Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Queen & Castle

8.8/10
88
Castle Green, CV8 1ND Kenilworth
Pizzeria
Average price £30

The Queen & Castle

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.8/10
Fabulous87 reviews
8.8/10

Food

8.9/10

Service

8.6/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Fair value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Kim Y.1 review

    July 13, 2024

    10/10

    Friendly staff, very accommodating

  • Audrey C.1 review

    July 12, 2024

    6/10

    The table we were assigned was not a quiet one as requested (if possible) The beer/batter on the cod was very hard to cut. The fish portion inside was very small. I shall not choose it again if we revisit. Staff extremely overworked. Not enough of them.

  • Darren W.6 reviews

    May 23, 2024

    7.5/10

    A nice welcome and then team seemed a little stretched. Good came quick enough and quality good. An enjoyable set meal lunch at good value - pleasant staff too, just a little busy/maybe short staffed it appeared.

  • Teresa E.1 review

    May 5, 2024

    7/10

    We had Sunday lunch and the main part of the meal the beef was really chewy and we were not able to eat it also the lamb rump was very dry

  • Debbie W.16 reviews

    May 5, 2024

    10/10

    Went back to The Queen & Castle for Sunday roast and steak. Keeley and Daniel looked after us really well and the food was delicious!

  • Debbie W.16 reviews

    April 21, 2024

    9.5/10

    Excellent Sunday roast, especially the beef duo! Tom looked after our booking and helped to make our family birthday celebration memorable.

  • Alex D.1 review

    April 21, 2024

    9.5/10

    Had a wonderful family birthday meal here for my Mum. The food was excellent, staff were super friendly and helpful - particularly with us bringing our own cake - and we had a great time. Lovely location for a meal if you're looking for somewhere after visiting Kenilworth Castle, which is directly opposite.

  • Tim P.2 reviews

    April 20, 2024

    8/10

    A little over-priced, but generally good. Had to wait a while before we got seated, but the service with the meal was excellent. Would happily go back.

  • Dave N.2 reviews

    April 8, 2024

    8.5/10

    Really good food, lovely place

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Colette C.3 reviews

    April 6, 2024

    10/10

    Out with family and friends everyone enjoyed there food and service was great

  • Anne H.1 review

    February 9, 2024

    10/10

    Good food good service from Keeley in a comfortable warm environment

  • George P.1 review

    December 19, 2023

    3.5/10

    Very average. The lamb I had was not good, vegetables over cooked. Even the coffee was not great

  • Carly S.1 review

    October 13, 2023

    8.5/10

    The food was lovely, but for the price is expect the wsot staff to offer us drinks, or something else after our meals. It was a little like they forgot we were there.

  • Nav A.1 review

    July 10, 2023

    8/10

    The waiter got the order wrong for my wife, however on this occasion. We did not return the food as it looked lovely and indeed it was delightful. Really enjoyed the meal despite this error. However don't make a mistake again please.

  • Lesley C.3 reviews

    April 30, 2023

    4.5/10

    Disappointed with the 2 beef roast. Beef seemed to be ready cooked and sliced catering beef rather than fresh cooked. The roast potatoes were pale and not well roasted. Veg portion very mean for 2. Partner said his roast pork was good. Desert also good

  • Dave M.2 reviews

    January 24, 2023

    8/10

    Lovely setting with good quality food at reasonable prices. Friendly helpful staff. Would highly recommend this restaurant for a family meal.

  • Daniel C.1 review

    January 11, 2023

    10/10

    The restaurant looks very nice with plenty of space between the tables. The food was amazing, very tasty and big portions. The staff was friendly and helpful. Free car parking in front of the restaurant but you need to add your registration number to a machine in the restaurant, to avoid any penalty.

  • Joanne T.1 review

    June 12, 2022

    10/10

    We had a lovely Sunday roast and Stuart was excellent in looking after us. It was very busy but that didn’t affect the good service. The food arrived quickly and was hot and yummy.

  • Ivan Ko2 reviews

    February 22, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent

  • Richard M.2 reviews

    February 10, 2022

    10/10

    Great food and excellent service

  • Carla D.1 review

    February 5, 2022

    8.5/10

    Nice restaurant right opposite the castle. Charges for parking but once you've entered the pub you get parking for free. Staff very pleasant and helpful with recommendations which food to order. Fillet steak was cooked rare medium very nice quality beef.

  • Catherine T.1 review

    January 8, 2022

    8/10

    We like it here and often eat here. My husband particularly likes the steak and my children like the fact that they get gherkins and cournichons with their burger! I find the vegetarian choices aren't that exciting and the one I wanted this time had run out which was very disappointing. The adult desserts are also not much different from the children's in terms of portion. The service is generally good though and there is a warm atmosphere.

