Register my restaurant
Help


Pizzeria

Reviews - The Encore

7.9/10
115
1 Bridge Street, CV37 6AB Stratford-upon-Avon
Pizzeria
Average price £25

The Encore

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

7.9/10
114 reviews
7.9/10

Food

7.9/10

Service

7.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Moderate waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Martin C.21 reviews

    July 11, 2024

    10/10

    Relatively quiet compared to previous visits Attentive service Great dishes and quality Nice couple of hours

  • Mark C.1 review

    May 20, 2024

    10/10

    Georgia was an excellent host.

  • Edward H.1 review

    April 19, 2024

    10/10

    The restaurant, food and service was first class. Had a wonderful evening.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Daniel B.1 review

    March 30, 2024

    7.5/10

    Great food, great location. Service was a little slow but probably because its a busy place

  • Darren G.1 review

    March 30, 2024

    6.5/10

    Very poor seating almost on the floor eating a meal. The app to order is too slow and had to go to the bar to order food. Would not recommend

  • Sharon G.1 review

    March 30, 2024

    10/10

    Booked a table for 8 people food all came out at the same time, it was lovely ... no complaints at all, the staff were very attentive too

  • Lisa S.1 review

    March 24, 2024

    6/10

    Staff were exceptional however a shame the same cannot be said of the food. Sunday roast arrived barely warm in temperature, no check backs so could not raise. Pub very busy and table next to us had 12 guests with 12 dogs it was at this point a relaxing afternoon turned into being uncomfortable and time to go

  • Sally P.1 review

    March 18, 2024

    8/10

    Arrived early so sat and had a drink in the bar. The manager was very welcoming and polite. We were taken upstairs to the dining area which was nice as it was out of the way from the drinkers. The food was lovely. I would definitely recommend.

  • Andy N.1 review

    March 7, 2024

    10/10

    Nice environment, good menu, excellent food and service.

  • Steven F.1 review

    February 10, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent service despite a complex party of 7 adults and 3 children under 5. Also flexible in the booking which changed several times. Food was very good and good value. Had the private dining room on 1st floor which was/is perfect for large parties.

  • Keith H.3 reviews

    December 31, 2023

    10/10

    Everything about this was good…….food, staff, surroundings were all faultless. And at ‘mid price’ range it was extremely good value. Highly recommended.

  • Maxine F.1 review

    December 10, 2023

    2/10

    We had a very disappointing visit, we arrived promptly at 3pm, we were eventually seated and our order was taken, after one hour we asked a member of staff if they could give us an idea how long the food would be as one of our party was type 1 diabetic and she had injected and really needed to eat, apparently a manager was coming to talk to us but never bothered to, after speaking to another member of staff and a further twenty minutes we gave up and left as we really needed to get food we totally understand it was extra busy due to the markets but maybe the staff could have given us an estimated waiting time and an Option on arrival to go elsewhere!! Appalling service

  • Gaenette J.1 review

    December 9, 2023

    7/10

    Booked early for a pre theatre dinner. The position of the restaurant is excellent if visiting the RSC. So glad I had booked, as discovered on the day, Stratford had their annual Victorian Christmas market on. The town centre was heaving! We were quickly shown to our table. It was a while before the waitress arrived to take our order, but when she did, was bright and cheerful in personality. Drinks came, minus the water I had requested. First course of soup arrived, very tasty. I again asked for water, still didn't arrive. There was a considerable delay between first and second course, however, both my partner (had chosen pork belly) and I (chose prawn linguine) were happy with our meals. Time was now pushing on, I asked fir the bill, but after several minutes, I went directly to the till to request the bill as needed to leave. Overall, the food was tasty and good value, but service was rather lacking

  • Dan C.2 reviews

    November 11, 2023

    4.5/10

    Service was really really slow. 45 minutes for starter to arrive, then 30 minutes for mains. Food was average at best. Waitress was nice and friendly though and apologised alot for service speed. Overall, not great.

  • Miriam C.1 review

    October 21, 2023

    10/10

    The waiter Dan was fantastic and the food and atmosphere was brilliant.

  • claire h.1 review

    October 7, 2023

    8.5/10

    Lovely food and lovely staff.

  • Archana N.1 review

    August 18, 2023

    9/10

    Was a lovely night. There was a live band playing downstairs and the music wafted upstairs to the restaurant. The food was lovely, the highlights the glazed pork and the Panna cotta. The cocktails were well made and moreish. Would definitely go back!

  • Emily B.1 review

    July 18, 2023

    10/10

    Staff were very attentive and looked after us well throughout our time, the food was lovely and everybody enjoyed their meal.

  • martyn p.3 reviews

    July 14, 2023

    6.5/10

    Food was decent enough but service was slow and table next to us was foul mouthed. Appreciate the last point isn’t the pubs fault but contributed to the overall experience

  • Anne S.1 review

    June 29, 2023

    8/10

    Lovely place and great staff. Food a little disappointing. Pizza was overcooked on the base paid for extra items of topping but very minimal. Lamb was cooked perfect but presentation could have been better .

  • David T.1 review

    May 26, 2023

    10/10

    Great food and service in restaurant adjacent to river and theatre. Good choice of wines, and the offer of a mini-dessert with a hot drink a bonus.

  • Steve B.1 review

    May 12, 2023

    5/10

    Nice menu, pork medallions were fatty and had a sour taste, staff said this was how it should be!! Chicken rather dry. Staff rather overbearing.

  • Simon T.2 reviews

    April 7, 2023

    10/10

    We booked 2people for 2pm Good Friday 2023 and it was excellent. We sat upstairs and from start to finish we were very happy. Food was delicious, hot, on time and plenty enough of it!

  • Maureen J.1 review

    March 2, 2023

    10/10

    From the moment we arrived Freddie made us welcome. The experience was warm, friendly, but not intrusive. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal and have rebooked. Great wine list.

  • Claire H.1 review

    February 4, 2023

    6/10

    One main meal was forgotten and didn't come out till everyone else had almost finished. Burger was not worth the money cheap cheese and dry. Drink order tock a long time to arrive. Went to have a cigarette between course and were chased outside my staff asking if we were doing a runner even tho we still had coats and drinks at the table

  • Fiona W.1 review

    January 24, 2023

    10/10

    Meal was very good service very efficient

  • Karl M.1 review

    June 17, 2022

    10/10

    Great meal. Squid was excellent, steak delicious and service prompt and friendly. No negatives and would highly recommend.

  • Oscar O.1 review

    May 28, 2022

    10/10

    Lovely bar/restaurant by the river and theatre. We share a few small plates and everything was excellent. Our server Tom was great, not too formal, not too informal, he got it just right.

  • Leigh w.2 reviews

    May 1, 2022

    6/10

    a good pub meal

  • Stephen H.5 reviews

    March 12, 2022

    6.5/10

    We were telephone in the afternoon of our planned meal and told that the restaurant was operating a reduced menu because of equipment issues and given the choice to cancel. We continued with our booking and we duly received the menus of the night but it was difficult to find suitable choices for some of the party. The service was good if not a little rushed, the waitress was very pleasant and attentive but the food was not great. My wife didn’t enjoy her chicken starter said it was thigh and not Brest meat. My battered cod was very poor the worst I’ve probably had in any restaurant not good taste very greasy and it looked like a frozen portion not hand battered and not chunky. Our friends enjoyed their meal and the wine was good. Overall not the best experience for our joint birthdays. The surroundings were very good I like that a lot but probably would not go back on this experience as their at many other lovely restaurant s in the area.

  • Maz N.4 reviews

    March 6, 2022

    9.5/10

    Nice place we sat upstairs by the window which was great ,food choice was good , one chicken roast ,beef roast came served with all the trimmings, and food was hot would recommend this place but make sure you book in advance thanks

  • Jane A.3 reviews

    March 5, 2022

    10/10

    Early dinner. Felt well looked after by Katy who took our order. Food was lovely would thoroughly recommend. Lots of flavours and well cooked.

  • Pamela S.1 review

    December 29, 2021

    10/10

    We really enjoyed our evening. Excellent food. Compliments to the Chef. All the staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. We liked where we were sitting too. Nice views over the water . Relaxed atmosphere. So able to have a conversation without straining to hear each other.

  • Paul W.1 review

    November 5, 2021

    10/10

    Warm welcome on entering, lovely atmosphere, great food, drink and service. We went for something to eat before a show - weren’t waiting too long for anything. A wonderful pub - recommended

  • Nicola B.4 reviews

    October 22, 2021

    10/10

    Had the lamb rack - food was absolutely delicious. Great wine choices too. Service attentive and very nice people. First time here as new to area, will be bringing friends next time.

  • Ross b.1 review

    October 1, 2021

    10/10

    Food awesome Servive awesome

  • Mark r.4 reviews

    October 1, 2021

    9.5/10

    First class service from start to finish. Food really nice. I had the burger with beef dripping gravy. My wife had Crispy duck salad. And she said it was lovely. Would highly recommend.

  • Lisa B.

    Lisa B.1 review

    September 29, 2021

    10/10

    The staff were very attentive but not pushy, the location is fantastic and the food was excellent if you are in Stratford do not miss this place. The pork with scallops was fantastic

  • Olivia j.1 review

    September 18, 2021

    8.5/10

    This is a lovely place, menu was extensive and also a great wine list. We both really enjoyed it. My only slight complaint would be that I ordered lamb which was tasty and cooked to my liking but I felt it was a very small portion.

  • Joy P.1 review

    September 12, 2021

    10/10

    Great little restaurant. Really lovely ambiance, food was excellent quality with a great variety. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. Would definitely recommend this little gem.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

2359 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.