Register my restaurant
Help


British

Reviews - Toby Carvery - Willingdon Drove

8.2/10
123
Willingdon Drove, BN23 8AL Eastbourne
British
Average price £18

Toby Carvery - Willingdon Drove

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.2/10
Very good123 reviews
8.1/10

Food

8.1/10

Service

8.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Gail M.1 review

    December 27, 2023

    10/10

    We had booked for a family lunch, my partner is disabled and uses a scooter. The staff accommodated us beautifully and we wanted for nothing. Even offered to carry the second plate for me as I collected his meal. A little disappointed that so.e of the desserts were off the menu but it was immediately after Christmas. We will book for our family gatherings again.

  • EDWARD B.1 review

    November 8, 2023

    9.5/10

    Very busy so service for sweet was a little slow, other than that good value for the money.

  • Roy B.1 review

    November 3, 2023

    4/10

    Food was cold because the carver left twice while i was standing there, to get meat this restaurant is badly understaffed long wait for service this is the second time in 2 weeks shame could do better

  • Diane C.2 reviews

    October 29, 2023

    9.5/10

    Meals have improved. Cauliflower cheese had a problem getting out and cheese was just put over the top. Nice to see mashed potatoes on menu especially with people with swallowing difficulties.

  • Lesley S.1 review

    October 20, 2023

    6/10

    We appreciate that there was a shortage of waiting staff but we waited 20 minutes for our drinks after they were ordered. The meal itself was mediocre, the roast potatoes were rock hard, there was no mac and cheese or gravy left and the other vegetables were just lukewarm. The small bowl of rice pudding was well overpriced at £4.99 and didn't taste very nice at all. However our waitress was very pleasant and helpful despite being understaffed .

  • Brian W.3 reviews

    October 6, 2023

    4.5/10

    Took nearly 15 minutes for the beef to come out of the kitchen. Service counter needs to be regularly cleaned as it looked a mess. When we sat down upon entry into the restaurant, again it took what appeared to be ages for the waitress to realise that we were sitting down and waiting to be offered drinks. Eventually we got the attention of a gentleman whom we think was the manager. Same problem each time we come to this restaurant in that the tables are sticky and need not only to be cleaned but to be wiped dry. As a now retired Group H.R. Director of a company running 500 hotels across 13 European countries, it would appear that management controls have a lot to be desired.

  • Gill H.1 review

    August 20, 2023

    4/10

    Food disappointing. Service non existent.

  • Ruth B.1 review

    July 10, 2023

    10/10

    My time at the Toby Carvery was enjoyable. I haven't been there for quite a while & the new layout has been well planned. The background music wasn't too loud & pleasant.

  • Kath H.1 review

    June 13, 2023

    10/10

    We went back to Tobys after a 3yr absent (coronavirus) and wondered if it had changed any, well it hadn't. It was the same lovely place we remembered. Very clean and tidy, food was great and a special shout out to Ashley, he was such a nice man, very engaging and helpful. We all enjoyed ourselves, especially our 90yrs young Aunt ???? Thankyou again Toby

  • June F.1 review

    April 28, 2023

    5/10

    There was obviously a shortage of staff. My meal was not good. The batter was not cooked and cold. The staff looked frazzled, no-one was smiling. It did appear very friendly

  • Carol S.2 reviews

    April 23, 2023

    7.5/10

    My husband book a lunch time meal for 2, the food was good but there were so many people waiting to be served at the carvery counter it was ridiculous, the staff were rushed off their feet trying to do their best, the carvery counter needs to be longer and more staff. I felt really sorry for the staff and considering the fullness of the place I feel they did a very good job, maybe the people who come up with designs and rules need to work it for a day of to.

  • Janette R.1 review

    April 16, 2023

    10/10

    Very enjoyable carvery. Pigs in blankets as a starter were very tasty. Staff were great too

  • Jo S.1 review

    April 11, 2023

    5.5/10

    Booked for a birthday meal. Very busy but no queue at food counter. Lots of uncleared tables cluttered with debris. No Yorkshire puddings and by the time arrived we had eaten our meal. Toilets were extremely unpleasant- all five cubicles in ladies blocked and unusable. We did tell waiter. Waiter was very young and could have been more “on the ball” but did ok. Really love a car very but unsure we would go there again.

  • Julie M.1 review

    April 9, 2023

    8.5/10

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Good range of meat and vegetables so plenty of choice. There was no apple sauce to go with the pork (I did ask ) I like my food piping hot but never find the food here very hot which is why I haven't given an excellent rating.

  • Carol S.2 reviews

    April 5, 2023

    7.5/10

    The food was very tasty and our table was in a very good place. The only thing I would say I was disappointed with was the wait at the carvery counter, the front of house just disappeared not even saying why, I think just a sorry about the wait would of been nice, and maybe a smile from the serving staff, the young man who did most of our service was very good.

  • Sally B.1 review

    April 2, 2023

    2.5/10

    The service was very slow.for the money you pay for carvery there wasn't enough meat ,even if you only had 1 meat option you only got one slice.to many potato options and not enough veg.waited 30 mins for server to take dessert order and waited nearly 30 mins for it to come.a very disappointing experience. Won't be returning anytime soon

  • Sandra K.1 review

    April 2, 2023

    8/10

    Staff lovely, only improvement would be food hotter and meat should be slices, not last bits off the bone.

  • Bruno L.1 review

    February 28, 2023

    4/10

    Restaurant overbooked, long wait, huge queue to the buffet. Had to wait 30 mns to be seated, even though the table was reserved. Chefs nowhere to be found. I went there 3 times and experienced this chaos, twice.

  • Chris H.1 review

    February 28, 2023

    5/10

    We were disappointed with the service we received, my elderly mother in law wanted soup, we were half way through our carveries before she got it! Also the drinks we ordered before we queued at ghe carvery, appeared just before the soup, when we'd got our carveries, we had to wait for gravy, as there was none there! service for our desserts was slow! not what i expect when i take my family out for dinner.

  • mark b.1 review

    February 24, 2023

    4/10

    We hadn't been to the Toby Eastbourne for a few years and were exited to go back today. Unfortunately our excitement was soon quashed as having ordered we looked around the empty tables (15.30) and could see a lot of dirty plates that hadnt been cleared also dirty beer glasses on another table. On the bar where we were met were further dirty plates stacked up in full view of incoming customers. during our 70 minutes in the restaurant none were cleared, and our plates were dumped on the bar with others. A 30 minute wait for pudding no check by staff as to whether our meal was OK, and the staff disappearing out back all the time made for an experience which we will not repeat.

  • monica S

    monica S1 review

    February 22, 2023

    9.5/10

    Waitress was friendly , carvery food was delicious, plentiful and variety of meat and veg was superb.

  • Bodicea I.94 reviews

    January 13, 2023

    5/10

    Big portions of meat but place was a bit quiet and consequently the vegetable offerings were a little slim. Overall fine but I've been to better Toby's

  • Julie M.1 review

    January 8, 2023

    7.5/10

    We usually have a great meal. My meal veg was poorly prepped with crunchy sprouts and bullet peas. Turkey was nice. Husband enjoyed his large meal but agreed veg poor. Roasties husband said were good and meat good.

  • Liz S.1 review

    August 18, 2022

    10/10

    Always go to Toby for a decent roast dinner

  • Brian W.3 reviews

    August 9, 2022

    8.5/10

    Good food for a carvery. Unfortunately the table was very sticky but was seen to immediately by Richie who had a very good service attitude and manner

  • Patricia B.1 review

    June 10, 2022

    10/10

    I love our Toby Carvery in Hailsham. The staff are courteous and polite. The food is fabulous and good value for money. The restaurant is cozy and welcoming. Well done Toby!

  • John m.1 review

    May 31, 2022

    4.5/10

    The standard of service from the server on the the carvery was rude I asked him for beef but there was a small piece all dried up and not very presentable on the tray I said to him could he get a new joint from the kitchen and he said it was above his pay grade to get a new joint and had been told to use the piece that looked disgusting I do not find this acceptable and will not be using this restaurant again.

  • Carole k.1 review

    May 11, 2022

    9/10

    Great as usual - only one niggle on this occasion - food came out but delay to gravy meant the carver didn't start at 12. Unfortunately the veggies hadn't been covered over and our food when we sat down to eat, could have done with being a little warmer.

  • GILLIAN P.1 review

    March 16, 2022

    4.5/10

    Food wasn't hot,and serving spoons were hot to handle.my granson burnt his hand on serving spoon has was left in dish and got hot under lights.

  • Norma H.2 reviews

    March 6, 2022

    10/10

    Never tried a Toby before but will definitely be going again. Food was lovely although only beef, gammon and turkey left when we arrived at 2.30pm. Had beef, which was very tender. Batters huge and all the veg that I tried was yummy.

  • Pauilne H.

    Pauilne H.3 reviews

    February 19, 2022

    8/10

    Food was really good Service was good but a bit slow no fault of the staff just not enough staff. No ice cream so pudding was a no . We would go again as the food is really good value

  • Linda W.1 review

    February 13, 2022

    10/10

    We turned up at the restaurant before our table was ready and we were asked to go and sit back in our car because we were early. The problem was we had got a taxi so we stood outside. Would it be better to put a message on the website saying not to turn up early as they don’t want to many people inside waiting due to covid or put a note on the door.

  • Eleanor C.

    Eleanor C.1 review

    December 1, 2021

    3/10

    We are really disgusted how we were treated at Toby Carvery. We booked to come here after celebrating booking our wedding and buying our house. Due to covid I didn't take a bag and was shocked to be asked for ID! (by ''Willow') I am in my mid thirties being asked for ID by someone probably half my age. I replied you are joking and she has no personality at all. My fiancé pointed out my law a 16 year old can have a drink with a adult (quite disgusting as I am over double 16 years of age) but apparently the law doesn't apply to Toby Carvery. Which I would like an explanation to know why. Gov.uk online clearly states ‘However, if you’re 16 or 17 and accompanied by an adult, you can drink (but not buy) beer, wine or cider with a meal’. After already having our meal spoiled we ordered to have extra pigs in blankets which had no bacon on them and tasted like they had been sitting on something to keep warm for a while. They were tough, so my Fiancé ordered replacements that were the same as the previous bowl. We decided to have pudding which we regretted. My brownie was microwaved as was tough and hot in places, and my fiancé had potfiteroles which were tough, that came with a passionfruit sauce? In all we regret going and will not be returning. Thanks Toby Carvery for spoiling our evening that was due to be a happy one.

  • Richard G.1 review

    November 28, 2021

    10/10

    Excellant,could not ask for a more friendly resturant. Staff are excellant. They deserve praise. Good food,good warm atmosphere. Good value.

  • Colin W.1 review

    November 14, 2021

    10/10

    All good as usual booked for Christmas Day

  • Angus B.1 review

    October 30, 2021

    9/10

    Great cooperation by both desk & management to accommodate last minute extra guest albeit within half hour of previous booking! Food excellent although all meat in carvery bar one was superb,????????,however roast lamb off the bone was literally the last remnants,& v dry...... & suggested a replacement, but fell on deaf ears!????

  • Chris F.1 review

    September 30, 2021

    10/10

    The welcome was warm and comfortable. The service was excellent, efficient and funny! The food was fantastic so overall it was a brilliant lunch time experience at an affordable price. All staff were fabulous, well done!

  • Julie D.1 review

    September 10, 2021

    9/10

    Great place to eat. Staff very welcoming. very clean restaurant. gave 4 stars because the food was not very hot for a carvery which was disappointing

  • Roy N.

    Roy N.1 review

    August 15, 2021

    8/10

    Food good and plenty of it..Recommend booking since it was really busy.

  • Karen M.1 review

    August 7, 2021

    4.5/10

    Food was bland no flavour. Tables sticky and dirty. Food splattered up the walls. Really not an enjoyable experience.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

1212 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.