Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Royal Oak, Duddington

8.4/10
130
Duddington, PE9 3QE Stamford
European
Average price £25

The Royal Oak, Duddington

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.4/10
Very good130 reviews
8.4/10

Food

8.4/10

Service

8.5/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Jane Y.5 reviews

    April 19, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent service, most enjoyable lunch

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you so much! Hope you can come again soon. Emma

  • John H.1 review

    February 9, 2024

    3.5/10

    Very limited menu.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Our menu changes often, and in February there may have been some limitations. We apologise. Emma

  • Victoria B.1 review

    March 16, 2024

    4/10

    Unfortunately the food wasn’t good. My soda bread was actually white toast (from a standard loaf). The avocado unripe and no chilli. Replaced by granola, though the steamed fruit was cherries from a jar with sickly syrup and on shop brought cereal.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you for your feedback. We now have a new chef team and breakfast menu as I too was unhappy with the offering. I hope you will give us another chance. Emma

  • Olivia G.1 review

    February 14, 2024

    10/10

    The lady who served us was very attentive and friendly. We had two dogs with us and she got them water and biscuits which was really nice. She was the only one working front of house and she had a smile on her face the whole time even when it got quite busy. The atmosphere was relaxing and the food was very good! We’ve never had a bad experience here and it’s a go to place for meeting up with family and friends. Thank you.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you so much for your kind words. Emma

  • Ian B.1 review

    September 17, 2023

    5/10

    arrived and they hadnt checked our "TheFork" booking so we and our dogs were seated by the kitchen in the main restaurant. Food was OK. Second time we've visited, service was very slow again. had to remind them constantly. gave up eventually waiting for a drink at least it hadn't been added to the bill. doubt we'll visit again.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    I have just reviewed the staff on service that day, and we have already recognised that there is some additional training to be given. Again, we apologise

  • Mark W.1 review

    August 22, 2023

    10/10

    Have been to this restaurant before, last couple of times on a busy weekend, this time on a snap-decision, meeting up with a very old friend. Much quieter on a Tuesday night which was perfect for a good catch-up. Service was attentive but not overbearing, food was perfect and the menu has a very good range even during the quieter times of the week. Will definately be revisiting.

  • Roger D.1 review

    August 6, 2023

    10/10

    Pre anniversary Sunday lunch. Special occasion, so wanted something a little better than pub food. Did we get it? In spades! The Royal Oak is a beautiful building with a matching interior. The food was a delight. We had prawns and chorizo to start. This was a beautiful dish, comad the beef pletely different from anything we've tried before. My wife had baked cod for a main, and I had the beef. There was plenty to eat and piping hot. Desert was sticky toffee for me and brownies for my wife. We've had the dishes before, but not like these. Superb. Staff helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Another visit planned for us ASAP!

  • Jackie P.1 review

    July 22, 2023

    10/10

    The Royal Oak was great. The service was excellent nothing was to much trouble( when we asked questions). Although it was busy it wasn’t cramped and the atmosphere was really good. The food was excellent and the price was great too. Thank you everyone we had a great time and look forward to coming back

  • Robert C.1 review

    June 3, 2023

    9.5/10

    Great food and lovely relaxing setting, chef was just a little overstretched on the night we were there so service was just a little slow, however the food was very good and well presented.

  • Stuart I.2 reviews

    May 28, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent meal, well presented by efficient and pleasantly mannered staff. It has a welcoming atmosphere, and I would highly recommend it.

  • John L.1 review

    April 21, 2023

    9/10

    Will definitely return again. Staff were great.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    thank you so much, Emma

  • Jane Y.5 reviews

    April 21, 2023

    10/10

    Pleasant staff and good food

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    thank you so much, Emma

  • Alison K.1 review

    February 18, 2023

    10/10

    Really good find, met family was nice to stay after the brilliant meal, would certainly go back again under an hour from Cambridge and beautiful surroundings

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you so much for your kind words, we're delighted to have served you well. Emma

  • Sheila K.1 review

    February 15, 2023

    8/10

    Staff very friendly but no one came to clear our plates and we had to go and ask for a dessert menu. Having said that, the food was excellent. Would go again.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you for making us aware - I am personally sorry you didn't have a better experience but hope that this is not our usual standards and you will experience better when you visit next time. Emma

  • Andy T.1 review

    February 14, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent service and food. The attention to detail was first class. You won’t be disappointed. Can thoroughly recommend. We will be returning.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so pleased you had a good visit and we look forward to seeing you again. Emma

  • Gwyneth S.1 review

    February 11, 2023

    8/10

    It is a lovely restaurant and with a log fire burning it felt very welcoming. This was my second visit in the last fortnight and both times although the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient, the service was slow. I think they probably need a couple of more waitresses. The food was very good, I would recommend it.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    I am so sorry that this was your experience, we pride ourselves on excellent service. Please do call to let us know what happened so we can get better. Please ask for Emma, Debs, or Helen.

  • Jane Y.5 reviews

    February 9, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent food, staff extremely friendly will definitely be going back

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    That's lovely to hear - thank you so much. Emma

  • Kerry S.1 review

    January 27, 2023

    4/10

    Bar staff didn’t have a clue and took a long time getting drinks - though he has very friendly and welcoming. Got shown to our table and the lady (in guess owner’ stayed

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    I am so sorry that this was your experience. Our staff undergo ongoing training so always improve after joining us so I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better. Emma

  • Rod S.1 review

    January 25, 2023

    10/10

    The staff were friendly and professional. They accommodate us every week for drinks. The food was amazing! I had the fan fried cod. Simply divine!

