Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Steakhouse With friends

Reviews - The Meat & Wine Co Hawthorn East

8.8/10
1330
482 Riversdale Road, 3123 Hawthorn East (VIC)See map

Average price A$85 Accepts Yums

Express Lunch. Prices Starting from A$49

Reservation

Find a table

MENU

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

YUMS x2Earn more Yums
You will earn 200 Yums by making a reservation with this restaurant.
More about Yums

Reviews

8.8/10
Fabulous1331 reviews
9/10

Food

8.7/10

Service

8.6/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Helen R.
    Helen R.

    October 6, 2022142 reviews

    10/10

    It was perfect!

  • Sally Wu
    Sally Wu

    October 5, 202210 reviews

    7.5/10

    Sensational value lunch menu! Great food but service average. Staff prefer to talk to each other than look after customers

  • Sherman L.
    Sherman L.

    October 5, 202218 reviews

    10/10

    Nice steak

  • Robert B.
    Robert B.

    September 15, 202225 reviews

    10/10

    Great quality food, friendly efficient service, a great dining experience, throughly recommended

  • Carlo D.
    Carlo D.

    September 7, 202238 reviews

    9/10

    For a simple order at a not particularly busy period, it took 20 - 25 min for my order to come out (not very express) however when it did... yum-o, still the best pork ribs in town!!

  • Tse Lyn Yu
    Tse Lyn Yu

    August 12, 202213 reviews

    10/10

    Food quality and ambience is great but small portion. Also come here for my birthday. In Sydney same company I was greeted with small cake and candle. Here .. nothing as such.

  • L L.
    L L.

    July 13, 202243 reviews

    7.5/10

    We made reservations with this restaurant and requested that we be seated at the front of the restaurant as my elderly Mother was joining us and found it cold at the back of the restaurant on a past visit. When we arrived they wanted to put us upstairs but she cannot climb stairs and eventually we received a table at the front which was our original request. We placed an order with our waiter who was quite impatient as we looked at options. Once the order was taken the food arrived relatively quickly which was good. Unfortunately my Mother found the beef ribs very tough and the manager came over to assist us by changing it to pork ribs as she said they were softer. When the pork ribs arrived she said yes they were softer and did not taste over cooked. The steaks we ordered were very good - lots of flavour. Even though I requested well done it did not arrive burnt or dry which is great. The only disappointing thing is that the steaks come with chips or a salad and not a bit of both which would be nicer for a more rounded meal. It was great that the manager was very accommodating with my Mother’s order and changing meal it to pork ribs free of charge. Overall a nice meal.

  • Andrew Z.
    Andrew Z.

    July 2, 2022157 reviews

    9/10

    The food is probably the best out of all meat & wine co in Victoria, the vibe and atmosphere is pleasant. But out of all, the service and the management there is simply great, pure professionalism. You will not be disappointed here. Highly recommended.

  • Julie M.
    Julie M.

    June 22, 202241 reviews

    10/10

    This restaurant consistently provides delicious tasty food and the customer service is of a very high standard. A great place to dine.

  • Robert B.
    Robert B.

    June 22, 202225 reviews

    9.5/10

    Would have to be one of the best steaks ???? that l have eaten, it was tender and flavoursome, l chose garlic sauce which was great. The service was excellent well recommended if you won’t a great dining experience

  • Kee Ng
    Kee Ng

    June 18, 20221 review

    7.5/10

    Noisy with a rough group making unpleasant noises.

  • Tomi W.
    Tomi W.

    June 8, 202219 reviews

    8/10

    Good burger, ok chips but amazing peppercorn sauce! Server didn’t seem to be very knowledgeable, but service was good.

  • Ringo Y.
    Ringo Y.

    May 15, 20222 reviews

    9/10

    The service is great and the venue is nice. We would definitely go back again.

  • SZE MING W.
    SZE MING W.

    May 12, 202210 reviews

    7/10

    As we were in a hurry that day. The food was served pretty fast. The food and services were good, The portion was right Just the rump steak was a bit chewy.

  • Mutian z.
    Mutian z.

    May 11, 202218 reviews

    6/10

    manager should know how to better handle people, and if the matter of contention was not brought to the customers' notice beforehand, restaurant is responsible, not the customer.

  • Carlo D.
    Carlo D.

    May 11, 202238 reviews

    9/10

    great ribs, good service, love going there, ribeye wasn't particularly special but will come back anyway

  • Luan Aw
    Luan Aw

    April 7, 202216 reviews

    10/10

    Absolutely love the food. The steak and the rib is so tasty. Steak cooked the right way and melt away. will go back again

  • Ann k.

    April 7, 20223 reviews

    8.5/10

    Always enjoy dining here. To be nitpicking, I would like the water to have some ice in it, but that's just me. The size of the calamari for express lunch was on the small side, but that's just me. Would recommend.

  • Julie M.
    Julie M.

