Back

Reviews Torquay Hotel Bistro

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 29 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Heather m.
    Heather m.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Thank you so very much for the fuss you made of my GrandDad today. He had a truly amazing time. Especially to John and the staff. Plus the food was delicious too!!

  2. Melinda T.
    Melinda T.
    • 8 reviews
    7.5/10

    Busy night being a saturday, food was fine, menu not really expansive enough and is more restaurant prices than hotel/pub, and for those prices it is difficult with kids and people standing everywhere, especially near the playroom. Dont get me wrong, I have kids too, but how can you have table service with all the chaos? Food okay but nothing earth shattering. Forth visit, first under new owners, not sure I will return any time soon.

  3. Melinda T.
    Melinda T.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    good food and playgroud if you have younger kids to keep them occupied! Thank you for a nice dinner and setting Torquay Hotel, this was our second visit this summer so far

  4. Sharlene B.
    Sharlene B.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Love the renovations looks lovely and clean. But unfortunately has lost the pub feel, not cheap for a family meal that’s for sure so save up! Menu choice very limited as well. Staff was great very friendly and attentive

  5. Rebecca C.
    Rebecca C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    New bistro renovation is fantastic. After dining and living here for 25 years, we are so thrilled that the hotel has moved with the times!! Our meals were fantastic and came out very quickly considering it was NYE!

  6. Hayley U.
    Hayley U.
    • 18 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was good value. We shared the lamb shoulder and everything was cooked perfectly

  7. Melinda T.
    Melinda T.
    • 8 reviews
    8.75/10

    Nice greeting by hostess, good and fresh food, price top end for a pub that you need to order your meal at the desk. Will be great once renovations are complete, very busy but good kids area

  8. Freya B.
    Freya B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Service was great, friendly staff. Kids had a ball in the play room. Awesome place for family dinners. Food is reasonably priced & delicious!

  9. Elvis R.
    Elvis R.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was absolutely amazing, variet to choose from. service was quick, and overall we had an amazing evening.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was way overpriced for what was delivered

  11. Andrea H.
    Andrea H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    We has my husbands birthday here over the weekend with a group of family and friends and a fair few kids and the hotel was a fabulous pick. The staff were really helpful, the kids were entertained by the kids play room and the food was amazing. I’d highly recommend!

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9/10

    Very good service and friendly

  13. Claire M.
    Claire M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Really enjoyed our meal and the choices on the menu were excellent. Everyone had something different. Good play area for the kids.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8/10

    Good family bistro

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    5.5/10

    The steak was under cooked and tough. The vegetables were half cooked.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    7/10

    Great food, but it’s just a tired bistro with no atmosphere or views.

  17. Flavia K.
    Flavia K.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    Food was good although expensive for a pub meal. One meal was completely forgotten so one of us starting eating when we had all finished. We got a sorry but no form of compensation not even a free coffee. And the place wasn’t busy so don’t understand how it was forgotten. Have been going there for years and will go back just a little dissappointing.

  18. Darren R.
    Darren R.
    • one review
    8/10

    great pub good location

  19. Scott W.
    Scott W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic prompt service,excellent food,nice cold drinks, just a little expensive.

  20. Rod B.
    Rod B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Good food, Good service.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    8.25/10

    Beautiful presentation and tasty food.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 250 reviews
    4/10

    I wanted a pub meal but accidentally booked the bistro. I asked upon entry if I could order the pub menu at the bistro and was told yes (after almost being ignored until I said I had a booking!) I then asked at the bar for the pub menu and was told it was on the table. I said that was the bistro menu and again was told the pub menu was on the table. I then physically showed her that the menu was for bistro only and was then finally told the pub menu was through a different part of the building but was not given any help to find the correct area because I was not eating in the bistro section. Bistros are overpriced and have a limited selection of fancy foods. Which is why I wanted cheap simple pub food. A terribly frustrating experience and I won’t be returning!!