Back

Reviews Vagenende

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 862 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Alice M.
    Alice M.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    The food was excellent and the restaurant beautiful! They also have great set menus.

  2. Raffaele C.
    Raffaele C.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent ! Décor Paris belle époque splendide. Accueil et service Top !

  3. George  B.
    George B.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Overcooked magret de canard

  4. Ignacio G. Martinez A.
    Ignacio G. Martinez A.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    This is an excellent place. They take pride of the food they offer and is fantastic. The service is very professional and they pay attention to every detail. I was there with my wife and three daughters. They are all infants and they were treated like princesses. The food was delicious and of great quality. Their cuisine is simple and delicious. Classic French country cuisine. They have a very interesting wine menu. I truly recommend this place for lunch and dinner and I will definitely come back again. Reservations are encouraged!

  5. Nancy G.
    Nancy G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The quenelles de brochet are heavenly. Wonderful staff.

  6. Patrick L.
    Patrick L.
    • 42 reviews
    9/10

    tres beau decor art nouve au bien cuisiné plats traditionnels

  7. Nancy G.
    Nancy G.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Gorgeous Art Deco space.

  8. Nicholas K.
    Nicholas K.
    • one review
    6/10

    This little restaurant was nice and clean and the servers were very attentive but ours had horrible body odor that made things a bit unpleasant. Our meals were sub par but the bread was delicious.

  9. E H.
    E H.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely historic brasserie.

  10. David M.
    David M.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    Waiter was very unprofessional. Critized the chef, spilled my wine all over me. Forgot our wine and bread and wore very strong aftershave... Ick

  11. William C.
    William C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent meal. Warm, welcoming service. Good food. Quality wine list at reasonable prices. One of our favorites

  12. Linda H.
    Linda H.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Pleasant atmosphere in a very pretty setting. Service was mixed. Rack of lamb was perfectly cooked to my order of medium-rate and pavlova with berries was excellent!

  13. Michel K.
    Michel K.
    • one review
    8/10

    .

  14. WU A.
    WU A.
    • 8 reviews
    6.5/10

    The beef of risotto is really dry and the lunch menu looks really simple and flavorless. Overprice but nice environment

  15. Leslie B.
    Leslie B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Decoratively traditional in all ways.....favorite dishes served with attention to detail.

  16. L.auren B.
    L.auren B.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    I ordered the endive salad, which was good, and the veal with risotto, which was just okay. The veal was a little over cooked and dry. The risotto was fine. My dining partner had the fish soup, which was very good and had to send back the duck in orange sauce, which was inedible. She substituted the daily fish special, which was pretty good. The server was very friendly and accommodating, although we had to ask for the duck to be taken off the bill.

  17. Katerina P.
    Katerina P.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    I enjoyed a heartfelt meal (duck breast) in a wonderful place, served by caring people, with a smile on their face. I have been there before, never disappoints! Will definitely go back again.

  18. Bonfils m.
    Bonfils m.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    bien

  19. Fang F.
    Fang F.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    I read the reviews and prepare for traditional French dishes. I choose veal for my main course and my husband ordered duck breast. However I find my veal is too dry to swallow. The sauce is perfunctory and the set is rough. I didn’t give another try about dessert. Maybe we came to dinner too early so that the chief is not on time. Not recommended.

  20. Markus E.
    Markus E.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    beautiful ambiance

  21. Kristin C.
    Kristin C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Beautiful decor, atmosphere a little too quiet (no music?) food was solid French staples. Very kind but flustered seeming waiter. Mirrored Art Deco walls everywhere probably the best part.

  22. Edwin W.
    Edwin W.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    An old favorite of ours, going back 25 years. Classic brasserie setting and food served by a caring staff. Gorgeous Belle Epoque interior. Frequented by local Parisians and tourists alike. Perfect for a romantic dinner or for dining en famille.

  23. David R.
    David R.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    This is a wonderful and classic Parisian restaurant .... perfect from start to finish always and especially for Sunday lunch!

  24. Frank M.
    Frank M.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful inside with its Art Deco motif and because the brasserie was on the small side, it felt intimate. We were there on an odd hour (15:30-17:30) so service was unhurried and friendly (server & manager had time to chat with us). The bone marrow appetizer was sinfully delicious. We were fortunate to be able to experience the Beaujolais Nouveau which this year was quite decent. Vagenende will be one of our go-to places in Paris.

  25. Fatma G.
    Fatma G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent im every thing.

  26. Lawrence K.
    Lawrence K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Feel and eat like a Parisian at this attractive brassiere with excellent food, service, and ambiance.

  27. Rita S.
    Rita S.
    • 12 reviews
    9/10

    Good food and fast and professional service, outsanding interior.

  28. Kevin B.
    Kevin B.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    We always visit this restaurant when visiting Paris. We are pleased to say it continues to be one of our favourites. Non pretentious but very french. Traditional cuisine ,very well prepared and served. Moderately priced for the beautiful surroundings and address. We recommend.

  29. Winfried G.
    Winfried G.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    The meal was good but not specially impressing

  30. Lisa P.
    Lisa P.
    • 19 reviews
    6.5/10

    Nice brasserie

  31. Fred W.
    Fred W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very authentic and very good

  32. David G.
    David G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Don’t take any notice of the occasional bad review of this place. Those people must be hard to please. Great decor and atmosphere, excellent food (the Chateuabriand is a must - perfectly medium rare) and our waiter was super friendly and helpful - and recommended a very nice Burgundy Pinot Noir to match our steaks. Pricing was pretty reasonable - for 2 of us, two courses (starter and main) plus the €60 wine came to €160. Highly recommend Vagenende for an authentic French Brasserie experience.

  33. STERLING K.
    STERLING K.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    LES QUENELLE DE BROCHET always superb at the Vagenende!!!

  34. Enrico e.
    Enrico e.
    • 2 reviews
    2.5/10

    Felt sorry for staff , so under pressure too many tables so little staff . Head waiter was too busy working and not running the restaurant. 2 hours toget my main course understand but could have been avoided by accepting too many reservations and continually feeling the need to accommodate walk ins . The food suffered unforeseen. Can NOT recommend , !! Need good Matre D to run Sad as decor is Beautiful Avoid

  35. Jeanne T.
    Jeanne T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    I love the ambiance and of course the food and wine!

  36. Barbara S.
    Barbara S.
    • 4 reviews
    5.5/10

    Extremely slow inattentive service. Even tho many tables available, we were seated next to crowded noisy server station. Food was mediocre.

  37. Andrea B.
    Andrea B.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Le service tres decevant.

  38. steve j.
    steve j.
    • 2 reviews
    2/10

    Very disappointing . Under staffed , too bright for comfort . I saw two couples leave in frustration at not being served . Food very boring . Would not return .

  39. Pietro C.
    Pietro C.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Ottima conferma

  40. Florence c.
    Florence c.
    • 23 reviews
    9/10

    Very good atmosphere and meal, I highly recommend everyone for a typical French Brasserie .