    April 6, 202241 reviews

    10/10

    A great restaurant with a lovely ambiance. The food is absolutely delicious and all the staff offer exceptional Customer Service. Can Highly Recommend

  • Ricardo S.
    Ricardo S.

    April 2, 202210 reviews

    10/10

    The meat was beautifully cooked just like we ordered. Great service.

  • Shireen C.
    Shireen C.

    March 24, 202223 reviews

    9/10

    Great local restaurant. Delicious food, especially the ribs! The grilled salmon is great too.

  • Eleanor A.
    Eleanor A.

    March 24, 202235 reviews

    9/10

    Celebrated my son's birthday. The steaks were all nicely cooked and I heard no complaints - so a good sign. We had the special lunch menus and serves were large. Too much for me to have three courses! Great meal and would go again.

  • Peter T.

    March 24, 202210 reviews

    9/10

    Great steak and great service but the room was very noisy.

  • Eleanor A.
    Eleanor A.

    March 19, 202235 reviews

    9.5/10

    Great meal. Only problem is that toilets are located up steep stairs. Not good for anyone wiht disability. I worry about tripping when descending.

  • Craig I.

    March 17, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent service, friendly front of house staff. Steak was absolutely delicious, cooked perfectly , pepper sauce beautiful. Very good selection of wines.

  • Cordelia K.
    Cordelia K.

    March 9, 20227 reviews

    10/10

    This continues to be the best local spot for exceptional steaks, fantastic bbq ribs & great wine too. Great value 2course express lunch with great choices. Staff a great welcoming team. Keep up the great service!

  • Carlo D.
    Carlo D.

    February 23, 202238 reviews

    9/10

    My serve of ribs was noticeably smaller than my counterpart and having had them here several times before, although they were good they’ve been better. Dressing on the Greek salad was divine.

  • Raymond S.

    February 13, 20222 reviews

    9/10

    Great service across all stores

  • Gabe H.
    Gabe H.

    January 29, 202225 reviews

    9.5/10

    The food is excellent. Entree platter said to be for 3 to 5 people: I think it's more 2 to 3 people. Steaks are cooked the way we wanted. The onion rings are not to be missed. Highly recommend this Restaurant. I am considering joining their membership before our next visit.

  • Aurora P.

    January 29, 20223 reviews

    9/10

    Every enjoyable meal. The waiting staff just need to be aware of the water glasses. We had a napkin and someone's hair dipping into our water glasses when meals were served, and someone was leaning forward to discuss the bill. Luckily, it was not the wine glasses.????

  • Ben B.

    January 1, 20221 review

    10/10

    Flawless night

  • Michelle L.
    Michelle L.

    December 12, 202119 reviews

    6.5/10

    Came for a celebration and it all went well. Food was pretty good. It was a bit slow. There was a couple of tables downstairs on our arrival. We were taken upstairs, sitting at a corner upstairs. It was kind of strange after only one other table left as there was no one apart from us. On our departure, it was full house downstairs.

  • Roukaya A.

    November 20, 20214 reviews

    9.5/10

    It was wonderful, where they seated us was nice and peaceful on the balcony the food always amazing and especially the service. And yes 100% will be going their again

  • Marcus L.
    Marcus L.

    July 28, 202144 reviews

    4.5/10

    It was our first time visiting the hawthorn east branch. We are regulars of the southbank branch. We ordered a full rack of the beef ribs expecting to leave with a full stomach. At last, when it came, the bones were huge but the meat was lacking. This was not what we were expecting as at the southbank branch, there was more quality control. We asked the waitress to confirm whether it is a full rack of beef ribs, she said yes. We raised to the manager who then went on to educate us about why a beef ribs rack is smaller than a pork ribs rack. There was no attempt to even apologise for the lack of quality. Note that the table behind us who ordered half rack pork rib had a bigger portion of our full rack beef rib! Well, we will stick to going to our southbank branch as it seems that customer service here is not a priority.

  • Angela M.
    Angela M.

    July 15, 20217 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent food and superb service. One of the best steakhouses in Melbourne! The food is cooked to perfection and wait time is very reasonable. Can't go past their desserts as well!

  • Julie E.

    July 9, 20218 reviews

    10/10

    Great food and service!

  • Gladys S.
    Gladys S.

    July 8, 202130 reviews

    8.5/10

    Tasty pork ribs, tender steak, nice glass of Shiraz. The only thing lacking was no appealing vegetables available. The salad needed to suffice. Score: I WILL go back again.

  • Dinesh N.

    July 1, 20217 reviews

    9.5/10

    Fantastic service by Pierre and great that they've brought the lunch menu back, with even more options! Food back to good standards and will return.

  • Sandi H.
    Sandi H.

    July 1, 202116 reviews

    8/10

    Situated right on Camberwell Junction in a classic old building, we ordered from the menu, but a good option appears to be the set menus.

  • Mark G.
    Mark G.

    June 26, 202122 reviews

    10/10

    Great meal and service as usual. We had a beautiful 3 course Saturday lunch. Highly recommended.

Tripadvisor reviews

413 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation