Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Ship Inn - Lymington

8.3/10
45
The Quay, SO41 3AY Lymington
Pizzeria
Average price £30

The Ship Inn - Lymington

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.3/10
Very good45 reviews
8.4/10

Food

8.5/10

Service

7.9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Simon C.1 review

    September 25, 2023

    7.5/10

    Excellent location on the quay in Lymington - before dinner had drinks overlooking the harbor which put us in a relaxed mood. The food was very good - fresh and well cooked, the wines and cocktails were very well priced and the service was attentive. My second time here would go back.

  • Lisa P.1 review

    September 17, 2023

    10/10

    Really good roast! We had the trio and duo of beef. Both very tasty. Lovely and hot and extra gravy. Dog friendly.

  • Judy H.1 review

    July 15, 2023

    2/10

    Have vontacted the brewery to complain about a terrible evening. Not holding my breath for a reply!

  • Cindy W.3 reviews

    July 11, 2023

    10/10

    An excellent dinner and service.

  • Veronica B.1 review

    June 24, 2023

    5/10

    We were 4 people who went to the Ship inn for lunch, around 2:30pm. It took a while to get the food, despite the time and appeared to be quite quiet for food orders. After the wait, the food was cold and dry. Quite dissapointing. The pro is the location, very well placed by the marina.

  • Barbara L.1 review

    May 31, 2023

    6/10

    We were only 2 in restaurant. People came in but turned away. Restricted menu. Pudding menu ticked by hand to show what available. They had details so why not phone and cancel. Very expensive..no reduction for reduced menu

  • Jane R.2 reviews

    March 12, 2023

    7/10

    We’ve had some good meals at the ship in the past but this time not so good. I asked for roast beef pink but unfortunately was told that it was not possible to have pink beef tonight as the precious chef had over cooked it. So I chose roast chicken. It was dry and tough. The Gravy was not nice either it was very jellified. Most odd. My partners curry was tasty he asked for chicken with it which looked as though it had been thrown on top rather than being in the sauce. However the lemon posset was delicious.

  • Frances M.1 review

    February 15, 2023

    8/10

    The staff were friendly and efficient. The food was good. An Assistance dog was accommodated with no problem. We enjoyed our evening

  • Richard P.1 review

    February 12, 2023

    10/10

    We had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Ship Inn. Food was at a very high standard and the service was great. Lovely place to spend an afternoon in centre of Lymington.

  • Rob W.1 review

    September 11, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent Sunday roast, good selection of meats available, good value for money, great service, staff always pleasant and helpful. Well worth a visit.

  • Deborah R.1 review

    July 9, 2022

    10/10

    The staff was real friendly and helpful nothing was to much for them , food was quick hot and real tasty, so for us a fabulous evening meal , thank you everyone in the pub

  • Daniel B.1 review

    June 22, 2022

    4/10

    Service was incredibly slow. Starters took over half an hour to come out, when they did, they didn’t all come out at once. The mains then followed 45 mins after the starters were cleared. Restaurant wasn’t even busy at this time at it was gone 9pm. Been here before and it was really good, this time, not so good.

  • Elizabeth W.1 review

    June 17, 2022

    6.5/10

    We sat outside which meant we had to order our drinks and food at the bar. Nearly 40 minutes later the food arrived, as did a few other peoples' food, all of who had arrived after us. I have no idea what the delay was, they were fairly busy with people sitting inside and outside but still not worthy of a 45 minute delay. I've only dined here once before a few years ago, in the evening, and the service was just as slow, in fact our friend who had booked the table had to go to ask where our food was.

  • Chris M.5 reviews

    May 29, 2022

    8.5/10

    Really excellent service from Jamie and food arrived very quickly. They are short staffed like everywhere so don't have the full restaurant open, therefore it is advisable to book. Nice choice of starters and mains, I had fresh plaice and my companion the burger. Cheesecake dessert was excellent. All round a very pleasant meal and the food service was very quick.

  • Rose W.1 review

    May 29, 2022

    4/10

    Lovely location near pier and nice setting but there was no one to greet or seat us upon arrival. We had to wait about 5 mins before someone attended to us. We had panko breadcrumbs fried Brie and prawns with chilli as starters which were pretty decent. However, my main which was pan fried plaice was disappointing. The skin was not crispy, the plaice wasn’t seasoned enough so was very bland. The new potatoes accompanying the plaice was boiled without any sauce or seasoning. All in all a very bland dish. My other half had the rib eye steak which was better than the plaice.

  • Gillian B.1 review

    February 26, 2022

    9/10

    The food was excellent as was the service. The seating wasn't the best for ambience, especially when the toilet was used. Our friends advised to retry it on another night.

  • Linda E.1 review

    November 20, 2021

    10/10

    We are now regulars at The Ship Inn Lymington. Beautiful setting, delicious food the front of house service is second to none. Their attention to detail and friendly attitude to guests is the main reason we come back time after time. Well done The Ship

  • Cindy W.3 reviews

    November 12, 2021

    9/10

    A very pleasant evening, seemed a little quiet due to reduced service and bookings but all staff attentive and working hard. Very clean and well spaced out

  • Karen M.2 reviews

    September 10, 2021

    10/10

    Second visit for us - stopping off on way to Milford - food as before fantastic staff efficient knowledgeable and polite definitely a go to for us

  • Mike T.1 review

    July 29, 2021

    10/10

    We have been going to The Ship for over 30 years and it has never disappointed yet. Lymington is a delight and The Ship is our focal point. Food was excellent and our waiter was even better a superb character who helped to make the evening.

  • SUE S.1 review

    July 19, 2021

    10/10

    We had two lovely meals there, staff helpful and pleasant, food delicious, considering being short staffed. Dined by the water. Would highly recommend them

  • John W.1 review

    June 23, 2021

    8/10

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Food and ambience really good with good views. We had an excellent evening. Would definitely recommend The Ship Inn.

Tripadvisor reviews

2684 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.