Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Saxon Mill

7.9/10
118
Coventry Road, CV34 5YN Warwick
Pizzeria
Average price £30

The Saxon Mill

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

7.9/10
118 reviews
8.2/10

Food

7.6/10

Service

7.4/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Fair value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Nigel S.1 review

    April 21, 2024

    10/10

    Lovely Location - Great Food

  • David M.2 reviews

    February 9, 2024

    4.5/10

    After two reminders during the day about our booking we arrived at the restaurant early for a pre dinner drink which is when we were told we would be eating upstairs with no explanation of whether this was normal or why they were doing it. Whilst having our drink by the bar I tried to message my daughter but there was no phone signal. The barman said there was a free open WiFi which I then tried to connect to. Unfortunately this is not possible without a signal so had to go outside and 3-4 minutes later after sharing everything about myself including DOB, address, email etc. I managed to get online. We were then ushered upstairs where it was blatantly obvious that the space was not part of their normal restaurant being a wide open room with no character. We asked whether we could be seated downstairs which is when we were told that part of the restaurant had been flooded and there were no extra seats. I really wish the restaurant had taken the effort to tell us this in either of the two reminders they sent us during the day or at reception when we arrived as we would have gone elsewhere . Food was very average.

  • Abdullah K.1 review

    August 11, 2023

    4/10

    Service was poor (wait staff were nice but waited 50 min for dessert and food came out without cutlery in a weird order and odd timings) Food was very average but quite over priced Place is very nice though worth going for a drink and a flatbread.

  • Keith R.1 review

    May 26, 2023

    6.5/10

    Good food, at The Saxon Mill, but there were not enough staff available to effectively attend to the number of dinners, which cause delays with service..

  • stephen D.3 reviews

    May 10, 2023

    8.5/10

    Lovely setting with gorgeous river views inside a working mill. Wide ranging menu & light lunch menu. Top end pub restaurant food & easy place to while away 2-3 hours !

  • Marian D.1 review

    April 16, 2023

    10/10

    Staff friendly, fantastic food and generous portions. Great place aswell and outside is a view of relaxation and ambiance. I will definitely be back soon ????

  • Cheryl K.1 review

    March 18, 2023

    10/10

    Well catered for,waitress very attentive and met our needs.restaurant was able to cater for z birthday meal of 12 of us on a v busy Daturday night.Food excellent quality and tasty,could have been bigger portions though.

  • Natascha H.1 review

    February 26, 2023

    6.5/10

    The food was largely tasty. However, some of it Luke warm or even cold. The restaurant itself is beautiful and the staff clearly working very hard as it was extremely busy. It took a while to find our booked table due to them not being able to find our booking, although I had email confirmation of the booking. All staff polite.

  • Scott C.

    Scott C.3 reviews

    February 8, 2023

    10/10

    Great service and I can’t remember having a better steak and chips anywhere in the UK. All 3 of us agreed. Top notch full mark surrounding are also beautiful.

  • Robert L.1 review

    January 27, 2023

    5/10

    Food was over cooked, order taken wrong, busy and not enough staff. Had fish and chips, both over cooked. Friend ordered food and switched chips for salad had to ask twice for. And this was Friday lunchtime

  • Reg P.

    Reg P.1 review

    January 1, 2023

    10/10

    Food was lovely and really good value. Only issue was they had no record of our booking through Fork but still managed to seat us. Brilliant service.

  • Helen J.1 review

    August 9, 2022

    7/10

    for anyone hoping to get a full VAT receipt - there is a real problem with being able to recover a full receipt here. Your order and payment is taken via QR (no issue with that!), but then the confirmation states if you need a full VAT breakdown receipt you need to ask a member of the team ............. who are too busy to help! I now need to send another email to an email address to chase up my receipt. If you are going to use tech to take the order and payment - then for heaven's sake please use tech to provide the receipt too!

