Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Reviews - The Old Lion

9/10
177
Pailton Road, CV23 RugbySee map

Average price £27

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts
This restaurant is following the relevant safety practices*:
Card payments accepted
Contact information is obtained
Extra cleaning services implemented at the tables, toilets and kitchen
Food served only at the table
Guest spacing 1m
Hand sanitizer for customers
Need to wear a mask in the restaurant unless eating or drinking
Staff wearing masks
*This information is declared by the restaurant
See more information

Reviews

9/10
Excellent178 reviews
9/10

Food

9.1/10

Service

8.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Tracie T.
    Tracie T.

    May 29, 20221 review

    10/10

    Excellent meal, lovely menu choices and superb service for our Sunday Lunch

  • Janelle Q.
    Janelle Q.

    May 21, 20221 review

    8.5/10
  • Stephen f.

    March 27, 20221 review

    2/10
  • Antony S.

    March 20, 20221 review

    10/10

    Great food and very helpful and attentive staff. Nice cosy atmosphere. Will definitely be going back there again. Would recommend it highly. ,

  • Malcolm H.

    February 25, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Great service and lovely food

  • Caroline P.

    February 6, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Good food nicely served reasonable prices good choice , service excellent efficient and friendly ,our favourite eatery , will book again soon .

  • Rich B.

    February 5, 20221 review

    8/10
  • Elizabeth S.

    January 15, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    The waitress was on her own covering the floor and did a great job serving all the customers including us. Everyone really enjoyed the meal including our four year old granddaughter.

  • Diane S.

    December 3, 20213 reviews

    10/10
  • James P.

    December 2, 20211 review

    10/10

    Excellent food, lovely atmosphere and super friendly service. Would highly recommend and we’ll certainly be back for another lunch before Christmas

  • Ash R

    November 28, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent waiter with exceptional service. The sirloin of beef was simply delicious. Id highly recommended.

  • Emma S.

    November 27, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    First time coming to this establishment. Nice selection of food, very welcoming staff and the food was delicious. I ordered a steak pie and chicken burger for the table and it was delicious.

  • Nicola F.

    November 19, 20211 review

    9/10

    A warm welcome, great service, well presented and tasty food…. a very enjoyable evening and we will definitely retun.

  • Jeanne B.

    November 18, 20211 review

    5.5/10
  • Ian G.

    November 6, 20211 review

    10/10

    Good food friendly staff nice atmosphere

  • Paul B.

    November 6, 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Ian F.

    October 28, 20211 review

    7.5/10

    Food was nice, waiter was very friendly, decor a bit dated, but would definitely eat here again.

  • Mark L.

    October 24, 20211 review

    9/10
  • Tracey O.

    October 23, 20211 review

    10/10

    The food is amazing, beautifully presented too, service was excellent, very friendly staff, made to feel very welcome, will definitely be back and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Sam B.

    October 17, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Superb local pub with restuarant quality food. Generally I would rate excellent, and never disappointing! Staff are frriendly and attentive.

  • Ash R

    September 26, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Great service and amazing food. Our beef roasts and veg roast was delicious. I'd highly recommend. Thanks for making our visit perfect. See you again soon!

  • Rebecca d.

    September 22, 20211 review

    8/10

    Waiter was very attentive. Food was excellent although it took about 40mins to come. Very nice pub. Will definitely return.

  • Janet S.

    September 16, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Caroline w.

    August 29, 20213 reviews

    6/10
  • Lyn W.

    August 8, 20211 review

    10/10

    The food was superb,us girls had the salmon and my husband had the chicken pie, all cooked beautifully but it was the best pie I've tasted without cooking it myself will defiantly be going again

  • Billie L.

    July 4, 20211 review

    7/10
  • Gerry S.

    June 19, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Charlotte B.

    June 19, 20211 review

    3.5/10
  • Maxine W.
    Maxine W.

    June 5, 20211 review

    7.5/10

    Good value pub bistro food

  • Elaine b.

    September 6, 20201 review

    5/10
  • Lisa M.

    August 26, 20201 review

    10/10

    Came here not long ago and although the food was good it was too busy and chaotic, this time round the service was fab atmosphere was lovely food was excellent

  • Ian B.

    August 19, 20201 review

    10/10
  • Andrew F.
    Andrew F.

    August 9, 20201 review

    10/10

    All the food was prepared top draw . Meat was tender , veg was cooked to perfection. Our waiter was charming

  • Shirley H.

    July 25, 20203 reviews

    8/10
  • Emma M.

    July 17, 20201 review

    10/10

    Welcoming staff, Excellent food and service. All well laid out. Hand sanitizer stations all explained really well. Ate from the fish n fizz menu.

  • David M.

    March 5, 20202 reviews

    9/10

    Lovely food reasonably priced

  • Anne C.

    February 21, 20201 review

    10/10
  • Karin Lorraine W.

    February 21, 20201 review

    8.8/10

    Lovely food and service was very quick

  • David M.

    February 14, 20202 reviews

    9.3/10

    Nice food. Friendly service

  • Paul D.

    February 13, 20201 review

    10/10

    Excellent food and a lovely atmosphere. My partner had the rack of Lamb and I had the ribeye steak. Very good service and friendly staff.

Tripadvisor reviews

598 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation