Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Toby Carvery - Braintree

9.1/10
90
Notley Cross, CM77 7AB Braintree
British
Average price £18

Toby Carvery - Braintree

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent90 reviews
9.1/10

Food

9/10

Service

9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
  • Frederick D.1 review

    May 19, 2024

    10/10

    I have visited Toby Carvery during the week, but Sundays is just that bit better. Usually, it gets really full. It is best to book your table then one can relax.

  • Marion S.1 review

    April 4, 2024

    7/10

    Food was good selection good food needed to be much hotter … Luke warm

  • John W.11 reviews

    March 27, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent again!!

  • John W.11 reviews

    February 29, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent again!

  • Anne O.1 review

    August 3, 2023

    10/10

    The food was really good and the staff were so friendly and great fun despite being so so busy Lynn and Jenny were lovely couldn’t rate them high enough. I just hope I got their names right. ????. From three very happy customers and we came home to no washing up . Another bonus.

  • Kate S.3 reviews

    January 28, 2023

    9/10

    Perfect / delicious food and very good customer service.

  • David B.18 reviews

    December 18, 2022

    9.5/10

    Great Sunday roast, served nice and hot with excellent service.

  • Damian C.5 reviews

    September 17, 2022

    5/10

    Food was colder than usual, we also got sat near doors that open in the summer and was a big fraught coming through

  • Hilary S.2 reviews

    December 14, 2021

    8.5/10

    Staff were lovely, very clean, food was not hot enough only complaint. Enjoyed our lunch just would fave been nicer if food hotter. Quality if food very good will return

  • Roxy H.1 review

    December 14, 2021

    8/10

    A few items on the menu were not available and there was a long wait for the starters, but the food itself tasted nice.

  • Craig F.1 review

    December 10, 2021

    8/10

    Had a nice festive menu 3 courser! Couldn’t move after it, some plate full

  • Ria N.1 review

    November 6, 2021

    5.5/10

    Hadn't been to a Toby Carvey for years and was looking forward to it. However we was disappointed as the food was luke warm and not hot. Quality of beef wasn't very good and chewy. Overall very average not the best we have had.

  • Michelle m.1 review

    October 17, 2021

    10/10

    I'm really impressed with how the Toby has improved. It has literally been a few years since we went, the service was amazing and happy and efficient. I loved how you can book and how the wait 4 food has come down massively. We love a roast but in the past have been put off by wait times. We'll done Toby we will be back!

  • Zoe B.1 review

    October 16, 2021

    6/10

    The food was only luke warm and the veg a bit undercooked. The cabbage was raw. Staff were lovely however. With the food starting off as like warm, after a couple of minutes under the air con it was cold.

  • Yvonne J.1 review

    October 17, 2021

    8/10

    I was a little put off at first as we were welcomed by a man in a badly unironed shirt. However the waitress was lovely and the food was plentiful, good and hot.

  • Sharon H.3 reviews

    October 15, 2021

    10/10

    Such a welcoming restaurant. The staff were cheery and went above and beyond for us. The food was delicious as usual. We will be back again very soon. Thank you for a lovely afternoon.

  • Sabine R.1 review

    October 1, 2021

    9/10

    Lynn our waitress was amazing, very welcoming and helpful, it was my first time at Toby with the children, wanted a booth at the front at the front but the manger said no, he Proceeded to sit us somewhere else and before we even left we were told that we have half hour left in our seats, as other guest we’re coming he tried to blame our waitress for sitting us there when it was actually him. We came in at 5:30pm Friday the 1st of October I will be going again but the manager is a jobs worth!

  • John W.11 reviews

    September 27, 2021

    10/10

    Great as always

  • John W.11 reviews

    September 20, 2021

    10/10

    Excellent value for money. Will return again & again.

