Register my restaurant
Help


British

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Northbourne

9.8/10
60
Wimborne Road, BH10 7BJ Bournemouth
British
Average price £16

Toby Carvery - Northbourne

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.8/10
Excellent60 reviews
10/10

Food

10/10

Service

9.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
  • Terry K.1 review

    December 7, 2023

    9.5/10

    Restaurant very busy as Christmas is so close but staff were friendly food excellent would definitely come back

  • Val B.1 review

    December 5, 2023

    9.5/10

    Very friendly people great atmosphere lovely setting great service just where we sat by the back door and windows was a bit chilly with overhead fan

  • lesley h.1 review

    October 26, 2023

    9/10

    Very tasty roast dinner.

  • Maurice W.1 review

    June 17, 2023

    9/10

    Hi we are regulars at Northbourne and have noticed that it is dated and are pleased that it’s closing for a refurb. We will be back to check the improvements, mr Warne.

  • Margaret C.1 review

    September 20, 2022

    7/10

    although the meal was lovely, the restaurant needed an update and a thorough clean. Also a very noisey group were seated on the next table whilst there was plenty of other tables they could have been sat at. We could hear ourselves speak. Table layout could be arranged differently and not so crammed in.

  • Chris S.1 review

    February 6, 2022

    6/10

    Food was only luke warm, presentation of vegetables could be better. Yorkshires flat and not crispy.

  • Chris S.1 review

    November 17, 2021

    8/10

    The food could of been warmer, otherwise our party of three enjoyed our meal. Staff we’re friendly and helpful. Car park could be better I’m disabled and need good ground (without bumps and potholes. Disabled parking not visible it’s only because I’ve been before that I know where the parking spaces are.

  • Carla B.1 review

    November 15, 2021

    10/10

    Food was delicious And the staff always welcome you and are so friendly. Shout out to Maggie and the rest of the team ????

  • Cathy H.3 reviews

    October 14, 2021

    8/10

    The restaurant was extremely busy but the waitress certainly did her best. We were disappointed that there was no apple sauce to accompany the wonderful roast pork.

  • Gill B.1 review

    October 9, 2021

    5/10

    The adults only had 2 tiny slices of meat. The children had 1 tiny slice. The roast potatoes were clearly left over from the lunchtime. They were shrivelled and dry in the middle and tasted old. All the other veg was luke warm. Not at all like the other Tobys we visit. Will not be returning to the Northbourne one again. Very disappointed.

  • Lesley D.1 review

    October 5, 2021

    7/10

    We went to this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. It had a nice atmosphere and the service was good. The starter and dessert were very good but, unfortunately, the experience was let down by the carvery vegetables only being lukewarm. It's a shame because it's put us off returning.

  • Cherry L.1 review

    October 5, 2021

    10/10

    Having eaten at the Fleetsbridge branch last week, I found Northbourne's carvery far better, tastier and succulent meat. Vegetables perfect. Many years since I've been to Northbourne but I'll now definitely be back!

  • Mary L.1 review

    September 24, 2021

    7/10

    Standard Toby Carvery. Starter served quickly by pleasant waitress. Wine requested not available and wrong wine brought to us (and charged for later, though it had been changed). We would return, but not for a special night out.

  • Jackie G.

    Jackie G.1 review

    September 22, 2021

    10/10

    This evening we had a wonderful meal, this was our first Time back in the restaurant since lockdown, The staff were fantastic and the food was amazing Thank you to everyone involved that made our experience great

  • Chantal P.1 review

    September 10, 2021

    9.5/10

    Nice welcome ,very quick service and lovely food, thank you! Haven’t been here for a while, used to come fairly regularly for breakfast and service was just as good then!

  • Debbie S.1 review

    September 10, 2021

    10/10

    Excellent food and service

  • Cathy H.3 reviews

    September 7, 2021

    10/10

    We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Toby this evening. We were quickly seated and the waitress soon offered us drinks. We had the carvery which was absolutely delicious and we look forward to taking our Grandchildren with us next time. Thank you very much for wonderful surgery.

  • Tricia W.1 review

    September 6, 2021

    8.5/10

    Thank you Toby for another lovely and enjoyable carvery and the waitress was so friendly, jolly and polite. Certain to go again to the Toby at Northbourne, Bournemouth

  • Lee F.1 review

    August 21, 2021

    3.5/10

    Booked a table for 2 people . Arrived in plenty of time. Was seated by one waitress and was told that her colleague would be over in a couple of minutes, 20 minutes later I had to go and make ourselves noticed to be told she didn’t know we were there . Finally got to get our food and to be honest the meat especially the beef looked like a slab of old leather and not at all appetising. We didn’t finish or enjoy our meal just paid and left . Will be a long time before we go there again . Place wasn’t even half full so not busy . Bad show

  • David T.1 review

    August 18, 2021

    9.5/10

    The only disappointing thing was that there was no ice cream for a sweet or additions to other options. I had my two little grandsons with me and they had to make do with last lolly and a cornetto A bit airless otherwise excellent food and service. Dave Toope

  • Dunia S.1 review

    August 4, 2021

    6/10

    Would go again but it was a shame that at 9pm at night it was still full of small children with one In particular on the table next to us, constantly high pitch screaming. I know it’s the holidays but still....service ok nothing special. Food hot and nice.

  • Julie L.2 reviews

    August 4, 2021

    5/10

    Meat was very dry and very sparse The vegetables looked like it been there ages and all very disappointing took a long time to get the the bill and pay

  • Dianne G.1 review

    August 1, 2021

    7.5/10

    End of holiday treat.We all enjoyed it and would return.Staff were excellent.

  • Eric B.2 reviews

    August 1, 2021

    8/10

    Well done;I enjoyed. The service was well presented. The staff were very friendly and do their jobs well .???????????? The atmosphere always seems pleasent.

  • GRAHAM T.2 reviews

    July 25, 2021

    6.5/10

    The women cutting the meat was as miserable as she could be, everybody complaining at the small amount of meat she put the customers plate. Funny how the staff seem to cheer up when it comes for the customers to pay. I give generous tips in the past, but if I get bad service, or small portions, in the future I wont give any tips

  • Julie L.2 reviews

    July 22, 2021

    6.5/10

    Good was very bland and veg looked like it needed to be replaced and roasties looked awful

  • Anne R.2 reviews

    July 6, 2021

    10/10

    All the staff were very welcoming and efficient which made the visit very pleasant. The carvery was excellent with lots of choices all of which were deliciously cooked and the server was a very friendly gentleman. Very highly recommended.

  • - -1 review

    January 28, 2019

    9.8/10

    Carvery was well laid out, good hot food, meat well cooked, service & atmosphere good. Outside was inviting, toilets were clean.

Tripadvisor reviews

509 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.