Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Walsall Broadway

8.6/10
126
Broadway North, WS1 2QD WalsallSee map

Average price £20

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

8.6/10
Fabulous126 reviews
8.5/10

Food

8.8/10

Service

8.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Stephen B.
    Stephen B.

    September 3, 20223 reviews

    10/10

    Top quality pub grub

  • Stephen B.
    Stephen B.

    July 30, 20223 reviews

    9.5/10

    Top food and great service

  • Claire D.
    Claire D.

    May 5, 202212 reviews

    7.5/10

    Vegetables very only just warm , other than that ok

  • Angela T.
    Angela T.

    May 3, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    Great service friendly staff

  • Angela T.
    Angela T.

    May 2, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    Really good service and friendly staff

  • Shane C.

    April 17, 20221 review

    7.5/10

    Food was good.servise was bad.we was having drink and two times we was asked two go two calvery.and was not ready.we finished food and orderd sticky pudding ween she brought pudding just basically chucked on table.we asked 3 times for bill we had two wate 15 minnites before we could pay she had a bit off attitude around 5 foot 4 black long haire age around 24.she might been a supervisor the way she come across.as stated food good seing good service terrible

  • Esme w.
    Esme w.

    April 6, 202216 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing service and very polite and attentive staff food was brilliant

  • Esme w.
    Esme w.

    March 21, 202216 reviews

    10/10

    Brilliant device from the gentleman waiter so polite and amazing service can't fault it what a great place ????

  • Derek b.

    November 28, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    returned to the toby after a ex ellent meal last week. this time took my daughter for a birthday meal.as usual everthing was of a very high standard,food was excellent,very good choice,service first class.

  • Mark P.

    November 15, 20211 review

    9/10

    Very relaxing

  • Heather G.

    November 9, 20211 review

    10/10

    We love the food... the staff are really friendly... Nice and clean area where we got the food from we have missed going to the Toby will be going lots again ????

  • Ade m
    Ade m

    November 5, 20211 review

    10/10

    Lovely waiter, really polite and friendly. Food was nice and hot. My fav Toby out of the bunch! Haven't been in a while so nice to know standards are still high!

  • Carole W.

    October 27, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Great restaurant, lovely food, friendly staff.

  • Carole W.

    October 27, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Great restaurant, lovely food, friendly staff.

  • Nicola W.

    October 15, 20211 review

    6/10

    Went with my family last night-15.10.21 beef was extremely fatty, fat tan all the way through the middle and veg was luke warm. Always love coming to this toby as I’ve always rated it the better one, but the beef was awful, wouldn’t have given it to my dog.

  • Rainford G.
    Rainford G.

    October 6, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Always good.

  • Elaine W.

    September 12, 20211 review

    6/10

    Arrived at our allocated time had to wait another 15 minutes befour our table was available The beef was horrible couldn't eat it no cheese on the cauliflower cheese no cabbage left not worth the money

  • Richard C.

    September 12, 20211 review

    5/10

    Sorry we would not return to this establishment. Our food was good but there is no system for how and when you get your food at the carvery. It's a free for all and we had to stand in line for over fifteen minutes with other customers trying to push past us with hot plates of food. Not acceptable. Not a great dining experience. We use another carvery at the Turf island and do not experience this, and are served our food much more efficiently.

  • Lyndsey S.

    September 5, 20211 review

    10/10

    Made a lovely change. Service and food was great. Just needs more choice of veg. But still was lovely.

  • John Y.
    John Y.

    September 3, 20211 review

    4/10

    We arrived were seated, then had to wait to be served with no one in front of us for 5 minutes. Request red current sauce, waited, gave up. The room to be so cold, my wife was shivering, and our food went cold before we finished. My wife's meat" Turkey only, was very grissely.

  • Margaret G.

    September 3, 20211 review

    10/10

    Staff very nice, pleasant greeting Food hot , plenty of choice Toilets very clean Would go again

  • Linda C.
    Linda C.

    September 3, 202112 reviews

    7/10

    Prawns in cocktail tasted like they had just been thawed colourless and tasteless not served ciabatta bread, brown sliced bread instead friends carvery Luke warm disappointing will not be returning used to be good

  • Juliet T.

    August 27, 20211 review

    6/10

    Our server was very helpful and polite. My salmon when it arrived was not cooked thoroughly so had to send it back she spoke to the manager who took my meal off the bill

  • Carol S.