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    We're delighted to be serving you well, thank you for your kind words. Emma

  • Jan R.2 reviews

    January 27, 2023

    9.5/10

    Simple but great menu. Food excellent. Lovely wine. Staff helpful and friendly

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you so much. Emma

  • Debra V.1 review

    January 26, 2023

    10/10

    The staff were very attentive and although it was late there was no rush for us to leave. Which is so refreshing , nothing was too much trouble for the staff

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    That's so kind of you to say, we are delighted to have served you well. Emma

  • claire p.1 review

    January 15, 2023

    10/10

    The Royal Oak at Duddington is a great place to eat. The food was amazing really good selection of food and all delicious. The service was great. I highly recommend a visit

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you so much, we're delighted to have served you well. Emma

  • Alan D.1 review

    January 15, 2023

    9.5/10

    Lovely pub/restaurant with excellent food and service. Always a treat for Sunday lunch

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you, we look forward to serving you again soon. Emma

  • William B.1 review

    January 7, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely staff and very friendly atmosphere. Peaceful location and the food was absolutely perfect, with decent portion sizes and very short waiting time.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    We're so pleased to hear that you had a good visit. Thank you for your review. Emma

  • Steve R.

    Steve R.2 reviews

    January 6, 2023

    9/10

    Great food and great service,ambience a little too corporate for us, and lacking of music, other than that a good experience. We would recommend to our friends and family.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    We're sorry you didn't like the atmosphere. We are changing some of the lighting, and I have reminded staff to ensure there is music playing. I used your review as an example so thank you for taking the time. Emma

  • Jo D.1 review

    January 5, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely to revisit the Royal Oak and find it has a new lease of life. A lovely “local” and country pub with great food. Loads of parking available, clean and above all welcoming and excellent service. Please visit and give it every chance of success

  • Dawn R.1 review

    January 4, 2023

    9.5/10

    We booked a table to celebrate my Dad’s birthday. The lady who looked after us at both the bar and the table was attentive, smiley and caring and really made the evening. We all had different dishes and nobody was disappointed the food was hot and very tasty. Thank you for making his 84th birthday special.

  • Jan R.2 reviews

    January 3, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely food. Service fine. Dog friendly throughly. Nice layout. Had lunch. Will return for breakfast. A good, varied lunch menu and also sandwiches

  • Jane M.1 review

    December 31, 2022

    10/10

    We had a wonderful, leisurely lunch here following a walk in Fineshade woods.The decor was lovely and atmosphere was nice and relaxed. . Food was excellent,good quality and reasonably priced .Service was friendly and efficient. We will definitely return

  • Ian M.3 reviews

    December 29, 2022

    8/10

    The restaurant had a very nice ambiance with a nice log fire and super bar area. The food was excellent with a good choice of dishes. As I have experienced lately with other restaurants, they seemed a little short handed and some of the staff were really inexperienced, but this did not take away from a very enjoyable family lunch.

  • Jen T.2 reviews

    December 30, 2022

    8/10

    A very warm welcome by the fire, ambience and friendly staff. An excellent lunch thankyou.

  • Wayne A.1 review

    December 25, 2022

    10/10

    One of the best Christmas Day meals I have had. Exceptional food and service from all at the Royal Oak,from the food customer service and ambiance . I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for good food and customer service.

  • Debbie J.1 review

    December 22, 2022

    9/10

    Best meal I've had for a while. Lovely, friendly staff too.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    That's great to hear, and we are delighted. Emma

  • Colin W.2 reviews

    December 20, 2022

    10/10

    When we stayed at the Royal Oak, because we were only staying 1 night we decided to have a meal in the restaurant. There was a good choice of starters, mains and desert and the food chosen was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bar was well stocked with a good choice of beers and spirit.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted to have served you well. Emma

  • Mandy F.1 review

    December 18, 2022

    10/10

    Had an amazing roast lamb dish today, great presentation, excellent quality and tasted superb. Finished with a crumble with custard. Great service, good value, will definitely visit again soon.

    The Royal Oak, DuddingtonOwner

    Delighted you have had a good visit, thank you for your review. Emma

  • Diana L.1 review

    December 16, 2022

    10/10

    It was a wonderful meal at lunchtime. It was a birthday treat for myself and 7 friends. The staff were amazing. So friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The service was very good and the food beautifully displayed and served. As a group we are known to be 'fussy' and 'hard to please' BUT everyone thought it was great. We will be visiting again in 2023 with our dining group.

  • Bob B.1 review

    December 11, 2022

    9.5/10

    We visited on a very cold day soon after opening and I'm afraid the restaurant, understandably, wasn't as warm as we would have liked. Having said that the service was very good and the food was excellent. The Sunday roast, one lamb one beef, were the best we have had and the deserts were superb.

  • Amy P.2 reviews

    December 8, 2022

    8/10

    This is my second time eating at this restaurant, and I am very pleased with the experience. The wait staff were incredibly kind and friendly. The food was served a little too hot but otherwise tasted pretty good. The lighting was a little bit harsh for where we were sitting, but we were able to fix it ourselves with no issue. There was an extremely bright light in the corner that was directed at our table and we just turned it off. Easy solution to a minor issue. Overall, I highly recommend this restaurant, and I will be returning customer in the future.

  • Sue C.1 review

    December 9, 2022

    10/10

    Staff were really friendly and made us feel very welcome even when our friends were late they didn't mind.

  • Caroline L.1 review

    December 3, 2022

    8/10

    Delicious food with fabulous personal service from Emma. The only negative was the cold air blowing through a gap in the window right by our table

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

16 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.