Register my restaurant
Help


British

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Cooper Dean

8.3/10
80
Castle Lane East, BH7 7DP Bournemouth
British
Average price £19

Toby Carvery - Cooper Dean

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.3/10
Very good80 reviews
8.2/10

Food

9.1/10

Service

7.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Jacqui B.1 review

    November 26, 2023

    10/10

    Brilliant staff and food. Definitely going again.

  • PAUL M.1 review

    November 19, 2023

    8.5/10

    Enjoyed a very local place. Recommend its good quality food, and friendly service, available if you want it.

  • Susan W.1 review

    November 12, 2023

    7/10

    The cauliflower was bland no cheese sauce and some looked black and it looked as if it had been there for a long time I had a small amount and it did not have any taste .this was at peek time .the rest of the meal was ok as roast go nothing special..I ended up with a back ache had to sit on the edge of the bench seat as table was too faraway and ended up with no back support and back ache. On the positive side had a lovely waitress.I will not be in a hurry to return to the Toby.

  • Melody W.2 reviews

    September 17, 2023

    9.5/10

    Gets very busy with people queueing along side tables, which makes it very hard for the servers to get by with drinks

  • Angela C.1 review

    September 4, 2023

    5/10

    Disappointed that cauliflower was not in a sauce.. Looked very overcooked and one vegetable tray had not been replenished ( peas?)

  • Colin B.6 reviews

    June 2, 2023

    10/10

    Very good meal, shame you don't have lamb on the menue.

  • Kate E.1 review

    May 10, 2023

    8/10

    Good roast for the price (used my meerkat 25% discount)… lovely friendly service

  • Amie D.

    Amie D.1 review

    April 30, 2023

    9/10

    We had a great Sunday afternoon. They accomdated adding 3.5 extra people to our already 6 person booked! Which was really nice. Food was good. Service was excellent.

  • Paul G.1 review

    April 2, 2023

    7.5/10

    The gentleman serving the food was excellent, really quick, asking what the next customer wants as he’s finishing off the current one, which I like.

  • Isabel B.1 review

    March 12, 2023

    10/10

    Was an amazing experience and lovely food. We arrived really early (mistake on our part) and the lady at the front said they may be able to get us in early, we didn't think we would as it was very busy which we understand. They managed to fit us in early which we really good of them. Also the staff members we all ready friendly especially our server and the chef as he was dancing around and being super happy for a Sunday evening. Lovely place to eat 10/10

  • Steven Carl G.7 reviews

    March 12, 2023

    10/10

    The best Toby carvery around good quality food and service didn't have to queue fresh lamb leg it was delicious

  • Steven Carl G.7 reviews

    January 27, 2023

    8.5/10

    A good Toby carvery was busy but it was a Friday night good selection of meat and vegetables. Reasonable prices

  • Debbie M.1 review

    August 29, 2022

    9/10

    Excellent waiter service ,the food was good and we didn't have to queue long to get our cravery.The only thing that was an issue was that it was very warm ,unable to access windows to open ,even the staff were suffering.

  • Tina J.1 review

    February 6, 2022

    5.5/10

    The lady at the front desk was not at all very welcoming, but the waitress who took our drinks orders was efficient.

  • Gary M.1 review

    December 25, 2021

    5/10

    Food quality was great meats excellent however the service was appalling - the staff spent most of the time looking at the till working out what was ordered by whom and what was left. It was pre ordered anyway so there isn’t any excuse ! When your paying £55 each Christmas Day YOU EXPECT some sort of service there was no asking about the food, no repeat drinks offered, very slow service yet it wasn’t that busy as we were the last sitting, and the Xmas pud was burnt (way over microwaved it was hard ) sorry you have to do much better

  • Denise W.1 review

    November 25, 2021

    8.5/10

    Very busy had to queue for carvery but food was good quality and staff were working hard to keep everything replenished

  • Rose H.1 review

    November 24, 2021

    3/10

    The food was cold, despite liking my vegetables on the firm side these were under cooked, the cue were a mile long (was standing for an hour), as they had the 50% off voucher they should had 2 chefs serving, all in all it was pandemonium, definitely wouldn't visit this Toby branch again.

