Register my restaurant
Help


British

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Aldenham

8.1/10
128
3 Hartspring Lane, WD25 8AD Watford
British
Average price £20

Toby Carvery - Aldenham

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.1/10
Very good128 reviews
8.3/10

Food

8.6/10

Service

7.4/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Stan F.10 reviews

    March 9, 2024

    8.5/10

    It is a restaurant more suitable for families...

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Gareth T.1 review

    February 8, 2024

    8.5/10

    Booked ahead, but not busy as a week day. Seated but then able togo straight up for the carvary, this saved so much waiting time. Took a while to get served drinks. Food was lovely.

  • Michael F.1 review

    November 17, 2023

    6.5/10

    To book was easier ,. Welcome from the staff,. But the food was good .. but the services place was messy food everywhere ! Really was look nice

  • Tracy D.2 reviews

    October 30, 2023

    8/10

    Lovely restaurant, lovely staff but for the second time, my food has been only luke warm. Needs to be hotter.

  • Jeffrey K.1 review

    August 23, 2023

    8.5/10

    very good service from Salim, the only thing was the beef was very hard / tuff and difficult to cut

  • Heather P.1 review

    July 2, 2023

    4.5/10

    This is a typical institutional meal experience. The veg was cold, unappealing and tastless. The meat and roast potatoes were good but the Yorkshire puddings take up 50% of the plate, presumably to limit what else you can fit on the plate. The stuffing was a congealed solid lump of grey stodge. Pigs in blankets were good but extra. It was a number of years since I had been to a Toby, and I was hoping in vain, that standards had improved. It will be a number of years before I try again!

  • Graham F.1 review

    May 14, 2023

    7/10

    Hi Me and Friend went at lunchtime today, I thought it was a good experience and for a Sunday it was fairly quiet and we were well and quickly served but I was though a bit disappointed with the Beef although the turkey and the Veg was fine Thank you Graham Fowler

  • Jane M.1 review

    February 16, 2023

    8.5/10

    Toby is always ok, but our waitress was so lovely it made it a great lunch. She went out of her way to be helpful and very attentive without hovering

  • Steve M.1 review

    February 11, 2023

    4.5/10

    Roast beef was very gristle, potatoes were very flat and not crispy, they did not taste like freshly roasted potatoes. It was booked for 2:30pm so not rushed off their feet. Had coffee afterwards and no teaspoons available to stir with.

  • Christine H.1 review

    January 8, 2023

    4/10

    Dissapointed it was a special occasion had the e mail confirmation through waiting ten minutes for the staff ti find it on there computers they couldn't find it sat us at a different table we wanted a window sear it was our anniversary and the vegetables were cold very dussapointed

  • Patricia S.2 reviews

    May 4, 2022

    10/10

    Love this restaurant friendly clean and amazing food

  • Patricia S.2 reviews

    July 17, 2022

    10/10

    I can’t fault this restaurant but I was disappointed that although I had booked on the fork my booking did not go through to the to the Toby I was a little embarrassed but they accommodated Us anyway The staff are amazing

  • Sandra c.1 review

    June 12, 2022

    9/10

    Te food was good plenty to choose from. I had help from the staff to place food on my plate. It was reasonably priced. Will definitely go back.

  • Yvonne A.2 reviews

    June 7, 2022

    8/10

    We had a very enjoyable lunch and staff were welcoming

  • Ann O.1 review

    May 27, 2022

    7.5/10

    Lukewarm food. Too long on the servery. Potatoes like trying to eat leather. Definitely not the home of the roasties. Staff great.

  • Tracy H.1 review

    April 10, 2022

    10/10

    Loved it the guy serving was friendly, funny but professional. Service prompt. The queue was not too bad and food delicious . Disappointed no lamb but the meat aas cooked tonperfection

  • Marian F.1 review

    March 16, 2022

    6.5/10

    Returned for the third time this year but at at later time of 2pm Carvery very sparse unable to order prawns, Guiness or beer (other than bottled pale ale),no sticky toffee pudding and only one soda flavour available. Apparently "supply issues" Very disappointed and spoilt a celebration treat.

  • Debbie C.1 review

    February 6, 2022

    3/10

    Very disappointed Will not go again Waiting time to long and we did book a table And charged me to many meals so check your bill

  • Karlie R.3 reviews

    January 24, 2022

    10/10

    Absolutely love it ????

  • GLYNIS M.4 reviews

    December 23, 2021

    10/10

    We booked for 2pm but had to alter it yesterday to 1pm - no problem. Straight in after entering our registration no. in screen./ Shown to our table, took our drinks order straight away. No queues, food was hot, a variety of potatoes and vegetables. I loved the chef carving because he gave me lots of turkey, my oh and friend enjoyed their amount of meat as well..I must admit I have never had a bad meal there

  • Yvonne A.2 reviews

    November 23, 2021

    9/10

    The Toby was excellent today Hot, well cooked and enjoyable Carvery lunch

  • Lynda H.1 review

    November 7, 2021

    5/10

    We found this visit quite disappointing, they had problems with the ceiling ? and were limiting people, the carvery had run out of some of the meats and we were rushed through as though they didn't really want us there, the veggies were very luke warm, not very inviting at all. It was my Husband's birthday which made it even more disappointing.

  • Maria J.1 review

    October 31, 2021

    5.5/10

    On arrival 3 members of staff were gossiping behind bar no one noticing people waiting only got help when I interrupted them for help Got told to go to bar for drink first did then told table ready by I think the manager on shift but wasn’t directed or even what table no Food was not as nice as normal is A bit disappointing over all

  • Gary C.1 review

    October 30, 2021

    10/10

    The location was great parking good and food very nice

  • Shsan G.1 review

    September 22, 2021

    8/10

    The Aldenham Toby is a place I visit often. Always good service . The food is very good. Although this time the veggies were a bit limited. Not so varied. But .... it didn’t spoil my visit !

  • Vivien A.

    Vivien A.1 review

    September 20, 2021

    7.5/10

    I have dined at the carvery many times and have not been as disappointed as I was on Monday The lamb was so overcooked and when I was served it was at the end and dry. The potatoes were stone cold and all together it was a very disappointing meal Being it was on Monday I thought the meat would be freshly cooked.

  • Liliana M.5 reviews

    September 4, 2021

    10/10

    Great food, and great service a lovely place and relaxed ????

  • Dolly T.

    Dolly T.1 review

    July 28, 2021

    8.5/10

    We had a lovely meal. Hot and plenty of meat. Could have had a bigger selection of vegetables....missed parsnips! One of our puddings was disappointing, not enough chocolate brownie and far too much cream. Our young male waiter was very attentive and provided an excellent service

  • Mahendra C.1 review

    July 23, 2021

    3/10

    Attitude of staff useless. Refused us a table near the Windows saying the tables were reserved despite us having booked ourselves online. All night being there nobody came on those tables. I know the staff did not want to use that area. When asked for mustard they said they had none. The ambience is too dark and needs renovation all inside including lighting.

  • GLYNIS M.4 reviews

    July 15, 2021

    9/10

    There was no queue so that was good. Seated, ordered drinks. Then went to choose carvery. Food was nice and hot, looked good and more importantly I had loads of turkey. My husband and my friend both had the beef which was just the way they liked it. The restaurant seemed quiet, but most people were scoffing their food. Great to meet up, food good, place was quiet enough to hear yourself speak. Going again in a few weeks

  • Debbie C.1 review

    June 27, 2021

    9.5/10

    The staff were excellent and explained everything. Food was delicious. Not sure the thought process of getting staff to carry your plate to the table from a COVID point of view but hey I can’t knock it. First time back after a long time and was impressed. Only minute detail is the tables were sticky but as I said a minute detail.

  • Sally A.1 review

    June 12, 2021

    10/10

    The staff were excellent very polite and friendly they work very hard, the chief gave a good service very helpful and friendly, service was brilliant really enjoyed the excellent food.very organised keeping everyone safe. Will definitely be returning

  • GLYNIS M.4 reviews

    June 10, 2021

    9.5/10

    The Toby Carvery has always been good, it seems strange to have your meal that you select carried by your waitress to the table. I understand it's social distance. But we all enjoyed our meals and scraped our plates clean

  • Maria T.1 review

    June 5, 2021

    4/10

    The turkey and gammon were good. The rest of the food was soggy and bland . It all just tasted the same. Parsnips were soggy mess. The gravey was barely warm making the rest of the food just warm too. Treacle desert with custard. Just a cheap sponge cake in 2 bits must have been a teaspoon of treacle if that and lots of luke warm custard. I would not eat here again. Took a 87 year old friend out for 1st time in 18 months and she was not impressed either. Very disappointed.

  • Dave T.1 review

    February 7, 2019

    9.8/10

    Ques getting longer when going to get meals, but this is also a good sign of the quality of cooking, meats are always tasty, vegetables varied and fresh, waitresses are lovely especially sarah and Kelly on sundays, always smiling

Tripadvisor reviews

889 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.