Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Toby Carvery - Buckhurst Hill

8.7/10
110
High Road, IG9 5SR Buckhurst Hill
British
Average price £20

Toby Carvery - Buckhurst Hill

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.7/10
Fabulous110 reviews
8.9/10

Food

8.7/10

Service

8.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Audrey F.4 reviews

    May 10, 2024

    8.5/10

    The food this time was a little disappointing. The meat was excellent, vegetables a little tired and unfortunately the plates were not hot enough. Therefore the main course was cold before we could eat it all.

  • Vanh D.101 reviews

    April 16, 2024

    10/10

    Great tasting cavery with lovely staff. Great value and good parking.

  • Lin P

    Lin P22 reviews

    March 7, 2024

    6/10

    Great for a quick lunch during the week. The meat, roast potatoes and potato gratin were delicious. Overall a good value for money meal

  • Sholai B.

    Sholai B.3 reviews

    January 12, 2024

    6.5/10

    Due to an offer, the restaurant was so full that we had to eat over 45 mins for our table despite us booking. Due to a very packed restaurant there were not many vegetables available to go with the food and service was slower as to be expected.

  • Marlene F.1 review

    November 21, 2023

    10/10

    Greeted warmly , arrived early but table soon available. Food well presented and tasted good. TAKE service good. Enjoyed our lunch.

  • Amelia F.1 review

    November 11, 2023

    7/10

    Staff were very good. Food was very good but I found it got cold too quickly. Tables were crammed in, obviously to maximise number of diners but it doesn't help when your neighbours are shouty and laughing at shrill scream pitch at naff jokes. What can you do about that. Sod all as far as I can see but it's your problem.

  • Jean H.1 review

    October 24, 2023

    10/10

    The food was excellent, so delicious. Our waitress was lovely and friendly and extremely busy but always had time to chat with a smile, she made us feel very welcome.

  • Terrence C.2 reviews

    September 16, 2023

    9.5/10

    Our restaurant is excellent- staff and service excellent. Food of a very high quality

  • Elaine W.1 review

    May 26, 2023

    10/10

    Midday lunch and chat with friend. Food, service, surroundings excellent. Plenty of parking, do not forget to enter your registration. Thank you Toby Carvery.

  • Tom J.1 review

    April 13, 2023

    10/10

    Had a great time with my friends went for dinner for leaving do for my friend morning aboud The lady looked after us name was Karen really lovely lady thank you We are Happy Toby’s ???????? 10/10

  • Claire A.2 reviews

    March 4, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely staff and food and service of food very good

  • Simone M.1 review

    January 29, 2023

    2.5/10

    The restaurant was dirty the food area was dirty food on the floor and around the bowls no one was cleaning that area. The tables were left dirty when customer left

  • David F.1 review

    January 8, 2023

    4.5/10

    The beef was tough as an old boot. Service was passable, I didn’t expect much and that was what they provided.. The booking was ‘lost’ and the receptionist seemed to think it was our fault until we showed the email.

  • David H.1 review

    January 8, 2023

    6.5/10

    Staff were really nice and accomadating

  • Norman P.1 review

    August 20, 2022

    8.5/10

    The food was reasonable although the turkey was somewhat dry. However, the service was excellent and I must mention the waitress Giovanni from Brazil, who was caring and very efficient. I would recommend this Toby without doubt.

  • Chas H.1 review

    June 19, 2022

    2/10

    Arrived on time for our booked table, we were told that we would need to wait for twenty minuets, this after being texted that morning to remind us we have a table booked. The line for a meal was huge, the atmosphere was dense and uncomfortable. We left to go home. Disgusted.

  • Audrey F.4 reviews

    June 8, 2022

    9.5/10

    We had a super meal at the Toby Carvery, Buckhurst Hill. The food was perfect and ..... brilliantly hot plates!!! The service was second to none with a charming and friendly waitress, who went beyond our expectations and made our time there great fun.

  • John p.

    John p.1 review

    April 3, 2022

    10/10

    Very busy but to be expected on a Sunday, great service by the chefs, meat & veg all cooked to our taste, Yorkshires nearly as good as my wife's ????. Tables well spaced the young German waitress was very friendly & efficient. We will be returning.????????????????

  • Stephen B.2 reviews

    January 19, 2022

    2/10

    Never again ovens don’t work 45 mins bf meal cancelled got hotel next door to have Toby next door

  • Aggrey S.2 reviews

    December 28, 2021

    10/10

    The quality of meats was excellent. The turkey and beef meats were moist and full of flavour! Vegetables too were very good. The service was very good because the waiter was responsive. A good place to bring your family.

  • Sharon M.1 review

    December 7, 2021

    6.5/10

    The food was very nice but it wasn’t that hot. The service was really good but i’d booked a table in the window but was told we couldn’t have it because another party was coming but they didn’t turn up!

  • John K.3 reviews

    November 5, 2021

    7.5/10

    The food was good but could have been hotter. The temperature in the restaurant was uncomfortably chilly. The waiter was very efficient though plainly run off his feet, definitely a staff shortage. I would take these small problems as being a one off. Will find out on our next visit.

  • Heather P.3 reviews

    October 27, 2021

    5/10

    The carvery chef was inexperienced. The turkey was so dry that he had to get a new one which he didn’t know how to remove and used his bare hand. The cauliflower cheese was more like a purée. The carrots were discoloured and old. There was no other server who was replacing dishes or tidying up spilt veg. They had run out of Yorkshire puddings even know it was early evening. Very disappointing

  • Tracey j.2 reviews

    October 16, 2021

    9/10

    Food was really good service was a bit slow not all food came at same time apart from that lovely evening

  • Peter H.1 review

    October 17, 2021

    9/10

    Staff helpful, chef serving was very good, constantly smiling and attentive to customer needs, very good. Would happily return to this restaurant again.

  • John K.3 reviews

    September 12, 2021

    7.5/10

    Good food, good selection, all freshly cooked. Waitress very nice and efficient. Reasonably priced. All in all a satisfactory experience, will definitely use again.

  • Margaret C.1 review

    September 10, 2021

    10/10

    food was very good and we enjoyed a pleasant meal thanks to all at the toby carvery will certainly go again. Good selection of everything

  • Andrew Oh

    Andrew Oh1 review

    September 5, 2021

    8/10

    The service we had was really good. Friendly and funny. The serving staff were quite rude. Plus portion size of the meat was very little despite their being a huge amount of meat available.

  • Elizabeth W.1 review

    September 2, 2021

    9/10

    The staff were very helpful - I am disabled. Particularly liked the roast potatoes and gravy. Vegetarian/ vegan main course options looked rather heavy - lots of pastry. Carvery vegetables all expertly cooked. Gravies not labelled. Had to ask which was veggie.

  • Janice B.1 review

    August 19, 2021

    10/10

    So nice to be able to serve ourselves once again. Good selection of vegetables, friendly welcoming staff.

  • Peter p.1 review

    August 15, 2021

    5.5/10

    There were too many tables too close together, felt unsafe and closetraphobic. The self service food area had no covers to protect the food from breath and from sneezing or coughing. Everyone was touching the same serving handles. It was not relaxing and peaceful ambiance.

  • Rita S.1 review

    August 8, 2021

    10/10

    We always use this carvery at Buckhurst Hill. Our last trip was disappointing *beef was tough, veg serving dishes needed re-filling) but this visit was great - food perfect- we left clean plates ????

  • Kara H.1 review

    July 30, 2021

    7/10

    Meat was tepid cabbage was tepid and stuffing was rock hard. Been going there for years and we were all very disappointed. Unfortunately will not revisit any time soon.

  • Jill S.1 review

    July 25, 2021

    8/10

    Good for a ‘quick’ Sunday Cavery. Quantity of meat borders on the ‘mean’ side - one and a half very thin slices of lamb (the amount you might receive at a primary school lunch) - it was less than generous. Reasonable selection of vegetables and the temperature of the food was good. The service was excellent and our waitress was exceptionally friendly and was very good with our grandchildren.

  • Yvonne L.1 review

    July 23, 2021

    9.5/10

    We were taken straight to the table by a friendly member of staff. Our order was taken quickly and then we were served by a lovely chatty chef, the waitress was very efficient and helpful, the quality of the food was excellent

  • Julie G.2 reviews

    July 24, 2021

    10/10

    My family of four had a lovely meal at lunch time today. The meal was excellent and the service superb to. Many thanks for a lovely time the first since lock down eating out as a family

  • Lilian B.1 review

    July 17, 2021

    8/10

    The.food should have been warmer, it gets cold on top of serving dishes. The food should have been taken from bottom of dish. Some of the potatoes were black, where they were over cooked. Service was good

  • Sonia B.1 review

    July 3, 2021

    10/10

    Service and food excellent. Staff very welcoming. Very covid safe as tables spaced accordingly and not crowded at all. We would certainly return, as enjoyed our late lunch with friends

  • Shannon M.1 review

    June 27, 2021

    9.5/10

    Sunday roast...everybody wanted one the day we visited! Given the Covid restrictions, this venue did a good job navigating the rules. Food was great, the queue was long, and most people obeyed the rules. Our table hostess took great care of us and was super pleasant despite being super busy in her section. Overall, we had a really good dining experience.

  • Carol R.1 review

    June 23, 2021

    10/10

    Restaurant reasonably empty & quiet. Understand the COVID reasons for chef serving vegetables but dislike different food piled one on top of another with whole plate swimming in gravy.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

710 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.