  • Keith S.3 reviews

    July 30, 2022

    2.5/10

    Had to wait to be seated for about 15 mins . Eventually the host showed up and took us to a table where we waited again for 15 minutes for a drink Food was awful , starters were cold and obviously been left waiting in the kitchen for some time . Main meals were average apart from my steak which came with a cremated mushroom and equally burnt onion ring . Worst quality steak I’ve ever had . Service was appalling had to wait at least 30 mins between course . Couldn’t wait to get out of this place .

  • Sally J.1 review

    July 26, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent and enjoyable dinner in glorious surroundings overlooking the millpond. Super food and engaging, charming service from an articulate young man who gave us great advice over choice of wines. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Jane H.1 review

    July 14, 2022

    5.5/10

    I was a bit disappointed that we were left waiting at the door to check in despite the fact the barman could see we were waiting. The service was good considering the girl serving us was new that day. The restaurant was quite busy and had a good atmosphere - it's a beautiful building, well laid out etc etc. The table was nicely set. But the food was disappointing. My prawn and crab pasta was gloopy and I couldn't detect any crab. My son's steak sandwich should have been cooked rare but wasn't. The broccoli in my husband's super salad thing looked just past it's sell by date. The coffee taken outside was just disappointing. None of it was terrible therefore complaint worthy, it was just disappointing. The food wasn't very good.

  • Lisa K.2 reviews

    June 25, 2022

    4.5/10

    Arrived early for a table at 4pm and was promptly seated. The Saxon mill is a beautiful old working mill and surroundings were lovely. We were seated and ordered drinks which took 10 minutes to arrive. Starter of chilli prawns was luke warm. Waited another 15 minutes for main of chicken pie, which was very disappointing. Had a warm sloppy dollop of mash and individual pie on the side with a small portion of green beans and very undercooked broccoli which was full of storks. We did attempt to order pudding but after a 20 minute wait for the waitress to come back after giving us the pudding menu we gave up. Overall a lovely building but mediocre food with poor slow service. We won’t be returning.

  • James T.2 reviews

    June 11, 2022

    8.5/10

    The food was lovely and the scenery is outstanding. It was very busy as the sun was shining so service was a bit slow.

  • Barbara G.1 review

    May 28, 2022

    6/10

    Stunning venue and service was good. Very disappointed in the food though as our salad did not have couscous in it per the menu and no one said anything until we complained, to be told they were out of stock. The ingredients were unevenly served with mounds of one ingredient on one of the plates and hardly any on another. There was an event on at the venue, perhaps this is why, but no excuse. Would still go again.

  • Elizabeth B.2 reviews

    April 17, 2022

    6/10

    Majority enjoyed the food.Service was extremely slow and therefore made the experience less enjoyable.Beautiful venue-very peaceful.

  • Steven T.1 review

    April 5, 2022

    7.5/10

    Very interesting place in a beautiful setting. The food was about average, good but nothing special. The service from drinks finally arriving through waiting for the check, was inattentive and very slow. I will return hoping for better service.

  • Pavan G.22 reviews

    January 29, 2022

    9.5/10

    Excellent tasting food that may have taken a reasonable wait to come out but that may have been due to my party dining at lunch on a weekend. Food was worth the wait and allowed us to enjoy the surroundings and excellent range of drinks.

  • Kathy D.1 review

    November 21, 2021

    6.5/10

    The food was lovely but I had a chicken leg as one of my trio Sunday roast which was small and dry The waiters were very nice but extremely slow waiting for the dinner to arrive and also the drinks took nearly 20 minutes to arrive I would go again as I think the service was due too staff shortage and not them in particular

  • Jon G.1 review

    November 12, 2021

    10/10

    Great food, service and ambiance. Had a great time

  • Lucy G.

    Lucy G.1 review

    October 28, 2021

    10/10

    So lovely to be back for our anniversary meal, we were very well looked after, with friendly staff and a great choice of food and drink! It was busy but we didn't wait long for anything. Always one of our favourite places!

