Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Bishopstoke

8.3/10
53
Fair Oak Road, SO50 8JY EastleighSee map

Average price £20

Toby Carvery 3 Course Festive Menu £15.49

Reservation

Find a table

MENU

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

8.3/10
Very good53 reviews
8.5/10

Food

8.6/10

Service

7.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Lee J.
    Lee J.

    May 25, 20221 review

    9/10

    Very good place to eat and good value for money Ok

  • Joyce s.

    April 17, 20221 review

    6.5/10

    the staff were very welcoming but they should have 2 people carving meat as that is where the hold up is, the food was not very hot but otherwise ok.

  • John C.

    December 8, 20211 review

    7.5/10

    The staff were great and very helpful. The food was in general good, and well cooked, but unfortunately was no more than lukewarm when it was collected from the serving dishes.

  • Christine W.

    December 5, 20211 review

    8/10

    We enjoy coming to the Toby carvery for a Sunday lunch. It was today we were disappointed that as the plates were cold our dinner went cold quickly especially as I’m a slow eater. I put as much hot gravy on but the cold plates didn’t help.

  • ANNETTE W.

    November 23, 20213 reviews

    9.5/10

    ONCE AGAIN A LOVELY MEAL WITH PLENTY OF CHOICE AND EXCELLENT FRIENDLY STAFF..PLEASE CAN I SAY HOW HELPFUL OUR WAITRESS CHLOE WAS ,I NOTICED SHE WENT OUT OF HER WAY TO HELP AN ELDERLY GENTLEMAN WITH A WALKING STICK TO TAKE HIS MEAL TO HIS TABLE.

  • ANNETTE W.

    November 9, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    The restaurant we went to was very pleasant some of the paint was missing from the walls but otherwise ok . The waiter that showed us to our seat was very nice and explained everything to us . The meal was excellent everything was cooked to perfection and meat was plenty full . Will definitely be going back .

  • Mike J.

    October 18, 20211 review

    8/10

    Very good food and service but the building looks tired and in need of some TLC. There were several cobwebs on the ceiling and lots of places where paint was missing! Shame.

  • Kerry P.
    Kerry P.

    October 12, 20212 reviews

    9.5/10

    Fabulous carvery, great service and lovely friendly staff ????. They also offer discount for Blue Light card holders, so that was a nice little bonus ????????

  • Julie H.

    September 6, 20211 review

    6.5/10

    Table service was very good, waiter was very attentive,, however the food was disappointing. The batters were completely flat, the roast potatoes were greasy. The selection of vegetables was quite good but they all needed refreshing. The restaurant was quite busy so the vegetables should have been topped up. I had the gammon which was a new joint,?and it was delicious. My husband had turkey which he said was a bit dry.

  • Lorna P.

    September 6, 20211 review

    5/10

    Lovely setting but the staff were not friendly or helpful. I felt like I was an interruption to their conversation. I wanted to order some sandwiches for the table but was put off by the attitude. Won't visit again

  • Woodrow R.

    September 5, 20211 review

    4/10

    Pretty grim the whole service area meet was good everything else was awful gravy awful all over the serving area all up to spoons just a real mess load of mash would not go back

  • EDWARD G.

    September 2, 20211 review

    10/10

    Had a very enjoyable dinner fantastic place to eat for a family get together and a roast like mum cooked we will be coming again to number 1 Toby Carvery

  • Gavin W.

    August 30, 20211 review

    10/10

    Superb , well looked after from the friendly staff from start to end ,10/10

  • Gordon B.

    August 18, 20211 review

    10/10

    Very friendly staff and excellent service and great food highly recommended

  • Anna S.

    August 15, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    The food was really good, even though we went on a Sunday evening. A table with young children made such a mess of food all over the floor. The adults didn't make any attempt to clear it up. That must be why they eat out, because their floor at home is full of food. Why would you expect staff to clean up YOUR children's mess? Unbelievable!!!

  • Barbara B.

    August 7, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    We were pleasantly surprised! This was our first time visiting. The staff members were very friendly and polite which created a welcoming atmosphere. The food really surprised us, super tasty and fresh.... Amazing value for money. Will definitely be going back for more.

  • Mark L.

    July 23, 20211 review

    9/10

    Has usual the Toby was great. First time since lockdown and looks like its back to normal, fantastic. Online booking was simple and easy no issues. Will recommend it.

  • Tania w.

    July 20, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely relaxed meal we eat outside nice shaded area food was hot good selection for everyone

  • Sonia F.

    July 15, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Good but disappointing , one of our party was expecting am better menu , not really wanting roast the choice left was extremely poor. Family at next table had very noisy young children , screaming and shouting.

  • Heather B.

    June 30, 20211 review

    5/10

    Normally I would give an excellant on all accounts unfortunately yesterday the dinner was barely warm,and didn’t taste the same at all,needless to say we all were unable to actually eat the meals and. left feeling hungry! Shame because we all had high regard and been eating and recommending for years

  • Raine S.

    June 26, 20211 review

    9/10

    The staff were amazing- so polite friendly and attentive- made it a lovely visit - 5 definitely 5 star service from everyone and excellent value

  • Lynda C.

    June 8, 20211 review

    8/10

    Friendly welcoming staff. Restaurant a little tired but always clean and ready to eat at. Located in an ideal area with a lovely view of the river.

  • Cally P.

    June 4, 20211 review

    5.5/10

    There was no queue at the carvery station, but our food was room temperature at best, potatoes were soggy. No music makes for an awkward atmosphere

  • Jacqueline B.

    May 30, 20211 review

    6.5/10

    Although we were able to choose the food that was put on our plate it was dished up by the staff who gave us too much although asked for a smaller portion causing quite a bit of wastage. Also heavy handed with the gravy so difficult to see the food.

  • Tania w.

    May 25, 20213 reviews

    9.5/10

    Always carvery good home food

  • Anthony M.

    January 4, 20201 review

    8.3/10

    I booked a table for 4 prior to visiting Toby Carvary on arrival we had a short wait for our table, there was also a short wait before our table was vitiated by the waitress we then proceeded to the Calvary where we had a short queue before we were served, the Calvary meal was very nice and enjoyable, so, based on this visit we will have no hesitation in visiting Toby Calvary again

  • Carol E.

    May 10, 20191 review

    9.5/10

    Lovely food.

Tripadvisor reviews

862 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation