Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

British

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Romford

8.8/10
78
The Brewery Shopping Centre, RM1 1AU RomfordSee map

Average price £16

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

8.8/10
Fabulous78 reviews
9/10

Food

8.5/10

Service

8.5/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Audrey M.
    Audrey M.

    May 30, 20221 review

    5.5/10

    Very disappointed today,food wasn’t bad,but coffee machine was broken,also a big fight broke out,quite frightening,at food counter,food was sent flying everywhere and they had to close it down

  • Karon C.

    January 21, 20225 reviews

    10/10

    Enjoyable meal with my friend and her 2 young children . Lovely choice of food. Meat cooked just how I like it . Potatoes and veg really good. Can't wait to come again

  • Karon C.

    January 18, 20225 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely food as always . Chef very friendly and helpful. Great service no complaints. Look forward to coming again with friends and family. Plenty of choice

  • Jacquie M.

    December 5, 20211 review

    10/10

    Had a really nice meal, went straight to table, food was lovely and hot, dessert with a mini crumble and coffee was lovely just the right size all 4 of us enjoyed our meal, because of lockdown 1st time the four of us have met up nice tie was had by all

  • Tracey L.
    Tracey L.

    November 14, 20211 review

    6.5/10

    Booked for 3.30. Wasn't seated until gone 4. Queued for over 15 mins for food. Standing in a baking hot place with loads of people waiting with my autistic child wasn't fun.

  • Lord Sel K.

    November 7, 20211 review

    10/10

    Loved it , you can’t beat a Toby carvery anywhere - best ever

  • Trevor P.

    November 1, 20212 reviews

    7.5/10

    Waitress was excellant but the serving chef had a bad day. People were waiting to be served on numerous occasions including us during our visit.

  • Pauline c.

    October 30, 20211 review

    8/10

    we had a really nice lunch. The food was cooked well and staff very friendly and efficient

  • Laura A.

    October 17, 20211 review

    9/10

    I've always enjoyed Toby Carvery, this evening's booking was very busy and we were told that there would be a 20 minutes delay but we did check in 15 early so we didn't mind to wait! The fella behind the bar was great, very talkative and the servers were lovely. The meal took a while to get but again they were so busy I'm not complaining about that either, the dessert was delicious! I'd recommend Toby Carvery any day

  • Karon C.

    October 12, 20215 reviews

    10/10

    Love this toby . Great service lovely food no complaints . Chefs always helps and gives what you want. Good choice of potatoes vegetables stuffing gravy

  • Joseph P.
    Joseph P.

    October 10, 20211 review

    10/10

    Our server, Stef, was lovely and kind. Asked if we wanted a drink before we even sat down, so we didn’t even have to wait. Food was delicious, we hadn’t been in so long and it’s just as we remembered it.

  • Jason N.

    October 6, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    The food was very good

  • Barbara C.

    October 6, 20211 review

    10/10

    Had a lovely carvery meal and a drink. Food was great and the staff friendly and helpful as usual.

  • Debbie M.

    October 3, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Great service considering it was extremely busy. Beef bit dry and overcooked for my taste but overall good was really nice, staff were quick with requests even though they were clearly under pressure

  • Karon C.

    September 29, 20215 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely food and drink good service

  • Gary S.

    September 19, 20211 review

    8/10

    Good food but has a bit of a cafe atmosphere, lots of people in work clothes eating and leaving. Brilliant service from the table staff.........

  • Samantha H.

    August 31, 20211 review

    7.5/10

    Nice staff, especially the smiley friendly guy called Matt who was doing the carvery. Would definitely go back with that kind of service! Thank you

  • Varsha M.

    August 22, 20211 review

    5/10

    The staff were helpful and Freindly, it was the quality of the meat and portion sizes that were disappointing. My 10 year old daughter has a child’s plate and she asked for turkey, only turkey no other meat . He served her two small thin half slices. When I asked if she could have more meat please he advised that was a child’s portion. However if she has asked for Porth, turkey and beef she would have received more meat. My husband had to return his plate to ask for the beef to be changed as it was full of fat and not lean as you would expect in a roast. Very dissatisfied

  • Tony N.

    August 15, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    This was my 3rd visit to Toby in recent weeks and as was with my previous 2 visits they did not disappoint. The food was again of excellent quality & value for money. The service was again excellent in particular from Gemma who also served me on my previous 2 visits . She has a bubbly personality & gives her service ‘with a smile’. All in another excellent visit and I shall certainly return to the Romford Toby.

  • KELLY P.

    August 13, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Wonderful foods & drinks. Nice staffs. Nice evening. Will go back again next time.

  • Susan a.

    August 2, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    I have yet to be disappointed when dining at the Toby. The food and surroundings are perfect. I would go there again with no hesitation. My friends and I have not met up since the virus. We will meet again at this venue. Very soon.

  • Adam B.

    August 1, 20211 review

    10/10

    First visit we had today to Toby Carvery in Romford since the lockdown and food and service quality was excellent.

  • Diane W.

    July 10, 20211 review

    5/10

    I can understand that with the restrictions due to COVID that things have become stressful to serve customers But customers should be allowed to serve them selfs as long as they are wearing gloves and a face mask. The poor chef behind the counter had to serve us and then take our plate to the table making it a longer time for other customers being served as there wasn’t that many staff behind the counter. Normally I would give five stars/high ratings but it took over half hour to be served. So many the company needs to look into making the process quicker for customers and easier for staff

  • Lisa R.

    July 4, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Staff were very friendly and helpful even though it was very busy. The man who showed us to our table was lovely and very polite. Very happy with my visit today.

  • Ethel O.

    June 26, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Restaurant is generally following covid restrictions, however glass salt and pepper cellars were put on table, not the individual sachets, as advised.

  • James C.
    James C.

    June 20, 20211 review

    7/10

    Every thing was nice apart from yorkies was could.

  • Zivio M.

    June 18, 20211 review

    10/10

    Staff were accommodating and food was excellent and good value, quiet surroundings and we were able to get parking spaces in the mall at peak time

  • Janita A.

    June 14, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    On a hot day the restaurant was pleasantly cool and well ventilated. Every effort was made to make the experience Covid secure. The staff were helpful, pleasant and courteous.

  • Amanda T.

    May 31, 20211 review

    2.5/10

    The food was very disappointing and cold, had to wait ages as there was only one person serving and it wasn’t until my husband said something then another person came to help. Had to ask three different people just to get a drink and two people for ketchup so I afraid we won’t be going back again.

  • Clary C.

    January 11, 20201 review

    9/10

    I live in clacton and the Toby here is a mess , dirty and staff are a night mare ... But romford was fantastic clean , friendly staff .

Tripadvisor reviews

708 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation