The Golden Bull

Zijlstraat 39 2011 TK Haarlem Netherlands Map
Average price €46.00
8,8 /10
494 reviews
373 reviews

Restaurant prices

Average à la carte price
€46.00
(average à la carte price based on a two-course meal excluding drinks)
Prices and menu can change. Those prices don't take into account any promotion and are VAT included.

How to get to the restaurant The Golden Bull

How to get there?

  • Car park Paid parking in the neighborhood

Opening time

Monday 17:00 - 23:30
- Dinner 17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday 17:00 - 23:30
- Dinner 17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday untill Saturday 17:00 - 23:30
- Dinner 17:00 - 23:30
Sunday Closed

Services

Fabulous
8,8 /10
Only clients who have dined at the restaurant, after booking on TheFork, can leave their opinion.
  • 10
    55
  • 9
    175
  • 8
    146
  • 7
    69
  • < 7
    49
Food
9,2
Service
8,9
Setting
7,8
Value for price
Correct
Noise level
Quiet
Waiting time
Fast
40/494 reviews
Richard G.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 19 Apr 2018
As good a Ribeye as I have had anywhere. Get the New Zealand steak. Younger and more tender.
Service was excellent.
Johan B.
Foodie
(42 reviews)
Average Rating
9 /10
Food
10
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 6 Mar 2018
We had an excellent dinner at The Golden Bull.

Empenadas and chorizo sausages as a starter and entrecote and ribeye as a main.

The steaks were perfectly cooked. Accompanied by a salad and the signature home made fries. Very nice.

Good red house wines from either Chili or Argentina.

Very recommendable if you desire a steak in Haarlem.
Jeffrey K.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 21 Feb 2018
The meal and service were superb! The steaks were some of the best we have ever had. The manager took excellent care of us. He took the time to explain each steak which was literally from all around the world. I would definitely eat here if your are in Haarlem!
sven R.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 20 Feb 2018
Been there for three times already. Always perfect! Very special quality of meat.
Daniil S.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 19 Dec 2017
A bit overpriced...
matthy W.
Explorer
(2 reviews)
Average Rating
9,5 /10
Food
10
Service
8
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 10 Nov 2017
The Place and Service was awesome. I am looking forward to next time.
kata0818 .
Explorer
(3 reviews)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 12 Oct 2017
This was the best steak ever in our life, we both had Angus beef, was very delicious, prepaired on very professional way. The staff was very friendly and kind, polite. This was the first for us in this restaurant but for sure not the last one.
Charles M.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 14 Sep 2017
Very accommodating when we arrived late.
Simon N.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 22 Aug 2017
The meat was exquisite and the service was on point. We were given detailed explanation about the origin of each type of meat. Each dish was worth every penny and we got more quality per euro than in any other Haarlem restaurant.
Vincent V.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
7,5 /10
Food
10
Service
4
Setting
6
  • Meal date : 19 Aug 2017
Excellent steaks
julia F.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 18 Aug 2017
What an amazing restaurant . Fabulous steaks, brilliant atmosphere and the nicest most friendly guy, Kamal who welcomed us from the minute we arrived. He was so knowledgeable, explained all about the different cuts of meat and helped us choose. The steaks were incredible, melt in your mouth, the best all of us had ever tasted. At the end of our meal Kamal brought out a cake with sparklers in for my son's birthday, none of which I had asked for, then a limoncello shot for each of us, just a greay guy. And he brought us luck, Kamal, if your'e reading this, Charlie won both of his races at Zandvoort that weekend, partly down to you, Im sure and your amazing food ! Give this place a visit, you won't be disapointed
arno B.
Explorer
(3 reviews)
Average Rating
9 /10
Food
10
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 22 Jul 2017
lekker en de keuse is reuse
Zoltan L.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 6 May 2017
Thank you it was very nice food, the meat was exactly how it was supposed to be, very tasty wine and really welcoming waiter, it was a pleasure. The prices of course depict the quality of the service.
Callum H.
Explorer
(3 reviews)
Average Rating
8 /10
Food
8
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 28 Apr 2017
Steak is definitely the star of the show in this hidden gem.
Dmitri S.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
9,5 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 22 Apr 2017
Top restaurant
Len N.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 15 Apr 2017
This restaurant was an extremely good choice. We were greeted by the owner who was especially welcoming. He went out of his way to make sure we understood the foreign language menue and changed our server to one who spoke excellent english. The food was served hot, and very delicious. We'd go back again and again.
Frederik D.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
9,5 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 1 Apr 2017
Met familie gegeten. Was perfect. Zoals je hoopt bij een steakrestaurant is de keuze aan vlees heel ruim. Het was ook heerlijk en de bediening nam ruim de tijd om van te voren alles uit te leggen. Voor goed vlees moet je zeker hier heen gaan!


