Back

Reviews Vela Beach - Playa La Mata

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 339 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Kris H.
    Kris H.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    The food was well prepared, and the servings were large for the price. Admittedly, prices are a bit higher but I expect to pay a bit more to sit next to the beach. We got tuna tartar, beef tenderloin, and lamb chops. All were very good, particularly the lamb chops. They do not offer a menú (referring to the Spanish usage of the word, not meaning a printed list of items) right now due to limited people able to be served due to COVID restrictions. Service was typical of Spanish restaurants: it started off strong but we got quiet neglected as time went on.

  2. Steve b.
    Steve b.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    An excellent evening

  3. Anja v.
    Anja v.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Food is ok, but the staff are very unkindly!!

  4. Roy D.
    Roy D.
    • one review
    8/10

    Vela Beach is undoubtedly one of the top restaurants around Torreveija. Excellent food and good dining.

  5. Sari H.
    Sari H.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Good food, nice atmosphere and beautiful sea view.

  6. Moignot A.
    Moignot A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfecto !

  7. Carolin G.
    Carolin G.
    • one review
    9/10

    I was here with My familj on my boyfriends birthday. Very good resturang with good food. We take meet and paella chicken. My boyfriend said it was the best meet he ever eat. Nice and professional We Will be back!

  8. Isabel C.
    Isabel C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Comimos bandeja de chopitos y arroz con bogavante!!!! Espectacular comida frende al mar!!!! Plan perfecto

  9. Arne H.
    Arne H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Nice restaurante

  10. Elisabeth M.
    Elisabeth M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The best paella!! Lovely service and fantastic view. Whenever we come over to spain we always try and visit. It’s a good place for a celebration. Can thoroughly recommend

  11. Peter W.
    Peter W.
    • one review
    10/10

    We booked Vela Beach due to the high rating on Trip Advisor and as it was our 30th wedding anniversary we were hoping for a special meal. At the last minute I realised There are actually 2 restaurants with the same name and this one is quite far up the coast from central Torrevieja, but the land train plus 15 minutes walk along the coast road came to our rescue. When we arrived at La Mata beach we found the restaurant right on the sea front overlooking the beach. The trip was well worthwhile as the food was exceptional and our waiter went out of his way to ensure we had a fabulous night. The paella with chicken and veg was delicious but do be sure to order all 3 courses as you won’t be disappointed!

  12. Debra M.
    Debra M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The service was good. The food was well cooked but the sauce on my fish was to salty for my taste. Overall experience was very good.

  13. Cheryle P.
    Cheryle P.
    • one review
    8/10

    Such a wonderful setting looking out over the sea, the waiters could do with being more attentive and friendly, we waited for 15 minutes for a drink but the rest was brilliant. Do object to a 10% service charge though, the first time we left a big tip not realising there was a service charge, I do think it should be up to the individual whether you choose to reward good/bad service

  14. Rachel E.
    Rachel E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good atmosphere with some background music, beautiful setting with the beach out the front and delicious food (we had the fish platter) ???? Will definitely be returning!

  15. Christer O.
    Christer O.
    • one review
    4/10

    Below average and not coming back

  16. Susanne B.
    Susanne B.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Verry unfriendly personal. Verry arrogantly.

  17. Raúl c.
    Raúl c.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Fenomenal, volveré seguro. Trato agradable...

  18. Anne J.
    Anne J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    lovely restaurant great service amazing menu.Friendley staff.

  19. Andreas H.
    Andreas H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfect food, nice restaurant. Next to the beach, beautiful view.

  20. Darren r.
    Darren r.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great atmosphere, for main we had the seafood lobster platter which was awesome! Would certainly go back !

  21. Daly J.
    Daly J.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, great staff, brilliant atmosphere. Highly recommend Vela beach.????????

  22. Mark D.
    Mark D.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Todos estaba muy bien. Gracias

  23. Filip D.
    Filip D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very good nothing to complain about.

  24. Timothy A.
    Timothy A.
    • one review
    10/10

    First class service and food.

  25. Anita H.
    Anita H.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    The food has been better before.

  26. Colin W.
    Colin W.
    • one review
    8/10

    It was a chilly afternoon so enjoyed a rich lobster brandy soup inside the restaurant followed by WOW! presented steak and fabulous chunky chips and trimmings. The modern abience with sea view and reasonably priced drinks left us feeling quite full so couldn’nt manage the tempting desserts on offer.

  27. Elizabeth H.
    Elizabeth H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely food and friendly staff. Couldn't have been better for my mothers 87th birthday. Highly recommend

  28. Ivan M.
    Ivan M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Muy bueno!

  29. Mark T.
    Mark T.
    • 3 reviews
    7.5/10

    Kille bediening,

  30. david w.
    david w.
    • one review
    10/10

    the welcome and treatment from staff was first class. the food was excellent and was a reasonable price for the quality provided.

  31. Laila M.
    Laila M.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    The food was really good, we will go back for sure!

  32. Tim C.
    Tim C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly staff and great food

  33. Bert G.
    Bert G.
    • 7 reviews
    7/10

    Reservation was made through this platform, however upon arrival we had to argue first as we only had a table outside assigned where it was very unpleasant to sir due to the weather conditions.

  34. Kevin B.
    Kevin B.
    • one review
    7/10

    I personally did not think it was appropriate to have several large TV screens showing football when guests were there to enjoy a meal, it lowers the tone of an establishment trying to bill themselves as a top end restaurant

  35. Shay C.
    Shay C.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    very good food,setting and service

  36. Anders Ö.
    Anders Ö.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Good food, good service, nice surroundings

  37. Lasse F.
    Lasse F.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Å

  38. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food and service was exceptional! The only current issue is the work being carried out on the paseo outside. So the walk up to the restaurant is rather noisy and beach access very difficult. we sat inside which was very relaxing. Great music

  39. ben c.
    ben c.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a fabulous meal. Have booked again in June.