Back

Reviews - Tomiko Japanese Steak House

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 231 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Diann Y.
    Diann Y.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic night, having the Tepanyaki Gold Package. Plenty to eat. Friendly cook (Yuki), great ambience. Would highly recommend and I am sure they will see us again soon.

  2. Marc G.
    Marc G.
    • 29 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food and a nice amount of theatre from out Chef. Recommended.

  3. Kylie R.
    Kylie R.
    • one review
    9/10

    Decides food. Good service. Entertaining and relaxed setting. Enjoyed sharing a table with others, very social. The sake choices are excellent.

  4. Jhermie O.
    Jhermie O.
    • one review
    9/10

    Please fix your system The Fork. I booked for teppanyaki from Tomiko website, left a comment when I booked and said I would like teppanyaki table but when we arrived tonight, we only got the normal table. My son was very disappointed because he wants the Teppanyaki experience for his birthday! I still appreciate the staff because they were very apologetic and offered to give us a complimentary dessert.

  5. Emma C.
    Emma C.
    • one review
    9/10

    This was a first-time experience for the whole family and everyone enjoyed themselves. The staff were friendly and made my daughter's birthday memorable.

  6. Vesna C.
    Vesna C.
    • one review
    6/10

    This restaurant food and ambient was real good, but service not so much. We were served by few different staff who were running around the place, looking disorganised. The feeling was that they cannot wait to get us out of there so was hard to feel relaxed and enjoy the experience.

  7. Fadia D.
    Fadia D.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Repeat customer, great food and good service! Lunch specials are good value for money. Banquet always great at dinner time too, you won't leave hungry!

  8. Tamme g.
    Tamme g.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and service and must visit

  9. Neil B.
    Neil B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely meal and great service

  10. Mark P.
    Mark P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great atmosphere, excellent food and top notch service. The Moreton bay bugs, scallops and the steak were the standouts. Thank you We’ll be back

  11. Shiree f.
    Shiree f.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely Restaurant on the water , fantastic food wonderful service ... looking forward to going back and doing teppanyaki with family and friends .

  12. Sonia N.
    Sonia N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Friendly attentive staff, ambience was good nice cozy seating, enjoyed the cocktails, chef was lovely and the food was amazing will be back again

  13. Ian R.
    Ian R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food & service were excellent, disappointing that our booking caused confusion as there was a booking under the same Christian name and number of people as mine, this caused my party being seated incorrectly and the other party seemed to be put out while we were shifted around & I was asked for proof of booking after receiving multiple emails and a phone call from Tomiko confirming my seating preference. I did not have emails on my phone and had to call my husband to speak to staff. On the restaurant daily booking sheet needs to be more information on the guest other than Christian name e.g phone number for reference as this was not a good start to the evening. Great location, service staff were great, food excellent.

  14. Jess M.
    Jess M.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    We had a sizeable piece of cardboard in one of our entrees which staff did not offer any compensation for and the $46 mixed vegetables dish was just wombok and bokchoy with a few slices of mushroom. Beef was good, but overall a very overpriced restaurant that was quite underwhelming. Would not return based on this first time experience, it sadly did not remotely compare to other Japanese teppanyaki restaurants around Adelaide.

  15. Clara V.
    Clara V.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Our first time here for our anniversary and was very pleased with the service and quality of food presented. Bit pricey but worth the experience. I will go back but this time get a downstairs table for tepinyaki with flames for that extra special effect.

  16. Anna D.
    Anna D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service by Harry and his staff and food quality top shelf fresh and tasty Will be back definitely and tell others Great location and atmosphere

  17. Manon Z.
    Manon Z.
    • one review
    9/10

    Food was amazing, one of the most tender beef and squid we had. Sashimis were super fresh. Service was pleasant and polite. Highly recommend it !

  18. Maria K.
    Maria K.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Way overpriced for the quality of food Service was disgraceful waitress didn’t know the banquets and everyone starter came on one plate ( it was one dumpling each !! For a $95 and $135 banquet ) complained 2 people never got their starter and was brought out 2 dumplings for 2 people on a plate . The quality of food was budget quality ! When you pay $600 for a dinner you expect and should get quality food and service Shiki prices but sushi train quality ( actually sushi train is much better ! Don’t waste your money or time

  19. Taylor G.
    Taylor G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were super friendly and happy to help in anyway. Loved the atmosphere and positive vibe. The food was cooked perfectly and fascinating to watch - absolutely delicious!

  20. Mel C.
    Mel C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This was not just a beautiful setting and atmosphere, but the service and food was amazing! The menu has a delicious range of dishes and the wine list was also excellent. My husband enjoyed the tasting board of different sake! We'll definitely be back. Great value for money and a perfect evening out.

  21. NAN G.
    NAN G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Chef is prefect. We ordered gold packages, the quality and quantity of food are excellent.

  22. Stephen R.
    Stephen R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfect ????

  23. Tricia O.
    Tricia O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Can’t be faulted - impeccable experience that was thoroughly enjoyable. The soup and rice were my favorite part! Highly recommend - amazing, thankyou

  24. Kimi S.
    Kimi S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff were amazing. So friendly and welcoming. The Food is next level delicious. This is the second Time I’ve eaten here and will keep coming back.

  25. Kate S.
    Kate S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service and atmosphere was excellent and the food was amazing. It was very exciting to have it cooked right in front of us! Thank you so much - will be back for sure!

  26. Jess W.
    Jess W.
    • one review
    6/10

    Dont waste your money. The food was OK. Very average and definately not what you would expect for almost $200. No social distancing in place either ...

  27. Sharna M.
    Sharna M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely staff & cosy atmosphere! The food was delicious and well presented! There was nothing I could fault them on! We will definitely bring the whole family next time!

  28. Paulius S.
    Paulius S.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    The dumplings were really nice. Very disappointed in the rest of the meal got duck breast and beef. The meat was just cooked and that's it there was no sauce or anything just plain and boring no imagination. Did not feel like a quality restaurant just more like an average bbq. For $160 for 2 people we were disappointed to say the least and to find out at the end we should have gotten sauces with our meals was not good enough. Definitely won't be going back again I've been to the restaurant a few times for Christmas parties but this year I will be reccomending a different place!

  29. Susan W.
    Susan W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was beautiful great presentation, the staff were very friendly and welcoming We had a great night we will come again, we will try dining at the teppanyaki table.

  30. Bobbie T.
    Bobbie T.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    It was disappointing that the premium paid to sit at the tappanyaki table wasn't rewarded with much of a 'show'. The cook have a non-plussed, bland presentation completely lacking in fanfare. I was expecting more percussion of cooking implements, omelette cutting/tossin/catching and flame balls with our alcohol. These is basic tappanyaki showmanship skills. Probably won't return despite food being delicious.

  31. Tracy W.
    Tracy W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food wine and service...have been here often

  32. Nat F.
    Nat F.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Menu we looked at online was not available and booking was not confirmed. I understand there are new difficulties for restaurants with COVID but online menu's can be updated and surely you'd want to make sure that those who do book are prioritised

  33. Chris w.
    Chris w.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent location, fantastic staff, incredible range of foods and drinks. Quality of the food was amazing, and portion size was very good. We never felt rushed or in the way, and with three children in our group, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We ordered far too much food, but given the huge range of dishes we had an amazing selection. The price of the meal was high, but I believe that it was very good value especially as we had so much seafood. As a place to visit for a special occasion I cannot recommend it enough. We all had a fantastic time.

  34. LBuob B.
    LBuob B.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were very late for our booking and the staff could not have been more accommodating. They allowed us to stay and finish our meals and drinks when the restaurant was closed and we had the whole grill to ourselves! Such wonderful service and great food - we couldn't have asked for more

  35. Romana P.
    Romana P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Friendly staff, fresh delicious food

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    6.75/10

    Good food. Tepanyaki chef lacked any interaction.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    10/10

    Great atmosphere. Waiting staff were lovely. Food was absolutely delicious. A little pricey, but the experience is worth it. Great quality section of wine

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fantastic place! Food was delicious!

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    8.25/10

    Very enjoyable experience!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food was good, but on the expensive side. We had to ask for water!