Service was ook geweldig. Het was de verjaardag van mijn zoon en dit had ik van te voren aangegeven. Iedereen in de bediening kwam gedurende de avond langs om hem te feliciteren. Echt een warm gevoel.


Kortom, echt een topper en we gaan er zeker vaker heen. Een aanrader!
.
Explorer
(3 reviews)
Average Rating
2,5 /10
Food
2
Service
3
Setting
3
  • Meal date : 18 Aug 2016
It was a big disappointment. After reading many positive comments on tripadvisor and iena, I thought that we will have the best meat of Haarlem and will get a super nice service at the restaurant. However, this was not the case.
The starter was mozerella salade. The tomato they have put on the plate.. You would never use such a tomato in a good restaurant. Tasteless, no smell and not matured enough to eat. Main dish was meat. The taste of the meat was OK but the way it was served was a big disappointment. Desert was ice and forest fruits. I am not exaggerating. I had one bluberry, two cranberry and half strawberry on my plate. These are our observations. Now it is up to you to decide whether you wanna ho or not.
Restaurant
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us.

Let me start from the beginning:
You came to our restaurant with AH Discount second person FREE three course meal. We went to your table twice to take your order, after 20 minutes you requested us to choose alternative starter instead of Carpaccio or Chorizo's because you are pregnant women. We served you Caprese salad as you wanted. You finished the whole plate without mentioning that the tomatoes were tasteless.
As you ordered your meat well done and ofcourse it takes bit longer on the grill than normal, you start complaning.
It's good that you tasted good but presentation was not there. What you expect from well done meat.
For Dessert on the menu says Otelli's Lemon & Raspberry sorbet with berries NOT the other way around.
Let me remind you one more incident which you didn't mention is you ordered a 0% Radler and when I served you and you said I dont want it anymore and you changed your mind..still we didn't charge you for that.( I should have charged you)
Now you are talking about the service,
With the main course you were thoroughly informed about the origin and differences of the meat from three different countries.

We are neither pleased with your review and attitude, the way you are trying our guest not to visit us!
Management Team
The Golden Bull

Reactie van proever:

1- Maybe you can I think why it took 20 minutes to give our order as you were busy with the other customers to get their orders!
2- In your menu it is written Amstel %0.0 not Radler. Maybe you can start with correcting it as they are different beers. Quality restaurant normally never charge customers with this kind of unpleasant surprises. If you think that you make a favour, good luck with it.
2- Eating the whole plate and not complaining doesn't mean that the dish was OK. I think you should be open for criticism as professionals.
3- It is not the first time I eat ice with fruits. Pls be realistic to each other.
4- Even the table next to us was complaining about the quality of the restaurant. So I do not really see a problem with our comments.
Bex P.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 1 Aug 2016
Nice restaurant, very great service, superd meat. We'll come back for sure! The experience is suggested for people who want to be very well served and have no rush.
rosangelr .
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
6,5 /10
Food
7
Service
7
Setting
5
  • Meal date : 29 Jul 2016
The service was good; the food taste good
I think 3.5€ per brood per person that we ate before dinner it was expensive . Wine 7 per glaas. 2 persons 75 € . 1 person" gratis " via AH Reclame
  • 1
  • 2
We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience possible. Please also note that your data is held by La Fourchette SAS. If you want to know more, including the settings available to you, please read our cookie policy and our privacy policy. By clicking any link or navigating our site, you agree to these policies and uses of cookies.