Register my restaurant
Help


British

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Formby

9.3/10
63
13 Church Road, Formby, L37 8BQ Liverpool
British
Average price £19

Toby Carvery - Formby

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.3/10
Excellent63 reviews
9.1/10

Food

9.7/10

Service

9.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • MARIE H.1 review

    April 28, 2024

    10/10

    Love to refurb at the Formby Toby Carvery. The staff are amazing and service excellent. Always plenty of good choices to choose from and food is cooked to perfection.

  • Bernadette Mary josephine L.1 review

    February 17, 2024

    10/10

    Lovely food ,as always and a friendly super service .

  • John U.1 review

    November 19, 2023

    10/10

    Large carpark. The staff were welcoming and friendly. I liked being able to serve myself the variety of well-cooked vegetables.

  • sacha M.

    sacha M.1 review

    October 25, 2023

    9.5/10

    Food was amazing, love the beef roasties and the gammon is gorgeous! Love it here, will be back soon!

  • Linda M.1 review

    May 15, 2023

    8.5/10

    very professional even when it is busy , attentive and concerned about your needs. Knowledgeable.

  • geoffrey m.1 review

    May 13, 2023

    9/10

    Great place to eat food really nice the waiting on staff were friendly an polite really enjoyed it as did my nine guests I go back time an time again great stuff ????????

  • Helen B.1 review

    February 26, 2023

    5.5/10

    We usually have a great experience here, however, the food was only lukewarm, so you could taste fat more on the meats. Also when we arrived we were asked if we wanted pigs in blankets, we thought this was part of the carvery price. We were not advised that it wasn't. So were shocked when it appeared on the bill, we only ate a few of them too.

  • Julie B.1 review

    February 26, 2023

    9/10

    The bay horse has the best staff in the Toby company, always friendly and polite ! Great food and good value for money. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • James M.1 review

    October 9, 2022

    9.5/10

    Very friendly staff who worked hard to please shown to table on immediate arrival everything was clean and a very friendly atmosphere meal was hot

  • Amanda P.1 review

    June 5, 2022

    8.5/10

    The staff were very patient & accommodating with our many requests & change in numbers. Pleasant atmosphere. Quick efficient service. Food was hot but we did have an early booking

  • Stephen N.1 review

    March 20, 2022

    9/10

    I have been to this restaurant many times and it never let's me down. Food great and a great service

  • Malcolm S.1 review

    November 16, 2021

    2.5/10

    This place is very tired, tables, chairs and decor very dated. Even the christmas decorations were dated. The food was absolutely awful, dry roast beef, pork with no crackling as stated on the menu. The veggies were dry, overcooked and tasteless. Tobys famous gravy, disgusting.

  • Joseph T.1 review

    November 7, 2021

    7/10

    We did not enjoy our carvery on this occasion the meat was of poor quality tough ,our previous visit on 24/10/21 was excellent quality ,,we will try again in the near future during mid week , before writing off totally, regards Mr J Townley

  • Lisa F.1 review

    November 5, 2021

    10/10

    I love the bay horse I love the staff are all really pleasant your greeted when you come in like an old friend. Keep up the good work. Best of all is the roast u can’t beat it thanks guys xxx

  • Graham M.

    Graham M.1 review

    October 31, 2021

    5/10

    food was dissapointing, maybe because it was 7pm when we arrived. roast potatoes were hard, stuffing i wouldn't put it on a plate ( possibly the wall as rendering) meat was cut so thin, you could see through it.would'nt return.

  • Julie C.1 review

    October 23, 2021

    10/10

    Always get a great welcome here, the Formby Toby always has a welcoming feeling it's so cosy. The staff can't do enough to help, they went out of their way to find us some crayons for my Grandsons. The food is superb as always, and definitely the best roast by far.

  • Dawn O.1 review

    October 5, 2021

    8.5/10

    Very enjoyable lunch with friends. Our waitress was excellent, ready to serve at all time but non intrusive. Food was lovely will be back in the not too distant future

  • Cheryl S.1 review

    October 3, 2021

    10/10

    Taken to our table. Waitress arrived straight away to take order. Went to get our carvery which was delicious. Couldn't really find fault with anything !

  • Alison F.1 review

    September 12, 2021

    7.5/10

    When we arrived 6.30pm on a Sunday evening, it was busy. Not so busy we had to wait as we had booked, but most tables full. Service good as friendly waitress quick to take and bring drink order. At this time of night lots of young families so some crying children. Food was plentiful. Self serve for the most part. Good choice and food hot. Would definitely come back.

  • Joan P.1 review

    September 5, 2021

    10/10

    Food was lovely nice and hot very tasty. Restaurant was very busy as we're staff. You didn't have to wait for anythink . Will be back. Staff lovely as usual.

  • John J.1 review

    August 28, 2021

    7.5/10

    Carvery always good with very pleasant service

  • Mrs B B.1 review

    August 22, 2021

    5.5/10

    The Pub had come recommended hence why we booked - the service was good with friendly helpful & attentive service, but we were disappointed with the food as the veg weren't very hot & the meat portions rather small!

  • Anne C.1 review

    August 11, 2021

    7/10

    Food quite good although pork was very dry and dumplings not very exciting.

  • Shirley P.1 review

    August 8, 2021

    8.5/10

    We had a lovely meal and the restaurant was not as busy as we feared. The staff were very pleasant and not over attentive.

  • Yvonne H.1 review

    July 16, 2021

    8/10

    We regularly visit the Carvery. We would recommend , great food and service. Good service during cov , masks worn and marked out on floor to keep distance.

  • Jan K.1 review

    July 4, 2021

    6.5/10

    We came from St Helens to take my parents out,, we have been here a few times as they only live round the corner, staff where lively Meat portions where small, and veg dry, I asked for cranberry sauce and gravy, my meal arrived swimming in both, we will be trying elsewhere in future

Tripadvisor reviews

354 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.