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Nicola J.1 review

    October 20, 2021

    10/10

    Lovely place and atmosphere. Good food and service. Would definitely recommend

  • Angus W.1 review

    October 17, 2021

    4.5/10

    I have been to the Saxon Mill before, around 2 years ago and had a great experience. My most recent visit did not meet expectations however, the food was not as good (it did not help that they were completely out of all roast dinners), nor were the drinks, the waiter although polite was not particularly professional, yet the price was higher than we had paid previously. This may have been a ‘one off’, but I was disappointed on this occasion

  • Harriet S.1 review

    October 17, 2021

    4/10

    We waited over an hour for food and when it arrived it was over cooked and soggy. We spent an hour and a half in the restaurant and manage 1 course and 2 drinks rounds total, kids were really patience which was the best part of the meal.

  • Leonatd D.1 review

    October 9, 2021

    6.5/10

    Have been to Saxon Mill many times, but this was dissapointing. Lamb chops were tough and meat very hard to get off, chewy to eat. Needed better cutlery. Companion's fish was good though. The background "musak" was irritating, and made hearing companion difficult, especially for hearing aids. There was also a dog in the restaurant which in itself was off putting, but especailly so in this case as companion was allergic to dogs.

  • Lee A.1 review

    September 30, 2021

    10/10

    Lovely atmosphere and excellent food. All staff serviced us excellently throughout. Would definitely recommend and I'll be going back for sure.

  • Lesley A.1 review

    September 25, 2021

    7.5/10

    Some of the food was excellent, however other aspects let it down. Fish cakes not good at all. Mini puds with coffee very good.

  • Elizabeth A.1 review

    September 8, 2021

    5.5/10

    Was waiting 50 minutes with no drinks or starter I had a week old baby with me so time keeping had a massive influence on my experience there had to ask for drinks order to be taken and had to ask staff numerous times for things didn’t have a time for a desert but would have if we had drinks and food come in appropriate timing

  • Maureen D.3 reviews

    September 8, 2021

    9/10

    Lovely venue on a sunny afternoon.

  • John W.1 review

    September 2, 2021

    8/10

    Been meaning to come here for a while on recommendation, we were not disappointed, had to make a few adjustments to the booking & that was done really smoothly, the food came out very quickly & was very well cooked, there was a good choice on the menu, will definately return at some point.

  • Patsy K.1 review

    September 3, 2021

    9.5/10

    Always a good experience , food and service was great . I expressed some special requirements which the staff had noted and were very accommodating , so many thanks we really enjoyed our evening

  • Mary D.1 review

    August 31, 2021

    10/10

    Good menu and the food was cooked well. Friendly service and helpful staff. Lovely surroundings and fabulous location. Ambiance was welcoming and vibrant.

  • SOHAIL S.1 review

    August 29, 2021

    8.5/10

    Great food. Accommodated is really well as we had lots of kids. Lovely place couldn’t recommend it any higher. Look forward to coming back soon.

  • Anthony H.

    Anthony H.1 review

    August 25, 2021

    9.5/10

    Although busy our waitress, Harkiran, was excellent and the food was very, very good. A bit pricy compared with other gastro pubs but well worth paying that little bit more

  • Trish K.1 review

    August 23, 2021

    9/10

    Food excellent and staff very helpful and pleasant. Requests from us followed up quickly and staff had lots of smiles. The room itself rather dull on what was a beautiful day but didn’t stop us enjoying the food and wine and cocktail.. would visit again. The next time dining outdoors.

  • Jon T.1 review

    August 23, 2021

    9.5/10

    A large, well appointed restaurant - the menu was creative and the staff were attentive and professional. Food and drinks were of the highest standard and were also reasonably priced. My only regret is that I was visiting the area, so can't make it a regular venue.

  • Lauren M.1 review

    August 17, 2021

    10/10

    The staff are very polite and provide a very good service. Lovely setting. Good food and atmosphere. Would not hesitate to recommend and has been a favourite for many years.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

4188 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.