lekker en de keuse is reuse
Steak is definitely the star of the show in this hidden gem.
This restaurant was an extremely good choice. We were greeted by the owner who was especially welcoming. He went out of his way to make sure we understood the foreign language menue and changed our server to one who spoke excellent english. The food was served hot, and very delicious. We'd go back again and again.
Met familie gegeten. Was perfect. Zoals je hoopt bij een steakrestaurant is de keuze aan vlees heel ruim. Het was ook heerlijk en de bediening nam ruim de tijd om van te voren alles uit te leggen. Voor goed vlees moet je zeker hier heen gaan! Service was ook geweldig. Het was de verjaardag van mijn zoon en dit had ik van te voren aangegeven. Iedereen in de bediening kwam gedurende de avond langs om hem te feliciteren. Echt een warm gevoel. Kortom, echt een topper en we gaan er zeker vaker heen. Een aanrader!
It was a big disappointment. After reading many positive comments on tripadvisor and iena, I thought that we will have the best meat of Haarlem and will get a super nice service at the restaurant. However, this was not the case. The starter was mozerella salade. The tomato they have put on the plate.. You would never use such a tomato in a good restaurant. Tasteless, no smell and not matured enough to eat. Main dish was meat. The taste of the meat was OK but the way it was served was a big disappointment. Desert was ice and forest fruits. I am not exaggerating. I had one bluberry, two cranberry and half strawberry on my plate. These are our observations. Now it is up to you to decide whether you wanna ho or not.The Golden Bull
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us. Let me start from the beginning: You came to our restaurant with AH Discount second person FREE three course meal. We went to your table twice to take your order, after 20 minutes you requested us to choose alternative starter instead of Carpaccio or Chorizo's because you are pregnant women. We served you Caprese salad as you wanted. You finished the whole plate without mentioning that the tomatoes were tasteless. As you ordered your meat well done and ofcourse it takes bit longer on the grill than normal, you start complaning. It's good that you tasted good but presentation was not there. What you expect from well done meat. For Dessert on the menu says Otelli's Lemon & Raspberry sorbet with berries NOT the other way around. Let me remind you one more incident which you didn't mention is you ordered a 0% Radler and when I served you and you said I dont want it anymore and you changed your mind..still we didn't charge you for that.( I should have charged you) Now you are talking about the service, With the main course you were thoroughly informed about the origin and differences of the meat from three different countries. We are neither pleased with your review and attitude, the way you are trying our guest not to visit us! Management Team The Golden Bull Reactie van proever: 1- Maybe you can I think why it took 20 minutes to give our order as you were busy with the other customers to get their orders! 2- In your menu it is written Amstel %0.0 not Radler. Maybe you can start with correcting it as they are different beers. Quality restaurant normally never charge customers with this kind of unpleasant surprises. If you think that you make a favour, good luck with it. 2- Eating the whole plate and not complaining doesn't mean that the dish was OK. I think you should be open for criticism as professionals. 3- It is not the first time I eat ice with fruits. Pls be realistic to each other. 4- Even the table next to us was complaining about the quality of the restaurant. So I do not really see a problem with our comments.
Nice restaurant, very great service, superd meat. We'll come back for sure! The experience is suggested for people who want to be very well served and have no rush.
The service was good; the food taste good I think 3.5€ per brood per person that we ate before dinner it was expensive . Wine 7 per glaas. 2 persons 75 € . 1 person" gratis " via AH Reclame
Good steak and great homemade fries. Not so impressed with the starters, but didn't have a lot of choice with the AH offer (a non-meat starter would be nice). Friendly, efficient service. Nice location on a street with little traffic. Get there early if you want to sit outside in the sun.
We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. I mentioned his birthday in the reservation and the first thing they did was wish him a happy birthday. That excellent service continued the whole night. Our meals were delicious. Wonderful steaks! We will be back!
A must in Haarlem! Great food, heavenly steaks, efficient and pleasant service. Centrally located. Totally recommended!
Amazing meal with very good service! We ate the Argentinian rib eye which was cooked perfectly. Lobster bisque was creamy and rich. Cream brulee was an art work that melted in your mouth.
Meat was over cooked some meat was under cooked. We waited 45 minutes. We had to swap meat between the 3 of us because chef had not cooked to order. The waiter disappeared in the kitchen and was talking to the chef we had to call him out of the kitchen to get the bill. We had to pay the full amount even though we were unhappy about the service and food. Avoid this restaurant.The Golden Bull
Beste Richfra, Aller eerst willen wij u bedankt voor uw komst in The Golden Bull. Wij vinden het zeer spijtig dat u uw verblijf als onprettig heeft ervaren. U heeft gelijk betreffende de bereiding van uw steaks. Namens de chef en het personeel willen wij u onze excuses aanbieden. Omdat onze gastheer zijn fout merkte tijdens uw verblijf hebben wij meerdere pogingen gedaan ons te rechtvaardige. Aller eerst, bij het uitserveren van uw steak merkte de gastheer op dat zij niet naar behoren waren bereid. Toen is meteen aangeboden voor al uw drieën nieuwe steaks te bereiden. U heeft dit afgeslagen en zij dat u niet langer wilde wachten. Vervolgens hebben wij het brood niet in rekening gebracht wat bij uw steak is geserveerd. Verder hebben wij u een drankje naar keuze aangeboden om onze fout te rechtvaardigen. Omdat u op het vragen of alles naar wens was tijdens het nuttigen van uw hoofdgerecht ja zij, ons vertelde dat u onder de indruk was van de goede kwaliteit van het vlees en u ook een dessert heeft genuttigd (chocolade taart, appeltaart en een ijs assortiment), Hebben wij het idee gekregen dat u tevreden was over het verblijf en het eten. Wij vinden het daarom zeer spijtig om achteraf, hier op Iens dat ook zo een negatieve reactie te lezen. Zeker nadat u naar onze mening het restaurant verliet met een positief gevoel. Wij hopen u nogmaals te verwelkomen om u te laten ervaren dat wij hebben geleerd van onze fouten en u een prettige avond heeft bij ons. Met een heerlijke en goed bereide steak. Met vriendelijke groet, Team The Golden Bull
The service is one of a kind ! More than polite or welcoming, the staff is trying to make you feel comfortable and enjoy a special time with a rare kind of food. Never invading, always eager to give the little detail that will make you understand your tasting. I haven't travelled all over the Netherlands but I am quite convinced the Golden Bull must be in the TOP 5 of Steakhouses in all the country with a very big PLUS. The ratio meet quality vs price is very reasonable. Other places offering Wagyu Kobe style, for instance, will make you pay more and may not offer the same quality of cooking. If you are in the surroundings and love red meet, you must go there !
The food (meat) at the Golden Bull is VERY GOOD! It's a shame that the atmosphere is a bit lacking. Regardless, I go back because I am American and picky about my steak, and I am not sure you can get a steak this good anywhere else for miles. Yum!
As an Australian I have searched high and low for a good steak restaurant for the last 6 years that I have been living in the Netherlands. Usually its a mix of poorly trained staff that dont actually know how to cook a steak or the dime a dozen Argentinian Steak that uses tough imported beef along with the poorly trained staff. I went to Haarlem for a weekend away and came across The Golden Bull. The Indian (I didnt think they ate meat) looking spruiker seems like he had no idea about steak so I quizzed him about how he would cook the steak etc. He basically said his steak chef had 12 years experience but if I was still concerned I could watch him cook it and let him know exactly how I liked it. I always figured some of the steak houses I had been to If I had have asked to cook the steak I could have turned out pretty well so I figured this was a good deal. My dad was a butcher and I worked at a butcher for a few years and have learned to cook a mean steak. They set our party up at the chefs table so we could watch the chef prepare the meat. I was looking at the menu when all of my fears were allayed. There was a page dedicated to all the ways of cooking including temperature ranges etc. Its great to look at because they cook the steaks using the French naming system so an Australian medium rare is actually a French medium well. I have never seen this in any NL restaurant, so i figured they new what they were doing. Of the steaks they had I figured the best bang for buck would be the 350gr New Zealand Hereford. It was well priced and I figured if they did a good job I would be back for the 350 or 450g Wagyu which is bred locally. The steak was amazballs. Perfectly cooked, oozing flavour, and easily the best steak I have had outside Australia. I found out the spruiker was actually the owner and the restaurant had only been open 3 months. I was amazed. He runs a tight ship, has a very skilled steak chef and eneded up being a really friendly guy. I started quizing him about the Wagyu and he mentioned one had just been slaughtered.. I did some quick maths allowing for hang time and realised those steaks will be in there prime in about 4 weeks. I booked then and there. I'll be back.
Nice modern restaurant. Food was good. We got one bottle of wine free as there were five of us (they had an offer if there are more than four then you get one bottle of wine free). Shame about the service, a bit slow and they should be more attent. The table that came in after us ordered before us.