  • Peter C.1 review

    September 19, 2021

    7.5/10

    We have used the Braintree Toby Carvery on numerous occasions and without doubt it is the best in the region. This was our first visit since the pandemic took hold and it wasn't as good. The meats are still of a great standard, but on this occasion there was no crackling to go with the pork. A small gripe, but nevertheless, you can't beat a nice bit of crackling! The meats were moist and very tasty. The rest of the dishes however, were disappointing. The roast potatoes, normally crispy outside and fluffy inside, were soft and not particularly well browned. There was a macaroni cheese dish that my vegetarian daughter pushed aside with a grimace after the first taste - and she's by no means a fussy eater. There was a very good selection of vegetables but sadly they were quite bland in flavour. The carrots were soft (sort of rubbery) and the mashed potato looked glutenous and uninviting. In fact there were two dishes of it and both appeared to be untouched. I'm not sure what had happened to the gravy, which usually looks very inviting; today it was a browny-grey colour and didn't have its usual shine. More plus point however, the yorkies were great, the cabbage was great, the cauliflower cheese was great and the puddings were very tasty indeed. It's just a shame that something has changed since the lockdowns ended; it just feels like the food standards have slipped a little. I'm sure it won't take much to rectify, but on today's experience, we might not be returning very soon.

  • Ana R.1 review

    September 1, 2021

    10/10

    The restaurant was very good and the waitress Bee was fantastic, very nice person and ask a couple of times if everything was okay i was very impressed

  • Billie D.1 review

    August 31, 2021

    5/10

    This was a surprise for my husbands birthday despite a note on the booking the manager made it obvious that the table was for more than 2 people. None of the starters we asked for was available. We had the garlic mushrooms- awful dripping in oil - we return them and obviously we were not charged. There were limited deserts available . The waitress was very good, and the service was also very good. We felt for her and the other girls because it wasnt their fault. Poor management, poor chef and overall not a positive experience for a birthday. The waitresses sang him happy birthday which was really sweet!

  • Shirley B.1 review

    August 30, 2021

    8/10

    Good service, was told to wait as our waitress "Kelly" woukd let us know when we could go to get our food , but "Kelly never arrived, so we just went any way nice food

  • Louise c.1 review

    August 27, 2021

    9/10

    Table service fantastic,food was delicious but it was let down by your chefs their service was appalling and very rude. They did not shown any interest towards serving us and their facial expression explained it all. That made us uncomfortable selecting our food.

  • Amanda A.1 review

    August 21, 2021

    8/10

    Efficient online booking system, Friendly staff and good quality food. We were seated quickly. There were hygiene stations that were easily accessible and the staff were socially distanced and wore masks.

  • Cheryl C.1 review

    August 18, 2021

    8.5/10

    We really enjoyed our meal, I have coeliac disease, and the staff explained what I could safely eat . My husband is a vegetarian and loved his veggie pie. Y knife wasn’t properly clean, but the waitress promptly brought me another.nothing was too much trouble.

  • Amy C.1 review

    July 24, 2021

    2.5/10

    Wouldn’t go back if I was paid, I have had a bad bell and been sick since returning home. Also a snotty member of staff tutted and shook her head at my toddler for crying as she got stuck in their high chair!! AWFUL EXPERIENCE

  • Sara O.2 reviews

    June 27, 2021

    5/10

    The meet and greet were lovely and the waiting staff good too however the 2 food servers were so rude, the first chap on meat was carving the meet so thin and hardly any on the plate, when my partner asked for a different meat he huffed, sliced the thinnest slice and threw the knife down, I notice he did this quick a lot whilst I was standing there making the experience feel like we shouldn’t be there and we were stopping him from doing something better, the second chap wasn’t much better, I asked for the dripping potatoes he replied we don’t have any, I asked if I could have the front ones as they looked crispier and he replied ‘they are all the same’ I told him if I’m paying surely I can choose ,… to then be told there was no apple sauce and the girl carrying the plates back to the table when asked why is was necessary to do this?? Apparently it’s the law!! I will not be returning

  • Lainey M.2 reviews

    May 28, 2021

    10/10

    I like the Toby Carvery in Braintree but I have to say the restaurant was cold and i wish I had bought my coat. I did say to the waitress it was cold but the food is always good so all I have to remember is a coat on our visits. ????

Tripadvisor reviews

876 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.