficult.

  • ADAM R.2 reviews

    August 3, 2023

    9.5/10

    Really nice e meal. Friendly staff and quick service. The lunchtime fixed menu is excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • REDVERS STUART M.1 review

    June 25, 2023

    8.5/10

    Food was good service exceptional our waitress Cerris was very attentive and looked after us well, All in All would recommend and we shall be returning

  • Stephen I.1 review

    May 27, 2023

    4.5/10

    A busy pub that was understaffed when we visited. We waited over half an hour to get a drink and when the good arrived it was not up to standard. A pasta dish was returned but this took too long as the waitress was elsewhere. My eggs were dried out and other dishes looked as if they had been standing around. Did not even bother trying to get a sweet.

  • Helen S.1 review

    April 26, 2023

    9/10

    Our waitress was fab, sat quickly, drinks order taken within 10 minutes, food order, 5 minutes later, food came out fast but was delicious and hot X Drinks came quickly, we were in and out for 2 courses each plus drink in 75 minutes, by the time we left it was packed, the staff were very efficient and handled the busy restaurant like pros.

    review_preview

    See 4 photos

  • Alex C.8 reviews

    April 17, 2023

    8/10

    Always a good outlet/location, but the menu were limited..... and 'out of stock' lines.... at the start of the week (a Monday PM visit).

  • Lisa S.1 review

    March 30, 2023

    10/10

    It was the perfect atmosphere for a farewell lunch with colleagues. Food and service was fantastic. We were seated by the fire and had a lovely time.

  • Wendy F.2 reviews

    March 9, 2023

    9/10

    The staff were friendly and welcoming, the venue is attractive and the food was lovely.

  • STEVE R.1 review

    January 14, 2023

    10/10

    Visited whilst staying in the area on holiday. We found the restaurant to have a lovely setting, with fantastic food and attentive staff. Recommend!

  • Lindsey A.16 reviews

    September 11, 2022

    7.5/10

    The meal was OK, starter and main. Had a better meal in the past .

  • Steve H.1 review

    September 7, 2022

    9.5/10

    The staff were very welcoming, attentive and friendly. I felt like the young girl who served us was new, but only because she seemed unsure of herself, but she still did an excellent job. The food was beautiful, not overly expensive. Would recommend a would happily return myself.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Nicola C.1 review

    August 28, 2022

    6.5/10

    There were customers in there which had bad language but nothing was done about it and my husband chocolate brownie was hard and burnt.

  • Steve L.2 reviews

    July 30, 2022

    10/10

    We were well looked after by the team who were fun, polite and efficient. With good service everything else falls in to place so we had a lovely time with great food.

  • Chris s.1 review

    June 4, 2022

    8.5/10

    been there a lot and never been disappointed. quite a long way from us but worth the trip and will be back soon. what you do you do weell and we are confident it will continue

  • Monique L.1 review

    March 8, 2022

    8.5/10

    Love this pub/restaurant which has ample space for larger to smaller tables scattered in the restaurant to the bar area.. Very helpful & friendly staff members from either the waiter or at the bar. Felt very welcome on arrival and throughout each course. Nice starter to main courses & desserts. Will be returning again as I booked a table for 6 for Easter Saturday.

  • TONY M.1 review

    January 21, 2022

    8/10

    The food we had on the night was a good choice and the service was very good. Layout of the pub / restaurant was good and the toilets kept very clean. Thank you to all the staff at the cuckoo.

  • Barbara M.1 review

    November 14, 2021

    6.5/10

    Food was good, three of us had the roast choice. But the turkey arrived without cranberry sauce, or sausages. Something that completes the dish. Cranberry arrived in tiny ramekin but sausages were not available so there were two stuffing balls. This could have been pointed out when we ordered. Also no Doombar on tap. Only Ghostship. Better knowledge of what each dish consists of would enable the waiting staff to respond better to queries about the dish. Also the shared veg bowl for three of us turned up two minutes after the main course. Then five minutes after that another bowl. One larger bowlwould have made sense for the three of us. There seems to be a disjoint between ordering and serving. Perhaps this needs review. But will go again as the apple and blackberry crumble was lovely!.