  • Sue S.1 review

    November 21, 2021

    8/10

    The best roast potatoes ???? ever Would recommend them

  • Laurence H.2 reviews

    November 18, 2021

    5/10

    The meat was very good, why they put massive Yorkshire puddings on the plate is beyond me, apart from filling the plate. The veg was average, the roast spuds were really bad. My last visit was actually very good. Not impressed this time.

  • Catherine B.2 reviews

    November 11, 2021

    8.5/10

    Great welcome and service (as always). My only slight criticism is that the plates were cold and that made the meal cold by the time I sat down. Good selection of veggies though, our plates were empty by the time they were collected! I enjoyed my lunch!

  • Maricel G.1 review

    November 6, 2021

    4.5/10

    Whilst we were excited to visit Toby’s again with my husband and mom-in-law, the food turned out to be a huge disappointment. Firstly the meat that was offered to us were rather too thin and fatty. The vegetables selections were also aweful. Bur. Parsnips, rock hard potatoes that keep on bouncing on my plate and too hard to slice with and the pototoes were tasteless. The cabbage needed salt, the cauliflower simply lacks seasonings. The food during this visit was extremely terrible.

  • Caroline V.1 review

    October 31, 2021

    4.5/10

    Plates were not clean, service area dirty with food all over it. Person looking after our table was very unfriendly . Very disappointing . With service

  • Brenda M.1 review

    September 9, 2021

    8.5/10

    The waiting staff where excellent but had to queue for quite a while as they seem to have run out of potatoes and vegetables. Once replenished, in dribs and drabs, itmoved very well.

  • Karen D.1 review

    September 9, 2021

    5/10

    I always enjoy Toby however on this occasion I was disappointed. The roast potatoes in beef fat were delicious. The Turkey was unusually dry but still edible. The other vegetables I had were good. The Yorkshire was impossible to cut let alone eat. I love Yorkshire pudding so this really did ruin my lunch.

  • Lorraine G.2 reviews

    September 5, 2021

    9/10

    all good

  • Michael M.4 reviews

    September 3, 2021

    9/10

    Everything to our liking, as usual.

  • Karina F.1 review

    August 22, 2021

    8/10

    The food was lovely, apart from the roast potatoes. Way to overdone for my taste. Unfortunately it was very busy when we came, and we had to join the end of a very long queue.

  • Helen R.1 review

    July 30, 2021

    7/10

    Good value roast and tasty for the price but not exactly the best. Food could be warmer, potatoes could be nicer if they were crisp. And the gravy was tasteless

  • Debbie B.1 review

    July 24, 2021

    7.5/10

    Was ok not a massive selection of Vegas and the leeks were completely over loaded with salt which spoiled them, the lady serving was lovely although she seemed run off her feet. Would definitely go back again

  • Sharron E.2 reviews

    July 9, 2021

    6.5/10

    The staff were very attentive and checked throughout if we were happy with everything. The man slicing the meat was chatty. Tge man dishing the veg was a bit slapdash and the food was just piled onto the plate which was a little off putting. Overall it is good value for the quantity but I only managed to eat half.

  • Karen L.2 reviews

    July 3, 2021

    9/10

    Lovely food as always and generous portions, even when served by the chef. The room was a little hot and stuffy, which wasn't great considering covid recommendations. We were confused by the requirement for a waitress to take our plate from the chef and then take it to the table. She had no gloves on and touched everyone's plates, potentially also touching everyone's dinner. This appeared to be one extra unnecessary person involved with handling our food. Maybe Toby Carvery could explain this rule? Overall a nice evening but left us confused with company policy.

  • Christine N.1 review

    May 31, 2021

    8/10

    We where disappointed not to be able to get the seabass ,but the carvery was fine ,Just wish it could be hot ,the staff where friendly and helpful over all not a bad lunch.

  • - -1 review

    March 2, 2020

    10/10

    Met family for an amazing Roast, always good here, lovely food and very friendly staff, will be back in a couple of weeks??

  • - -1 review

    February 19, 2020

    9.8/10

    The service and food were very good

Tripadvisor reviews

761 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.