Register my restaurant
Help


British

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Goldington

8.7/10
138
403 Goldington Road, MK41 0DS Bedford
British
Average price £20

Toby Carvery - Goldington

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.7/10
Fabulous138 reviews
8.7/10

Food

9/10

Service

8.4/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Marian K.1 review

    May 6, 2024

    10/10

    We love the Toby. We are assured of good food and great service.

  • Heather P.

    Heather P.26 reviews

    March 30, 2024

    10/10

    Wonderful server in Taylor

  • Wendy A.1 review

    February 23, 2024

    9/10

    The staff were pleasant but long wait before we were told to go to the carvery. Food was hot.

  • Jeanette D.2 reviews

    January 7, 2024

    7.5/10

    we had booked a table for two by a window seat. When we arrived at the restaurant, we booked in and was immediately escorted to our table; even though we were a bit early and wanted to get a drink first. We were led right to the back of the restaurant and shown to a table in the middle of the room. I informed the woman who escorted us that we had booked a window seat. She was very rude and told us that the table was the only one available before walking off. My husband has recently been ill and would overheat so we just wanted to be somewhere he could leave and step outside when needed.

  • Edwina D.1 review

    December 19, 2023

    10/10

    We are regular customers at The Toby wherever they may be, The revised surroundings at Bedford are very lovely and elegant. We had a wonderful meal as we usually do, ( although one of our party thought the vegetables were not as hot as they perhaps could have been. ) As an ex caterer I thought the servery area was lovely and sparkling clean and the food looked lovely. A big thank you to all the staff and especially to Jacob.

  • Pauline R.1 review

    November 5, 2023

    8.5/10

    When we arrived we were told our booking was for 6pm. It was not it was 1pm 6 people. This was shown in my booking confirmation. After the confusion the staff did sort it out and get us seated quickly.

  • Sharon H.2 reviews

    October 27, 2023

    9/10

    Meal wasn't that hot. Gravy was cold. But servi e from waitress was very good. Good atmosphere

  • Keith R.1 review

    October 24, 2023

    9.5/10

    Great value. Super service. Super ambience. We will be back that is for sure.

  • Debbie G.1 review

    August 18, 2023

    9/10

    We had a lovely meal for 5 of us and had a lovely time. We brought a take away home for my daughter who couldn't make it. When she opened the bag she was very disappointed, it was a child's portion and only contained her meat, Yorkshire, carrots, cauliflower cheese and roast potatoes. Toby is known for the great variety of veg and she felt it was not great value for the monet we paid.

  • Peter A.1 review

    July 9, 2023

    8/10

    I lunched with a friend in a part of the restaraunt that we had not been in before. The seating arrangements were light, roomy and comfortable. I had gammon & turkey on a larger plate. It was excellent. THe vegetables were average but I was disappointed that there were no parsnips or brussels available. Other than that it was a good experience.

  • Pamela C.1 review

    July 9, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent friendly service value for money lovely meal

  • Caroline N.1 review

    May 21, 2023

    7.5/10

    We did have a lovely time, but the meat let it down sadly. It was cold and chewy. Might be a good idea to have a refilling drink dispenser up the top of the restaurant as well as the bottom of the restaurant because by the time you stand in the queue waiting to get your drink, your lunch has gone cold!! The service was excellent though.

  • Romina L.18 reviews

    May 16, 2023

    7/10

    Food generally ok, what you would expect apart from yorkshires that tasted part cooked. Strong taste of egg. Beef overcooked, tough and dry. Ice maker not working on drink dispenser. Service was good, waiter was friendly.

  • Andrew R.1 review

    May 8, 2023

    6/10

    All was good but the food was cold which spoiled the experience, other people had the same complaint and we thought getting there early would be an advantage.

  • Lorraine W.1 review

    April 30, 2023

    3.5/10

    The carvery food was cold, undercooked and tasteless. Staff were very quick to try and clear when we were not finished. We were packed into a tiny space which was not comfortable and in the way of people going up for their meals. Only saving Grace was the puddings were great. Overall, very disappointed and won’t be back. Very disappointed and won’t be back.

  • stuart n.2 reviews

    April 19, 2023

    8/10

    Really enjoyed the quality of the food but the only criticism is that it could have been a lot hotter. Unaware if a microwave was available for use but if it wasn't then supplying one with a disclaimer attached could be the answer. Very reasonably priced. Will certainly use again.

  • raymond f.1 review

    April 7, 2023

    4/10

    Very poor choice of veg and all luk warm even gravey was cold This our second visit in three weeks won't be returning

  • Gerallt H.1 review

    March 19, 2023

    8.5/10

    Ideal for the family and excellent service from the lady who waited on us! Had a young child with us and speed was important! Will definitely be back.