  • Nichola M.

    Nichola M.1 review

    November 6, 2021

    10/10

    Good friendly staff, food was served promptly and was delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed our time there and will definitely be going back again 10 out of 10

  • Stephen C.5 reviews

    November 2, 2021

    10/10

    Great service and food . Good value

  • Pauline G.1 review

    November 4, 2021

    7/10

    This was our second visit. The first was a superb experience. This time was mixed: my meal was really disappointing, bearing absolutely nor elation to beef bourguinon, although three others n the party were quite happy with their meals. The staff were extremely busy and we waited some considerable time to order., finishing a bottle of wine and one of water. Having said that, they could not have been more helpful when one of our number became ill, offering water, a seat outside, calling an ambulance and generally showing care and concern. Thanks especially to the duty manager and the supervisor..

  • Chris J.1 review

    October 29, 2021

    6.5/10

    When booking I asked for a window seat and did not get one so spoke to a manager who said ok we will change for us. The started looked nice but not enough soda bread for the amount of pate. We ordered extra onion ring which were cold and I asked if the hunters chicken was spice and was told no so I ordered and had a tomato and pepper sauce on top Whitchurch as not stated on the menu and i am unable to eat peppers. My partner had I lovely glass of red wine so requested the same but it was not very watery wine not the same all in all won’t go back for a long time.

  • Nicola D.1 review

    October 17, 2021

    9.5/10

    Welcoming pub with excellent service and friendly staff. Food was lovely, very hot and there was a good choice to suit a range of tastes. If I lived closer I would be back again soon

  • Christine O.1 review

    October 17, 2021

    10/10

    It has been a while since we have eaten at the Cuckoo but have to say it was a very pleasant experience. A nice welcome when we arrived and quickly shown to our table. Drinks orders taken soon after and enough time to look at the food choices. Waiting staff very pleasant and when I knocked my glass of gin and tonic over, it was quickly dealt with, no fuss. Food arrived quite quickly and was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and will return again soon.

  • Helen S.1 review

    October 17, 2021

    8/10

    Service & food very good. Will definitely go again.

  • Rachel I.1 review

    October 14, 2021

    5.5/10

    I visit the cuckoo often but last week the food was not to standard, no roast dinners, queuing at the entrance for too long. Perhaps just a pressured day but just not a great meal at all and there were 9 of us

  • Harry r.1 review

    October 2, 2021

    8.5/10

    Really good food and great portion size. Service was slow but that was due to the amount of people there at the time.

  • Karen T.3 reviews

    October 10, 2021

    7/10

    Sunday dinner was nice but the roast potatoes were not cooked enough and were not crispy., broccoli a bit undercooked

  • Richard S.1 review

    October 3, 2021

    10/10

    Everytime we come its the same. Great staff, great service and a cracking meal (roast Beef for Sunday dinner this week) Many Thanks all, we will be back again.!!

  • Julie D.1 review

    September 30, 2021

    6.5/10

    The restaurant was great and the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. The quality of the food was not brilliant though. The gammon was chewy and dry, the salmon was oily and not very tasty. The puddings were on a different level and were delicious, albeit small portions for the price.

  • Sonia T.1 review

    September 26, 2021

    10/10

    Very friendly staff, good service ????

  • Wanda B.1 review

    September 15, 2021

    9.5/10

    This pub is conveniently located off the A1 so I use it to meet a friend halfway for a meal. The food is great with a good pub food menu selection. The thing that makes it for me is the staff, they are so very friendly and welcoming.

  • Carole C.1 review

    September 10, 2021

    9/10

    Good service great food definitely recommend and will go back. Have been before several times and have never been disappointed. Will make another booking soon

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

1832 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.