Register my restaurant
Help

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Watermill

8.4/10
121
Coxmoor Road, Sutton-in-Ashfield, NG17 4NE Sutton-in-Ashfield
British
Average price £20

Toby Carvery - Watermill

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.4/10
Very good121 reviews
8.5/10

Food

8.5/10

Service

7.9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Dawn W.1 review

    November 17, 2023

    6.5/10

    Carvery food was ok, My choice of pork and beef were good although I was a little perturbed that as meat was being sliced the meat that fell off the serving platter onto the surrounding area surface was picked up by the server and put un to the plate?, The assortment of veg available was good but all such a bit of a mess since they were in need of replenishing. the lady behind me complained. Plates were cold so food didn't remain warm for long enough which was a shame, Pudding was good and saved the day

  • Richard D.1 review

    September 18, 2023

    9/10

    Great resturant exellent staff good food defo use again

  • Lindsey P.

    Lindsey P.3 reviews

    September 3, 2023

    9/10

    It was all good but had to wait about 30min for our pudding as they had forgotten about them

  • Jackie B.1 review

    August 27, 2023

    8/10

    Great service staff very helpful and friendly

  • Lindsey P.

    Lindsey P.3 reviews

    August 27, 2023

    7/10

    We book a table for 6 did not get a table till 6.30 and they Sat us in the bar to eat

  • Norma M.1 review

    August 24, 2023

    6/10

    We did have a good meal at Toby but unfortunately the service was poor When we arrived the girl we saw had a very big queue to contend with and as if this wasn’t enough was called to the bar leaving us waiting for another 10 minutes I left the queue and got help from another waitress who was also rushed off her feet but she was able to get a table for us All the staff where doing their best but not enough cover We had booked on line which I did show when I arrived but even this was not recorded So sorry to find it like this as we always have a lovely meal

  • Mary M.2 reviews

    June 30, 2023

    7.5/10

    The staff were very helpful, the fòd was really nice but the beef was brisket and was a little tough. But enjoyable meal

  • Becky C.1 review

    April 9, 2023

    8.5/10

    Always lovley staff very friendly and professional. Our only complaint for a second time this year was the Beef. Really fatty ..m5 of us couldn't eat it, it was really poor

  • Josephine P.1 review

    March 31, 2023

    9/10

    My granddaughters and I booked a table. We received a friendly greeting on arrival. Unfortunately the table we were given was near the main door and it was very chilly. We asked to be moved. The waitress very helpful and quickly found us another table which was fine. The food was lovely and the service was swift. Will definitely go back.

  • Sheila W.1 review

    March 16, 2023

    8/10

    Had the carvery meat -beef -Turkey gammon choice Had the beef very tender. good choice of veg Cooked well

  • Keith B.1 review

    February 25, 2023

    9/10

    Good layout to the restaurant. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent layout of the food for the carvery. All food prepared to a high standard. Unfortunately we were sat at a table close to the carvery and the kitchen doors which was noisy and made conversation difficult. We asked for another table, but the restaurant was ver busy as it was a weekend.

  • Robert H.1 review

    February 19, 2023

    9.5/10

    I found the staff very helpful as I have a walking stickand carnt carry my food to the table, food was excellent as ever, my only concerns are they seem to have more tables so it felt crampt you were having to disturb diners to get to your table and people were queuing by the side of tables where people were eating, very off putting,some customers near us said they wouldn't be going back .xxx

  • Karen P.6 reviews

    July 1, 2022

    7.5/10

    We had to ask for gravy waited 4 minutes then had to ask again for mint sauce waited a while to take order then waited 10 minutes to take dessert orders to never had a problem before today Will think twice about going again didn't seem that many in but to be fare didn't see many waiters or waitresses just the waiters we had done

  • Nick H.1 review

    June 13, 2022

    8.5/10

    Always clean and tidy . Good waitress. Only complaint the beef was tough.Service was quick, and checking we were ok good. Some very tasty vegetables

  • Karen P.6 reviews

    June 10, 2022

    10/10

    Really good food as always and puddings we have never had a problem with the quality of food puddings and drinks Could do with adding more puddings to the 2 course menu Thank you and the new waitress was lovely to

  • Karen P.6 reviews

    May 13, 2022

    9.5/10

    This is a lovely restaurant only thing the 2 course carvery I think should have more puddings please add more like the chocolate fudge cake

  • Suzan B.1 review

    May 6, 2022

    10/10

    Had a lovely carvery service and food was excellent no complaints at all

  • Karen P.6 reviews

    April 1, 2022

    10/10

    This restaurant was lovely the food was great a good selection of meats and vegetables it was hot enough for us all will be going again staff great

  • Pauline s.1 review

    March 6, 2022

    8/10

    i came for sunday lunch with my friend we asked for a child’s plate , because we are pensioners and have a small appetite , we was told only a adult carvery was available, and when the bill came it was very expensive 2 cokes and 2 carvery £28.88p i’m afraid we won’t be visiting again

  • Mark H.1 review

    March 6, 2022

    8/10

    Great value for money service was good . Didn’t need to eat for the the rest of the day (full up ) Not a lot more to say . It did what it said on the tin. ..

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Karen P.6 reviews

    February 25, 2022

    10/10

    This restaurant is lovely food is brilliant and the service and staff can't fault anything at all the food is excellent and the puddings were good

  • Chrissy B.3 reviews

    February 22, 2022

    6.5/10

    The waitress was very rude and abrupt, also didn't bring me the drink I ordered.

  • Karen P.6 reviews

    February 18, 2022

    10/10

    We really enjoyed our carvery today first time our daughter in law had every been to a Toby carvery and she really enjoyed it to and so did our granddaughter we had a 2 course couldn't thank them enough the staff were very good to

  • Chrissy B.3 reviews

    November 30, 2021

    9/10

    Lovely food as always

  • Andrea S.2 reviews

    November 28, 2021

    8/10

    The beef was a bit gristly and all the food was lukewarm .

  • Jane M.1 review

    November 21, 2021

    6.5/10

    When it was booked i requested a table next to a window which we did not get. There was a table next to a window empty but told we could not have it because it was already booked, not sure if they requested a table next to the window so why ask if we have any requests if it’s ignored.

  • Marysia M.1 review

    November 10, 2021

    8/10

    The lady who took us to our table was lovely and very polite. We were seated as soon as we arrived, no waiting. The lady who looked after us at the table was also lovely and very pleasant and helpful. The gentleman at the Carvery was very accommodating and entered in conversation with us. All in all a lovely meal at The Water Mill

  • Barbara C.1 review

    November 9, 2021

    7.5/10

    Can't fault the service or food quality but the decor was looking very tired

  • Millie W.1 review

    October 23, 2021

    8.5/10

    lovely carvery and no wait time. The table was all set and ready with the high chair as requested staff were friendly especially the chef on the carvery deck very accommodating for meat free options will be back again thank you

  • Tina S.1 review

    October 24, 2021

    8.5/10

    Carvery is great value for money for a family Sunday lunch! Lots of veg to choose from and a good selection of meals. Particular highlights are the Yorkshire puddings and mashed potatoes!

  • DAWN D.1 review

    October 13, 2021

    9.5/10

    The staff was very welcoming and polite The food was excellent and politely served Enjoyed our experience definitely going back .

  • Valerie G.1 review

    September 23, 2021

    10/10

    I have visited toby's carvery many times. The staff are always pleasant and very friendly, the food is excellent a lovely warm atmosphere looking forward to next visit.

  • Denise S.1 review

    September 5, 2021

    5.5/10

    I had a meal at the highwayman Shenstone and was very disappointed that you did not do the beef dripping roast potatoes or more vegetable choices as they do in she Shenstone x will not be coming back

  • Deborah S.1 review

    September 10, 2021

    4.5/10

    The beef was so fatty we couldn't eat it and wen the server lady came over to ask if our meals were OK she didn't even look up at us was more interested in her tablet

  • Donna C.

    Donna C.1 review

    August 29, 2021

    10/10

    I cant eat very fast and didn't feel rushed,everyone is polite. Place was clean dinner perfect

  • Anne-Marie D.1 review

    September 3, 2021

    8/10

    We really enjoyed our meal at the Carvery. The atmosphere was good, the staff were friendly and the food was very tasty. All in all a great experience.

  • Judy E.1 review

    August 29, 2021

    9/10

    Service was very prompt. My only concern was still seated very close together.

  • Caroline C.

    Caroline C.1 review

    July 21, 2021

    10/10

    Always have a great dining experience here

  • David J.1 review

    July 6, 2021

    8.5/10

    My Husband and I visited the restaurant for our Wedding Anniversary. My Husband is wheelchair bound, . we found the restaurant very accommodating and the access good. Given a table with plenty of room. Food delicious meat tender and succulent great Yorkshire puddings . Staff friendly and polite. All in all a very pleasant outing for us both. Thank you

  • Terri H.1 review

    July 2, 2021

    9/10

    Staff were attentive, accommodating and pleasant. Had slight issue in attracting attention when wanted further service but overall great. Highly recommend

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

1079 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.