  • Allison T.1 review

    March 2, 2023

    8/10

    Good service

  • Sarah W.1 review

    February 17, 2023

    10/10

    Our waitress was lovely and it was a lovely time spent for our nephews bday ☺️

  • Joyce C.1 review

    December 25, 2022

    10/10

    the staff were great food was great had a fantastic time would definitely go back soon thanks guys.

  • Jeanette D.2 reviews

    December 9, 2022

    7.5/10

    I have always enjoy my meal the the carvery. The staff are helpful. My only complaint is that we were say in the area neat the toilets. In that area, the chairs were dirty and heavily stained. I feel that the whole restaurant could do up a deep clean and refurbishment.

  • Clare B.1 review

    November 13, 2022

    9.5/10

    Very friendly staff at point of arriving and are table waitress was very friendly and efficient. Food was piping hot and delicious. I’d definitely be visiting again with friends and family.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • June S.1 review

    August 23, 2022

    9.5/10

    We use this Toby quite a lot and today I took some visitors there and they were very impressed with the food, service and price! They were also amazed at the choices of desserts.

  • Celia H.1 review

    August 21, 2022

    7.5/10

    The restaurant was very busy , despite booking a table we had quite a long que for the carvery when we got to servery the beef was at the end and very fatty almost inedible which spoilt our meal , also i would like to see veg labeled a dish of leek & onion looked just like cabbage , with a label this disappointment could have been avoided , the staff were all friendly and helpful thank goodness .

  • Kara J.1 review

    May 29, 2022

    8/10

    It was fast and really nice staff was friendly and always smiling even though it is busy and there always on the go

  • Beverly T.1 review

    March 6, 2022

    10/10

    We visited last Sunday 'fancied a roast' well it was well worth it. The meat was cooked to perfection and a good selection of veg ect to go with it. Staff were very friendly. We will definitely be coming back in the near future. Very good value for money. Thankyou.

  • Michael O.1 review

    January 28, 2022

    10/10

    The food was amazing as was Tanya our server. Couldn't have asked for an all round nicer meal. Ummm another 40 characters now 15 did I mention it was great.

  • Valerie H.1 review

    January 5, 2022

    8.5/10

    The service was excellent but unfortunately the food was not hot and the plates were barely warm, although this would not stop us coming again as we have been before and the food was piping hot. We paid £15 per head this included coffee and one alcohol beverage each.

  • Hilary O.1 review

    November 25, 2021

    9/10

    As regular customers, we were suitably pleased with our food and Michelle looked after us very well as usual. However, due to it being the last day of the offer, it was very crowded and noisy.

  • Stephen B.1 review

    November 21, 2021

    5/10

    Whilst I can expect a place to be busy on a Sunday lunchtime, I see no reason to seat adult groups with families with young kids running about - particularly when trying to keep covid safe. We asked to move and we were then sat in another area with kids. Not good enough. Food on carvery looked appetising but it was tepid with cold veg and luke warm gravy. Waitress was lovely.

  • Keith P.1 review

    November 14, 2021

    8/10

    It is the perfect place to take the family for a carvery. We had great food and great service. The food was well cooked and tasty and the price was less than we thought it would be.

  • John W.2 reviews

    November 12, 2021

    8.5/10

    The food was as good as we have always found it, well presented and consistent. The young lady who served us was very happy and genuine in her welcome and engagement with us. We saw she worked very hard and was happy and friendly with all of them.

  • Nicola A.1 review

    November 7, 2021

    10/10

    Fast prompt service, friendly helpful waitress

  • Charmaine N.1 review

    November 3, 2021

    8/10

    Good Service

  • Sally T.1 review

    November 2, 2021

    8.5/10

    The staff were friendly and efficient with good service. We had the roast. Sadly the vegetables were not as hot as we would've liked but rest of food was fine

  • CHRISTINE O.1 review

    October 28, 2021

    8/10

    Having not eaten out for quite a while, the whole experience to-day was good. My only comment was that the food was not as hot as I would have liked. Everything else was most acceptable.

  • Shaz W3 reviews

    October 27, 2021

    9/10

    I really enjoyed the meal- much much better than the one in East Hunsbury . Service was great and the food was lovely! My only criticism is that it was just a touch cold in the area we sat in and that may have made the food cold a bit sooner than I would have liked. Other than that I will definitely come again!

  • Donna D.3 reviews

    October 10, 2021

    7.5/10

    Food was good, very busy and a bit noisy

  • Kenneth M.1 review

    October 10, 2021

    10/10

    We were shown straight to our table, did not have to wait before going up for our meal. The food was really goods, well cooked and plenty of choice of vegetables.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

998 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.