  • Gay N.2 reviews

    October 12, 2021

    8.5/10

    Restaurant and staff were excellent. I was very surprised to be told that I could not use my Whitbread Shareholder card, particularly as we had booked there because of it. Manager gave us a discount anyway which was very sensible of him but I feel sure that Queen and Castle M and B pub is part of Whitbread. Will check it.out!

  • Jason W.1 review

    October 2, 2021

    10/10

    Such a lovely restaurant with a picture postcard setting opposite the castle. Service was friendly, timely and attentive, with a good menu and outstanding quality of food for a fair price. Was very busy but didn’t feel crowded in, will certainly be back!!

  • Shirley W.6 reviews

    September 24, 2021

    8/10

    Always an efficient warm welcome. Orders taken quickly and food arrived promptly but we did not feel rushed. Only slight fly in the appointment was that three of the wines we ordered were not 'in stock' or not cooled for serving.

  • Michele A.1 review

    September 12, 2021

    8/10

    Good ambience, quick, efficient & friendly service. More vegetarian options would have been good. Miles, our server was attentive and polite. Food was flavoursome.

  • Monica M.1 review

    September 8, 2021

    5.5/10

    I used to be a customer before the lockdown and the food was really tasty and amazing. Yesterday I got disappointed as I didn’t have many gluten free options. Me and my partner we asked different dishes and the food was not the same as before. No taste. Not sure if the chef was changed but doesn’t look the same.

  • Nikki O.1 review

    September 4, 2021

    10/10

    The look inside and out was beautiful. Staff were great and friendly. This was a gift for friends to take them out. We had a fantastic evening. Food was gorgeous. Would definitely go again

  • John M.2 reviews

    August 20, 2021

    10/10

    Good quick service and a nice meal. Easy parking and a good welcoming atmosphere. A 6pm booking ensured that we were served quickly. Food was hot.

  • Lisa K.2 reviews

    August 8, 2021

    10/10

    First time here on a Sunday afternoon for Sunday lunch. Loved the mini pudding and hot drink option. Attentive staff, service very swift and efficient. Good choice on menu. Food piping hot and extra gravy! we will definitely return

  • John P.1 review

    August 6, 2021

    10/10

    Excellent service and food was excellent too. The servers were knowledgeable and attentive.

  • Christine C.2 reviews

    August 5, 2021

    6.5/10

    So disappointed with the staff from the moment we arrived to paying the bill . We come here often , didn’t recognise the normal friendly staff . No smiley faces , not very friendly , couldn’t really be bothered attitude !!! Well that is the last time we visit we will be going elsewhere next time food was excellent as always . The waitresses need training on Customer service !!!

  • Mervyn K.

    Mervyn K.1 review

    August 6, 2021

    8.5/10

    We really needed a nice meal, and that is just what we got. The service was excellent and we much enjoyed it. Thanks to everyone for looking after us……

  • Karla J.1 review

    July 28, 2021

    8.5/10

    We were welcomed nicely I asked for a window seat booking. Which was done lovely looking at Kenilworth castle. Food was cooked nicely. Our waitress was attentive. Drinks were nice (I also had a voucher) for a bottle of Prosecco no dramas at all. I have been to the restaurant many times. I’ll be back again. Highly recommend.

  • Jane B.

    Jane B.1 review

    July 6, 2021

    7/10

    Lovely old pub. Food always OK- never really great. Staff friendly and efficient. Could do with more contemporary "light" options maybe. Seems a little pricey - would go much more often if they had deals or promotions or light options.

  • Colleen C.1 review

    July 1, 2021

    8.5/10

    The Queen and Castle was a good venue and the staff were very friendly. the chef accomodated my food requests and we were very happy with the meal.

  • Jane W.1 review

    June 27, 2021

    7.5/10

    Good food, good choice service a bit slow. Shift change and poor continuity. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++====

  • Janet R.1 review

    May 31, 2021

    10/10

    Excellent quick service despite being very busy. Good range of food on menu. If we lived here this would be our go to place. Very friendly helpful staff.

  • Robert W.

    Robert W.1 review

    April 19, 2021

    7/10

    The waiter obliged when we were placed in a 6 seater with no sun and asked to move to garden. Food was good service professional served. I would return again. The last time here the parking company tried to say I did not register my car and charge a fine. Maybe they should give you a car receipt. It really did put me off.

  • Sue L.1 review

    November 28, 2019

    10/10

    Really enjoyed the whole experience

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

1995 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.