Back

Reviews - Zest

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 192 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Joe B.
    Joe B.
    • one review
    10/10

    This place has a great setting in a little street with a very nice rustic view and a backdrop of the duomo. The Mediterranean menu is great, a little different to the usual Tuscan menu you get in most places. Quality of food is excellent! And the staff are very friendly. Highly recommended...

  2. Caroline V.
    Caroline V.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great food!!

  3. Lynlee B.
    Lynlee B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Awesome view. Ask if they have the artichokes!

  4. James L.
    James L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    10 days in Italy split between Rome, Florence, and Siena. Easily the best meal I had. Would eat here again in a heartbeat given the chance!

  5. Mark W.
    Mark W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really enjoyed this restaurant. Sitting outside at tables and chairs designed for the steep slope was fun. The food and service were terrific!

  6. Sharon B.
    Sharon B.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    I like the street setting of this restaurant and it was nice enough for us to eat outside. Everything we ordered was good, the tonarelli with boar sauce being the best item. Service was friendly.

  7. Sarah S.
    Sarah S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Found Zest many years ago when studying in Siena, when I used to go for lunch after a hard morning’s classes. Look forward to going there for lunch whenever I am back in Siena. Imaginative dishes, many light and tasty, and always a good glass of wine.

  8. Diana L.
    Diana L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Had a great experience with beautiful views, delicious food and very welcoming staff. A great find (and you can bring your dog too) that I will be recommending and returning to next time I am in Siena!!

  9. Huong B.
    Huong B.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    Food was decent but portions are small. Prices are expensive compared to many other restaurants in Italy. Wine prices are higher too. But the most unpleasant part was our waitress was rude. She seemed unhappy and didn’t want to be there. She made snarky comments when we wanted to order more food. And made a rude comment when we asked her to take a family photo for us at the end of our meal. So many places to eat, I don’t recommend this place.

  10. Diane C.
    Diane C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely meal with a view of the Duomo. The waiting staff were really pleasant.

  11. Jennifer B.
    Jennifer B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service, off the beaten path, delicious food. Lunch was 200 Euros for six people. It was a wonderful respite away from the crazy Sienna streets. Perfetto!

  12. Resat B.
    Resat B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great food,, great service. Thanks!

  13. Richard H.
    Richard H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful dining experience with terrific hospitality!

  14. Elie R.
    Elie R.
    • one review
    10/10

    The best food you can have and the best service.

  15. Shari W.
    Shari W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and service off a quiet side street. Selection of wines were also fantastic. Definitely worth a visit while in Siena

  16. John M.
    John M.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    We were served our first course okay and staff were helpful with choice of wine. But there was a 40 minute gap between first and second course and main meal came up in stages. Some food was not good, pasta was cold and veg came up 5 minutes after food. We complained and we were told chef had an accident. Should have told us that rather than excuses. Left not very impressed. Shame as could be a nice place to eat.

  17. S.tefano  B.
    S.tefano B.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Locale dall’atmosfera tranquilla. Primi molto gustosi....Location significativa!!!

  18. Karl T.
    Karl T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food and service were impeccable! Afternoon rains must have kept people away as for most of my meal I dined alone in the room. I have been wanting to dine here my last 2 trips to Siena. Really glad I took on the hills and ate at Zest. Would go back again no question!

  19. Olga R.
    Olga R.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Nice pastas and salads. Good prices!

  20. Simon B.
    Simon B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff, quieter location (but Duomo views!), fresh, tasty food and good wines.

  21. Morana K.
    Morana K.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The service was very good.

  22. Ellen N.
    Ellen N.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Our second dinner here - excellent food with good service. The ambiance is warm and friendly. Highly recommend!

  23. Asher t.
    Asher t.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly people Loved it

  24. Thomas N.
    Thomas N.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nice evening in a restaurant with young atmosphere and good service quality. Prices are reasonable - food could be more authentic.

  25. Ant D.
    Ant D.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good quality meal with friendly and helpful staff, highly recommended.

  26. Eduardo B.
    Eduardo B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Will come back (tonight or tomorrow) to further check the restaurant options, first experience was very good

  27. Karen C.
    Karen C.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Everything was perfect from the food to the service. Highly recommend this lovely place!

  28. Yves P.
    Yves P.
    • 2 reviews
    4.5/10

    I don’t understand how people can like such food. There is definitely no chef in the kitchen. Just one exemple: I ordered a beef plate. It came over a bunch of arugula with no seasoning at all. No salt, no pepper, no sauce, no potatoes (you have to pay for side orders), nothing. It was tasteless. I had to tell the waiters how I felt about the food and of course the only thing they had to say is that most people love the food and that Michelin recommend the restaurant. This means that nothing will change. I believe that lots of people dislike the place but just don’t talk. I often don’t talk when it’s not to good, but this time I have to speak out : don’t go there. It’s terrible and expensive. I described just one serving. The salmon, the leek tartelette and the tiramisu where as bad.

  29. Abbe D.
    Abbe D.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant itself and also the outside area are arranged for intimate dining. The inside is beautiful. The chalkboard showing the menu was well done. The food items on the written menus were well described. Service was impeccable. We never had to look for a server. Someone was always there. My husband enjoyed his pork loin My pasta in a spicy pesto sauce was divine.

  30. Christa T.
    Christa T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Request a table outside in good weather or downstairs. Great food and excellent service

  31. KEITH H.
    KEITH H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Magical location, wonderful food, and exceptional service. The views from the tables on the steps are memorable. We have dined here on several occasions and have always been treated well. We look forward to visiting again as soon as possible.

  32. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent pasta (pici with boar ragu), salad with figs and nice flourless chocolate cake, all with a view of the Duomo and warm service.

  33. Yvonne W.
    Yvonne W.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The waiter was excellent. He was happy to change a couple of our menu choices for those of us who changed our mind and his recommendation of a good chianti was spot on. The salad was the freshest I have ever tasted. The desserts were delicious. A very lovely restaurant to enjoy with friends.

  34. R Kevin B.
    R Kevin B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    A little out of the way, but well worth the walk!! Very elegant setting, superb food and excellent wine. Very fairly priced. 2 thumbs up!!

  35. Mervyn S.
    Mervyn S.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Lovely Setting, small intimate room. Pasta Dishes we had were really good, small but enough. The Wine was very good.

  36. Mary K.
    Mary K.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Wonderful food - loads of great flavours. We loved it!!

  37. Dana V.
    Dana V.
    • 4 reviews
    5.5/10

    Gnocchi was not fresh and looked like it came from the package. The home made tomato sauce was also pretty bland which is pretty disappointing considering you are eating in Italy.. All in all, great service and beautiful views from outside but would never come back here.

  38. George D.
    George D.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Le restaurant qui vaut le detour a Sienne!

  39. Maja B.
    Maja B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and service! Will definitely recommend the place to others :)

  40. Michiel v.
    Michiel v.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    very nice place with very good food, nice service and a great view on the duomo (if you sit outside)