    August 22, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    There was a good variety of food available and different meats to choose from. All the food was hot and very tasty.

  • Annette C.

    August 22, 20212 reviews

    9.5/10

    The place was clean and tidy .. was taken to our table as soon as We got there …ordered drinks … then got our meal… lots of choice with meats and veggies … all nice and hot … it was yummy… will return.

  • Geraldine H.

    August 13, 20211 review

    10/10

    Easy booking system via online. Good quality food and drink, together with great service contributed to a lovely evening. Great choice of wines and beer. Thank you.

  • Mathew D.
    Mathew D.

    August 8, 202117 reviews

    10/10

    Great food and atmosphere

  • Colin K.

    August 2, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Arrived 20 minutes early, no we're to sit, when told to wait, called in on time, food was good having been several times befor, service was personalised and very good, the staff member that looked after us was brilliant and he needs comending, only thing for me I like potatoes and not just mash, x

  • Gwen B.

    July 29, 20213 reviews

    9/10

    Love the place & where it is, food great, thoroughly enjoyed it. If there is one small niggle, it was when we were waiting at the carvery itself , staff were obviously replenishing food, it would've been better if they had acknowledged we were there, by a simple be with you in a moment. All staff were extremely pleasant though & served us well. Thankyou

  • Jennifer C.

    July 29, 20211 review

    5/10

    This restaurant has been in walsall for years. I like to go but it is very hit and miss. Today was awful, waited like a prat to be served then only 3 thin slices of turkey. We helped ourselves to veg which were luke warm. I dont have gravy so the food was just warm. The carrots were like eating crisps and cauli was hard. I ordered a coffee and they replaced it with a fresh one as that was cold. Altogether really disappointing. Staff were ok but even they could have done better. Sorry but that was it today. I hope there will be an improvement next time.

  • Julie K.
    Julie K.

    July 25, 20211 review

    6/10

    The restaurant was OK, but the wait was ridiculous , far to long waiting for food stood in que for 35 mins to get to the carvery . The problem I had meat was cold by the time vegetables were put on plate , due to the staff plating everything up . Need to find better alternative

  • John S.

    July 9, 20211 review

    10/10

    Very plesent, staff. Very good,food excellent no waiting ,although i think the manager could have been smarter( if he was the manager that is we think he was

  • Carole D.

    July 4, 20212 reviews

    9.5/10

    The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is lovely, my only criticism would be how close every one is queueing for food and queue crosses exit, although I am not sure what could be done about that, all in all a very nice visit and meal

  • Fiona W.

    July 4, 20211 review

    10/10

    Staff were happy and chatty... our waitress was attentive and quick. Young lad running meals deom Expo was polote and helpful. They all did a fab job in an always busy Toby!!

  • MARK R.

    July 4, 20211 review

    5.5/10

    Booked a table requested a window seat we walked in and the lady greeted us by shouting from behind the bar , have you booked a table , yes I replied follow me then we were shown to the back of the pub until I said we requested a window seat oh right so we found our own table incredibly rude no tact what so ever had to ask for butter cold toast absolutely the worst Toby carvery we’ve ever been to not asked to sign in never checked our booking never again at this place I will be emailing the pub manager directly but I doubt nothing will come of it just avoid the place ????????????????

  • Lynne C.

    July 1, 20211 review

    6/10

    We queued for 30mins at the carvery to get our meals. Our table was booked for 7.30pm we were asked to wait until the table was ready, it was 8.40pm before we started to eat our carvery. There was not much taste in the meat.

  • Marcia B.

    July 1, 20211 review

    10/10

    As one of my other party was disabled they went up and above to make the visit very pleasant

  • Gill A.

    June 30, 20212 reviews

    8/10

    Another great evening, great food, great meal and great service.. cant fault it ,and I,m not easily pleased. Give The Broadway a try & you will be pleasantly surprised..

  • Lesley H.

    June 27, 20211 review

    10/10

    Lovely friendly place staff were amazing catered for my 82yr old mother in law brilliantly. Food was exceptional considering how busy they were.

  • Lesley F.
    Lesley F.

    June 23, 20211 review

    10/10

    Lovely staff. Felt welcome a d safe. Excellent food as always

Tripadvisor reviews

988 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation