Back

Reviews - The Mustard Seed

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 92 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Rob B.
    Rob B.
    • one review
    10/10

    We really don't get to there often enough, it a long drive but we have never been disappointed. The food was excellent in everyway taste, temperature (the curry was, as described, medium hot) and presentation. The staff are friendly and attentive, we chatted for some time about life in general - a relatively quiet night. All in all a delightful experience. we shall definitely try to get there more often.

  2. Michael K.
    Michael K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent all round Good food service ambience. Excellent menu . I would highly recommend the Tahli plate bit of everything. Curry ,dips bread . Definitely my Favourite Indian Restaurant

  3. Sarah W.
    Sarah W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fabulous food and delightful service. Excellent range of vegetarian options. We were delighted by our mid-week dining experience and would recommend to others.

  4. Sharon B.
    Sharon B.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Lovely food and background music. Service was a bit slow as there were only 3 tables being serviced. We were there half an hour after they opened and the Toilet was filthy with an overflowing rubbish bin. My friends curry was not as hot as she asked so they remade it for us to take away so that was an excellent customer relations from the owner. The Christmas decorations at the entrance were still up in March. The whole restaurant needs a good scrub but the meal was very tasty

  5. Yvonne M.
    Yvonne M.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Enjoyed the food. Unfortunately only one person waiting, food delivery & drinks.

  6. Lee W.
    Lee W.
    • one review
    2/10

    We waited about an hour after ordering to get our food. During this time, no one approached us for an explanation nor apology. There was only one waitress working the floor. When food finally came, albeit without apology, the three pieces of fish in the goan curry smelled a bit fishy and the eggplant was overcooked to mushy. The naan was a bit tough and the rice was a bit undercooked. The only reason we ate here was that it seemed to be the only place that was open at that time and within walking distance to our accommodation. We are not returning.

  7. Shelley A.
    Shelley A.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff are always so welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. The food is always delicious! Great cocktails and mocktails! The Mustard Seed is our favourite place to eat in Hahndorf.

  8. Graham B.
    Graham B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Had the butter chicken with a serve of saffron rice and a chilli cheese and garlic naan. Nice Food ,Good Service, Good Atmosphere Very nice people. What more could anyone ask. ????????????

  9. Robert H.
    Robert H.
    • 12 reviews
    9/10

    The food at this restaurant was excellent! Great menu, with plenty of choices and it had a great atmosphere. Staff were very friendly & pleasant and service was generally very good. Only minor criticism was it was not busy and they could have cleared the plates quicker. Other than that, we would definitely go back and would highly recommend.

  10. Chris D.
    Chris D.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    Good value a d friendly staff

  11. Heliina h.
    Heliina h.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Was a fabulous meal!

  12. Janet  L.
    Janet L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We shared two entrees and a main (goat curry) and they were delicious. The service was great. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend it.

  13. Kenny N.
    Kenny N.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    The staff forgot to tell us when we ordered a salad that the lamb dish comes complete with a salad. They got the bill totally wrong. Maybe it was because it was Valentine's Day but that shouldn't be an excuse for bad service. When we arrived it took ten to twelve minutes before they brought the ice bucket.

  14. Rachel T.
    Rachel T.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food was good, but our 4 yr old's drink never came, luckily he forgot!! On the other hand, the waitress was happy to hook his tablet up to their wi-fi when we asked. We sat outside and it was very pleasant with plenty of nice cushions on the chairs, and we enjoyed watching our 4 yr old dance to the Indian music after the meal. I would go back.

  15. Bindi-ann k.
    Bindi-ann k.
    • 38 reviews
    6.5/10

    One of the best indian meals i've ever had in oz!!!!! The honey chilli cauliflower was to die for..... the chicken tikka naan was so flavoursome....... the mix platter entree was so pretty&not greasy deep-fry, like other indian restaurants (samosa, pakora, spring roll&bhaji)...... unfortunately we told them we had to rush&be out in half hour-but they werent able to understand...... took forever for staff to attend our table (or even seat us=10minutes) -never around, or on phone, each time we needed them.... chairs were comfy&decor wasnt to crazy indian!!!!!!! Prices were reasonable for such good, tasty food.... we had a booking@5.3pm (restaurant opens 5pm) but noone was around-nor a bell to ring, to get their attention, for well over 10minutes (no staff nor customers on view) waiting for anyone to seat us (kitchen staff came out wearing headphones&went to find waitress).... Will be going back again to give them another chance however coz food so good!!!!

  16. Chris J.
    Chris J.
    • one review
    8/10

    Exeptional value, good food and service. Had a meal on Saturday night (6.00 pm) so were seved quickly making our meal relaxing, quite (as it was so early) and inexpensive as we had 50% off. This was our second visit and will go again

  17. Mohan M.
    Mohan M.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice food, portions are a bit too small, really friendly service.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    7.75/10

    Waitress very friendly and entertaining! Food really good. Temperature inside was a little cool. Toilets had not been cleaned and we were one of the first evening groups.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9/10

    Good value night out with a cosy ambience.

  20. Stella K.
    Stella K.
    • one review
    1.75/10

    We went in for fireplace but it was not on cold inside waitress was nice food is average

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good dinning environment and good food and service. I would like the food to be warmer in the winter.

  22. Susanna  &  Lesley L.
    Susanna & Lesley L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Glad we found you; we'll be back!

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    8.5/10

    Wonderful meal thank you.

  24. Helen A.
    Helen A.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Thank you for the wonderful meal and for organising our event for my husbands 40th Birthday.

  25. Adam S.
    Adam S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great service and food. Loved it all. The only reason atmosphere is an 8 is because we were there so early no one else was there!

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    0/10

    Service was appalling, food was tasteless and poor quality. I'm not sure how they are still in business.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7/10

    Food tasty Service could be improved given they were not busy Most of the wine list unavailable

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great food and lovely staff.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    6.75/10

    Quite cold in the restaurant. Better heating needed

  30. Chris And Vanessa j.
    Chris And Vanessa j.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    used thee voucher and was fantastic value

  31. Colleen B.
    Colleen B.
    • 3 reviews
    3.5/10

    The service was very bad. Pressuring to order, within 5 mins of being seated. Not giving any feedback when asking about items on menu. Reaching across with food and drink. Leaving tables with dirty plates etc after customers had left for 25-30mins. Had to ask for more drinks. Toilets were dirty. Have been here before several times and is usually very busy and better this time has left a very bad taste in my mouth. Won't be back in a hurry.

    The Mustard SeedThe Mustard Seed

    hi colleen , really sorry to hear your experience ...on the behalf of management we apologies for what happened , just figured out on Saturday evening front desk girl was on leave and we left with only girl to work . your feedback values a lot we try improve the concerned issue . thanks

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9/10

    The Thali plate was very tasty and great value

  33. Emilie R.
    Emilie R.
    • one review
    0/10

    We rocked up for our 12pm lunch date and they were not open we waited til 12.30 then rang with no answer! Very disappointed!!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    7.25/10

    The Thali platters were excellent and the service friendly, but we felt that charging $7 per serve for rice as an extra is very steep.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9/10

    Always enjoyable Indian cuisine.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    5.75/10

    Had a booking for 12pm. Did not open the doors to us until 12:30pm. Service was lacking

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great food and setting for a good price

  38. James C.
    James C.
    • one review
    9/10

    2nd visit - we will definitely be back and recommend to others.

  39. Noel C.
    Noel C.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Staff were fantastic and new when and when not to come to the table

  40. Christina P.
    Christina P.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    Pretty good food overall. Some dishes were a bit expensive. When we ordered the eggplant vegetarian dish, there were more potatoes in there than eggplant. So that dish was a waste of money.